Trey Anastasio

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonD.
    Sep 18, 2002
    10
    This guy has got to be one of the coolest guitarists and writers of all time. His efforts shall stand timeless and the Hall Of Fame awaits his arivall!!! Push On Till The Day!!!.May night never end
  2. TeresaR.
    Jul 9, 2002
    10
    this one is EXCITING to listen to, puts you in that "higher and perfect" place, his show at Angle's Camp, Ca, was well worth the 1200 plus miles we drove to get to it-No regrets!
  3. ChristineB.
    Jul 2, 2002
    9
    Awesome! I'm a new convert. Saw him on Tonight Show recently and he was dynamite!
  4. ToddP.
    Jun 21, 2002
    10
    i don't like phish, but this album is great.
  5. BrewerW.
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    You can't expect Trey to play on improv when recording studio release records. The shows were awesome. San Francisco and both of the Vegas shows rocked! Love ya, you King of Prussia!
  6. EricK.
    Jun 7, 2002
    10
    Trey Rocks!!! UIC was on fire last nite. I f you never heard Trey live. Shut your face!!!
  7. AlbertP.
    Jun 4, 2002
    9
    love the horns, very tight,guitar city
  8. MattS.
    May 24, 2002
    9
    Push on til the day... was all that I needed.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. His ambitious self-titled solo debut goes a long way in turning over a new musical leaf, thanks to the presence of a top-notch nine-piece band and a host of complex, melodically inventive tunes that could please a wide range of listeners.
  2. For the most part, the album is an ebullient musical Mardi Gras, with Anastasio's dexterous, hard-driving guitar work the unifying thread.
  3. While the artifact quality and live vibe of this music come as no surprise, the show band emphasis of Trey Anastasio suggests that this artist may be placing a little less faith in the voodoo of improvisation and more in the payoff guaranteed by musicians who can tear up the same charts night after night.