Trap Lord - A$AP Ferg
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    4
    I am stunned that I am not calling this a complete and utter failure. As a whole, is it a good album? Nah, but is pure hot unadulterated trash? Nah. It is actually ok for what it is, much like Stay Trippy. I am slightly impressed by A$AP Ferg, though I wish he focused on making more songs like "Cocaine Castle".
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    A dark, trippy and gritty journey through Ferg's mystical yet scarily realistic world, similar to Rocky's yet more 90's hip-hop, Reggae, trap and gothic inspired. Rocky manages to greatly balance two sides of hip-hop. Modern day trap with 90's rugged style, coming out complicated yet addicting. While Ferg follows many modern day rap trends on the album (gold, cars and women), he stillA dark, trippy and gritty journey through Ferg's mystical yet scarily realistic world, similar to Rocky's yet more 90's hip-hop, Reggae, trap and gothic inspired. Rocky manages to greatly balance two sides of hip-hop. Modern day trap with 90's rugged style, coming out complicated yet addicting. While Ferg follows many modern day rap trends on the album (gold, cars and women), he still manages to shine and stand out from the crowd as his own man with his own style that is hard to explain but can be seen thoroughly through out the album. Although it would have been nice to see Ferg spit over some more 90's hip-hop beats, he still widely attracts an audience with his flexible flow and sometimes Jamaican reggae sounding voice. This can be seen mainly and impressively on tracks like "Let It Go' and the "Work Remix" where, in both, we can hear him slightly tweaking his voice and flow to match with the beats, giving the audience an adventurous vibe. During a full cohesive listen, Ferg will most definitely take you into his dark haunted world, were you can almost see the murders and other gruesome events happening right in front of you. A world were gritty rappers like Method Man and Biggie would fit right into and what Nas would describe as the "Dungeons Of Rap". Ferg has legendary old-timers and new-comers alike, all who (except for French Montano) really add to the depth of the album. Ferg may not be one of the best rappers out right now, but when it comes to Trap and the underground side, he sure does have a serious suggestion for being considered "Lord". Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    A$AP Ferg's Trap Lord is probably the best A$AP Mob project since A$AP Rocky's unforgettable 2011 mixtape, Live. Love. A$AP with good production and great features from A$AP Rocky and from legendary rappers, Bone Thugs-N-Harmony & Onyx and many more. The album is very hype and delightfully lyrical but it doesn't set the bar high for Ferg as the album cuts short at 13 tracks and faltersA$AP Ferg's Trap Lord is probably the best A$AP Mob project since A$AP Rocky's unforgettable 2011 mixtape, Live. Love. A$AP with good production and great features from A$AP Rocky and from legendary rappers, Bone Thugs-N-Harmony & Onyx and many more. The album is very hype and delightfully lyrical but it doesn't set the bar high for Ferg as the album cuts short at 13 tracks and falters with sour tracks like 4:02 and Dump Dump. Although the album is still a solid listen especially 4 A$AP fans. Expand
  4. N10
    Sep 17, 2013
    8
    This year's TRAP LORD!
    This whole project was filled with great beats, catchy hooks and hilarious lines. To be honest, Ferg is a bit better at freestyles, but this was not something meant to be read that deep on lyrically. The mc is just having a good time behind the mic, and his flow is what I find entertaining and interesting about him. Actually he's strongest point, he's flow is great.
    This year's TRAP LORD!
    This whole project was filled with great beats, catchy hooks and hilarious lines. To be honest, Ferg is a bit better at freestyles, but this was not something meant to be read that deep on lyrically. The mc is just having a good time behind the mic, and his flow is what I find entertaining and interesting about him. Actually he's strongest point, he's flow is great.
    An energetic debut from Ferg.
    Trap music really ain't my cup of tea, but Ferg is pushing the limits with it.
    Quite underrated if you ask me.
    Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    Good production, good flows and style. Average content and lyricism. The album hold together well and is cohesive enough to listen from start to finish. 7/10 (good).
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    Trap music is always gonna have its limit on how good it can really be, but A$AP Ferg is definitely pushing that limit. Beats are hard as expected and his lyrics aren't as dumb as other trap rappers usually are. "Trap Lord" is an entertaining debut that definitely shows Ferg's talent.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    This album was pretty awesome. It's a head banger album with trap beats and weak lyricism. But with a title called TRAP Lord, I was expecting just what I got. And I enjoyed it. My favorite part about ASAP Ferg is his flow. He has an even better flow than Chance the Rapper and Redman combined. I don't have much else to say. I enjoyed this for what it was.
  8. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    This album just isn't that great. The "Work" remix was fire and "Cocaine Castle" was intriguing, but Ferg is nowhere close to being the Trap Lord just yet.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    his flows are exceptional with clever rhymes and beats that you would love to bump in your whip. As the album goes on he shows his talent and puts his influences on full affect.
  10. Nov 21, 2013
    7
    I liked it very much, I think that Trap Lord is something special, but the songs are not equally good.. the initial songs are way better than the final ones, except for Cocaine Castle which is a deep song.
    Best: Lord '
    Worst, but not really bad: Didn't Wanna Do That
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. There’s not much sugar to sweeten the pill, meaning Trap Lord is often one-note and depressing.
  2. 70
    Originally planned as a mixtape, there’s an unfinished feeling to Trap Lord, which in turn lends a lot of promise to the eventual follow-up.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    Trap Lord is an impressive outing for Ferg and another win for A$AP Mob.