User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 7 out of 50

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VClone
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Seems to be a love it or hate it. 10 or 0. I love it.
  2. jd
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    damn fine album. Complex, bouncy, light, and full of heart.
  3. jr
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    incredible. an archway to a beautiful cultural movement. do yourself a favour and seek this out. some of these songs will go down as my favourites of all time.
  4. PauloP
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    A qualidade da seleção deste album é impressionante, um album magnifico
  5. JakeW
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Whit this compilation do you got a notion of beauty, imagination and rich culture of this nation.
  6. JackpotBaby
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    There's a reason that this is the highest-rated album of the year on this site: It's brilliant. That said, this is not for everyone. To my ears, it sounds like a cross between Joao Gilberto and a Nuggets boxset. If that sounds at all intriguing to you, check it out. You'll be glad you did.
  7. Pavers
    May 16, 2006
    10
    This album has some of the most creative music I have heard for a while. The Os Mutantes tracks are superb
  8. DavidM
    May 3, 2006
    9
    Oodles of Fun if you like the C-tier 60s garage sound of bands like the Seeds,Barbarians, and the Standells giving a Latin twist. No masterpieces, but a buttload of little charmers.
  9. BenT
    May 5, 2006
    10
    A perfect Tropicalia record from beginning to end, one of the year's finest releases.
  10. BeckaS
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    lots and lots of fun.. lots of history too. Excellent CD if you are interested in learning about the foundations of the very exciting but little spoken about Tropicalia movement in Brazil.
  11. PC
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    This music is simply timeless and worth every bit of your time.
  12. Gruff
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    I don't usually give anything 10, but I will make an exception for this compilation. Quite wonderful, full of energy and brimming with ideas. It's like discovering the Beatles all over again!
  13. jackd
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Surprised this is not higher in the user score. HIghly recommended.
  14. IanM
    Apr 18, 2006
    7
    Interesting....very different....but wasn't exactly bowled over. I have heard Os Mutantes before.
  15. AaronS
    May 18, 2006
    10
    A near perfect primer on the great sounds of the Tropicalia movement of the late '60s. This is great stuff. Beautiully presented and with excellent liner notes. It will have you wanting more. Please note: One is entitled to one's opinion, but in this case, I highly doubt that the two zero star reviews on here even listened to this disc. I don't understand the mentality A near perfect primer on the great sounds of the Tropicalia movement of the late '60s. This is great stuff. Beautiully presented and with excellent liner notes. It will have you wanting more. Please note: One is entitled to one's opinion, but in this case, I highly doubt that the two zero star reviews on here even listened to this disc. I don't understand the mentality behind a zero rating just to negate a discs position. Ignornant. Expand
  16. JoshM
    May 2, 2006
    10
    I don't really like that people who are totally uninformed are coming in and posting zero ratings out of ingorance and completely negating the purpose of metacritic. Anyway, this is the best tropicalia collection you can get your hands on. If you aren't a fan of the genre, then fine, give it an 8.
  17. TomasX
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing. Every track stands on its own, but together as a whole this is more interesting than most of the complitionas of any genre out there period!...and i work for a music retailer myself. Highly suggested to any fan of bossa nova/tropicalia, or funky beat in general. As for Dave A, he is just bitter cuz Brittney is Fat and pregnant and wont be comming out with a new This album is amazing. Every track stands on its own, but together as a whole this is more interesting than most of the complitionas of any genre out there period!...and i work for a music retailer myself. Highly suggested to any fan of bossa nova/tropicalia, or funky beat in general. As for Dave A, he is just bitter cuz Brittney is Fat and pregnant and wont be comming out with a new album anytime soon. Expand
  18. JustinN
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    All compilations should be this informative and entertaining!
  19. ST
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I love it.
  20. colinm
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    there are quite a few tropicalia compilations out there, but this one is top notch. it has all the staples from the genre's biggest artists, and it's a wonderful primer on an incredible and underappreciated movement in music.
  21. JMan
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    A great introduction to Tropicalia and not one wasted minute of music!
  22. billye
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Wonderful compilation. Very impressed.
  23. JohnO
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Inspirational
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. And whereas the dark era that began with a military coup in 1964 is now relegated to Brazil's history, the music it inspired sounds fresher and more provocative than ever.
  2. One of the most important anthologies to come along in quite a while.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    A perfect mix of giddy tropical rhythms and Beatles-style experimentation. [27 Jan 2006, p.85]