Trouble Will Find Me - The National
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 144

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    The National isn't changing their sound much. There are some differences, but their signature style is still in tact. That mans, of course, that this is also just as good as any album from The National. It's poignant, darkly humorous, sometimes just really bleak, and it's never afraid to totally rock your face clean off. While I can't say where this lies in The National's discography (arguably better than Boxer, maybe even High Violet), this is easily one of the best releases of 2013. Expand
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    Since the third listen to High Violet, I wanted this record—just like every fan of The National. With that kind of anticipation and expectation, most bands would probably stumble and produce something lackluster and just shy of good. The National has done something else entirely. They have soared. This is a beautiful record, with music and vocals to listen to again and again; it's nearly perfect. Don't think about the "grower" talk. This sounds great the first time. It's that it gets so MUCH better every time you listen to it after that. The ability to make music that touches you, then astounds you and finally weaves it's way into your life is not on commonly found. It's a special group that can do it, and The National are very special indeed. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    Lush, beautiful arrangements and Berninger's most immediate and visceral lyrics yet stand out on Trouble Will Find Me. Throughout the record, the songs go numerous places; frequently building, pulling back, building again, and finally, catharsis. This is most evident in Graceless, one of the most profound tracks they've ever recorded in their illustrious career. Every song here holds its weight, but Slipped, for its heart-breaking lyrics really stands out. This is an album that demonstrates a tremendous band at its most confident, fully formed, and life affirming. Trouble Will Find Me stands strong among their masterful catalog. 10/10. Expand
  4. BKM
    May 23, 2013
    9
    Trouble Will Find Me is another gloriously dark and beautiful album from the Brooklyn based indie-rockers. The most telling sign of just how good this band really is lies in the fact that this album doesn't even come close to the greatness of 2010's High Violet, yet it still towers over most of this year's other releases. What mote needs to be said?
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    The way I know I love a National record is when I hear it for the first time and I either find it dull or lacking in some form, but with repeated listens opens up a completely different alternative view on it. A National record always takes time to fully grasp, but when it hits you, it hits you with fluttering emotions that you won't be able to escape for awhile. Trouble Will Find Me is no different. It's The National's most heart wrenching record, one that exposes Matt Berninger for who he truly is.

    All In All, Trouble Will Find Me is an excellent record and The National have done what only a few bands have accomplished in their careers: crafted three consecutive masterpieces of albums. A
    Expand
  6. May 21, 2013
    9
    I'm still waiting on Matt and company to make a bad album. And just like everything in their discography, I discover something new with each listen. All their albums are growers and this one has already started out really high for me.
  7. j30
    Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Imagine you've gone on this really long journey with this person you just met. Through the years you have experienced highs and lows together. After all those experiences you have had together, you find you kind of understand one another for better or worse. That's where I am at with The National. I feel like I understand Trouble Will Find Me after listening to Boxer and High Violet. TWFM feels like a natural progression from its predecessors. I don't know if The National has ever sounded this comfortable in their career. Who knows maybe trouble will find us. Expand
  8. May 25, 2013
    9
    The National produce consistently solid music. This is a very nice follow up to High Violet an album which still holds a place among my all time favorites. As I listen to Trouble Will Find Me, I feel like a passenger on a train that is making its way across a desolate landscape in the dead of night. I will gladly be a passenger on that train time and again. There is a familiar warmth that is infused in these haunting, rhythmic songs. Love it. Collapse
  9. May 21, 2013
    9
    I am now on the bandwagon. Really haven't been able to really dig this band till now. I did try before I listened to this album six times in a row. I think u have to be in the right frame of mind to appreciate this dark and subtle music. What hooks me on this album are the lyrical hooks. The songs are led by the vocals which is perfect for this mood music. Without the astute and great songwriting the music is unremarkable. But vocals lyrics incredible!! A little herbotanical helps as well like it does with a lot of great music Expand
  10. May 31, 2013
    10
    All I can say is, The National are still maintaining their solemn lyrics, but Trouble Will Find Me is just their brilliance being perfected from head to toe. It's sad, gloomy and nice. It is definitely a must-buy.
  11. May 22, 2013
    10
    Trouble Will Find Me, the sixth studio album from The National, sees a band at their most comfortable and self-assured. They know what they do well and they go for it without worrying about what critics or even fans will think. In the press release that announced the new album, front-man Matt Berninger said, “After touring High Violet, I think we felt like we’d finally gotten there. Now we could relax– not in terms of our own expectations but we didn’t have to prove our identity any longer.” This way of thinking is extremely apparent on Trouble Will Find Me and the band is clearly making the songs they want to make, and most importantly, doing it as well as they ever have....

    Read More http://www.recomedia.net/music/trouble-will-find-me-review/
    Expand
  12. May 23, 2013
    10
    Such a good record. It's like a mix of the three that came before it. Give it half a dozen listens and you will be hooked. Standouts are Pink Rabbits, This Is The Last Time, Graceless and Hard To Find. Best band of the 21st century so far. Fourth consecutive album to get 82+ on Metacritic. Amazing.
  13. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    After the success of their last album ‘High Violet’ The National’s next offering was always going to be a highly anticipated record and ‘Trouble Will Find Me’, their sixth, is perhaps their best to date. From the epic ‘I Should Live In Salt’ through its thirteen tracks and hour runtime contains some of the best songs that Matt and co have written. Musically rich and layered it is The National’s trademark sound and Matt’s lyrics that make every inch of this record a treasure. Lead single ‘Demons’ builds beautifully as Matt sings ‘Do not know what’s wrong with me, Sours in the cup, When I walk into a room, I do not light it up, Instruments ebb and flow from quiet to loud and back again and it is the juxtaposition between the fuller sounds, sweeping strings, guitars played with just a little more force to the delicate and spacious moments where the songs come alive. The presence of St. Vincent and Sharon Van Etten throughout, although subtle, cannot be ignored as theirs is such an integral part of the overall sound as is Sufjan Stevens again lurking in the background providing drum machine to certain tracks. Songs like ‘I Need My Girl’ and the stand out ‘Pink Rabbits’ are heart breaking the latter containing the lines ‘I'm so surprised you want to dance with me now, I was just getting used to living life without you around, I'm so surprised you want to dance with me now, You always said I held you way too high off the ground’. It ends with Matt repeating ‘You said it would be painless, The needle in the dark, You said it would be painless, It wasn't that at all’ which is just one example of some of the many memorable moments contained within the lyrics. While some may wrongly label the band miserable because they tackle some dark issues ‘Trouble Will Find Me’ has the uncanny knack of still being light, it’s not a record that will depress you despite its themes, which is a skill in itself. I could go on about just how good this record is but I don’t want to spoil it for you all I will say in conclusion is I can’t recommend it highly enough and I will bet money that when they do the album of the year lists this record will feature in most of them and if not at the top certainly close. Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Everything with this album is just right. Not to be somethintryingg "never seen" The National delivered power and energy for living on this LP. Is not something easy to hear when you are a hardcore ofttenly music fan, but it is respect for what music scince the very start means. (sorry for ortigraphy, im lerning)
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    The National reveled in self-effacing jokes between the heaviness of their songs, and Trouble finally finds that balance on disc.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    It is, by any measure, a lovely, lovingly made record, its 13 tracks coming to enveloping climaxes via mystifyinng, electrifying turns of phrase. [No.99, p.51]
  3. 80
    The difference on Trouble Will Find Me is that everything feels clarified through a decade of wisdom, with volatility frequently superseded by sensibility.