Trilogy

Trilogy Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Abel Tesfaye's three mixtapes as The Weeknd released from last year are compiled together in this remastered three-disc album with three new tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    100
    Even at its most oppressive (in particular the songs from Thursday), every haunted note of Trilogy seems blissful.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, Trilogy is more of a sonic landmark then it is a new work.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    85
    Trilogy's triumph is in how it makes its three hours feel necessary to fully embrace it all, to acknowledge its existence inside ourselves and to vicariously live through it as art.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Listen to House Of Balloons, Thursday and Echoes Of Silence in one go and you'll find that the music remains impressive. If there's one quibble, it's that as Trilogy enters its second hour, Tesfaye's lyrical ambivalence begins to sound a bit one-note.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Whatever its limits, however, Trilogy remains a striking piece of work.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    While a gradual refinement is noticeable from House Of Balloons to Echoes Of Silence, a lack of breathing space between the tracks does them no favours. You're better off dedicating yourself to each album's meaty serving of revelry and regret in turn.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    The Trilogy collects three of the Toronto singer's 2011 mixtapes, but some editing might have better introduced him to the world outside Tumblr.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Trilogy is a great compilation. Includes The Weeknd's critically acclaimed mixtapes, including the smooth "House Of Balloons" which includes aTrilogy is a great compilation. Includes The Weeknd's critically acclaimed mixtapes, including the smooth "House Of Balloons" which includes a variety of styles smashed together with R&B. Also, "Thursday" (one of my favorite albums of 2011), which has more of a Rock feeling, still keeping the R&B. The third mixtape, the softer "Echoes Of Silence", I don't particularly enjoy it aside from the Dirty Diana cover. Also included are three brand new songs, including "Til Dawn" which reminds me of Kanye's 808's and Heartbreak. Expand
  2. N10
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Three mixtape's in one album, that truley is raw. Abel Tesfaye (The Weeknd) is vocally fantastic, one of the best, if not the best. The soundThree mixtape's in one album, that truley is raw. Abel Tesfaye (The Weeknd) is vocally fantastic, one of the best, if not the best. The sound of it is dark and creepy, many consider him as a darker version of Michael Jackson, for me it's just Abel, the storytelling and lyrics is way to diffrent but vocally I can agree to some point. The production is really good and fitting to his voice. A really good artist, while youre in to his music there's no escape. My favourite track's at the moment is (based on three songs of each mixtape) : What You Need, The Morning, Wicked Games, Life of the Party, The Zone, Valerie, Montreal, Same Old Song and Next.
    If you havent heard so much of The Weeknd, listen to this, buy if you like it, and the rest of ous... let's just support it. The Weeknd surely is a big name of our generations R&B, three fantastic mixtape's in one!
    Collapse
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Individually I gave him a 9, 9 and 8 to mixtapes

    But I think the three together plus the three new tracks that are really incredible,
    Individually I gave him a 9, 9 and 8 to mixtapes

    But I think the three together plus the three new tracks that are really incredible, deserve reward Universal Republic and XO with a 10, for the great gamble that did in this play.

    A compilation album of mixtapes of a new artist of R B, in the times where really the R B is very low in popularity, is a bet very risky in commercial terms, but I think this time the public has valued quality over commercial.

    The best album of 2012 and really one of the best R B I've heard in a long time, The Weeknd has earned a fan.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This album is the most creative one of 2012.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    As a whole it is a definite buy for someone that enjoys, the other new wave of R&B artists like Miguel and Frank Ocean. and a real ride for aAs a whole it is a definite buy for someone that enjoys, the other new wave of R&B artists like Miguel and Frank Ocean. and a real ride for a album as a debut record. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This is the best R&B release of the year. The Weeknd is running the show at this point. Hard to pick just one standout track from this groupThis is the best R&B release of the year. The Weeknd is running the show at this point. Hard to pick just one standout track from this group of 30, as all of them really standout in their own way. Is it perfect? No, but no release is. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    The Weeknd has since become a staple name in "making the girls wet" and Trilogy is ultimately a beautiful piece of work. However, a majorityThe Weeknd has since become a staple name in "making the girls wet" and Trilogy is ultimately a beautiful piece of work. However, a majority of the songs sound the same, which can get boring after awhile. Standouts are: High For This, Wicked Games, The Zone, Birds Pt. 1, D.D., XO / The Host, Initiation, and Same Old Song. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews