Tomorrow's World

  • Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2011
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    70
    There's a cohesiveness issue that keeps this one off their top shelf, but Erasure have settled nicely into that groove that the best veteran bands often do.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    Tomorrow's World appeals to fans of Erasure's later albums just as much as it appeases those who swooned along to A Little Respect in 1988.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Oct 6, 2011
    83
    The duo inject tracks like "Then I Go Twisting" with more humanity than the Pro Tools post-modernists who regularly steal their essence. [7 Oct 2011, p.75]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    This is Erasure's best album in a while! I've always been a big fan, and some of my other favorite Erasure albums include some of the earlierThis is Erasure's best album in a while! I've always been a big fan, and some of my other favorite Erasure albums include some of the earlier stuff (Wonderland, The Innocents, Wild!) and the 90s analog synth stuff (Crackers International, Chorus, Abba-Esque, I Say I Say I Say, Erasure.) Tomorrow's World sounds current, but still sounds like Erasure. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    I put this album in the green by a hair based on 3 really solid tracks and my love for the duo's music since I first heard Victim of Love inI put this album in the green by a hair based on 3 really solid tracks and my love for the duo's music since I first heard Victim of Love in the 80s. Where Erasure always maintained an lushly independent sound in the earlier years, Tomorrow's World tries desperately to cram drastically different styles into a single work and it feels degraded to broad gay club riffs than a their signature sound. Hearing an autotuned version of Andy Bell's gracefully maturing vocals made my heart sink. Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Tinny vocal compression (Rolling Stone review)? It's worse than that: Autotune. On Andy's voice. Too much of this effort sounds like theTinny vocal compression (Rolling Stone review)? It's worse than that: Autotune. On Andy's voice. Too much of this effort sounds like the strict dance album Andy put out as his last solo work, only worse. The synth settings are mostly awful Eurodisco-sounding. The mid-tempo thinkers are more properly Erasure, but there aren't enough of them to rescue this from a 5. This will be one of those Erasure albums (you know the ones) where nearly every remix will be superior to the original track. Full Review »