Truelove's Gutter - Richard Hawley
Truelove's Gutter Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ex-Pulp guitarist releases his sixth solo album, which was recorded in Sheffield, England.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. It is quietly passionate, graceful, elegant, utterly moving, and unequivocally beautiful in its honesty and sophistication. He's realized an ambition here that is artful and singular.
  2. Hawley has made an exceptionally perfect album with Truelove’s Gutter: it’s endearing, uplifting and absolutely beautiful, what else could you ask for?
  3. 80
    Truelove’s Gutter is a winner for his fans.
  4. Hawley has masterfully crafted a sparse and darker affair that proves to be his most challenging set to date. [Fall 2009, p.62]
  5. Truelove’s Gutter abandons the lush strings and complex production of previous work for a more straightforward style, and the results bring to mind the honest, plainspoken albums that Cash and Jones recorded in the mid-70s.
  6. Sixth album Truelove's Gutter is his best, thanks to easing back on the twanging guitar and ads for his native Sheffield in favour of more universally minded tunes, the finest of which, the 10-minute Remorse Code, edges into ambient territory.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. HomerSimpson
    Oct 1, 2009
  2. StephenU.
    Oct 6, 2009
    In this immediate gratification world, for music this aesthetically pleasing, give some time.
  3. SigmarP
    Oct 19, 2009
    His best. His classic.
  4. leop.
    Oct 3, 2009
    Deeply moving, especially the music. Another beautiful collection of songs from a unique singer songwriter.
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    The follow up to his masterpiece "Coles Corner", True Loves Gutter is as dark and sad sounding as it's title would hint. Unlike the mostly short and to the point tracks on it's predecessor, the majority of the songs on here are quite long. There's not much to smile about - be warned, this isn't Monday morning music, but it is a beautiful record all the same. Fans of Hawley will appreciate it, newcomers might find Coles Corner an easier introduction. Expand
  6. PeterS.
    Sep 29, 2009
    He's perfected a mood here and sustained it throughout the entire album-- there is no escaping this drawing-room mystery. Perfect for the autumnal intellectual. Collapse
  7. CharoV
    Oct 8, 2009
    Overkill on what is already well-travelled Hawley territory. There is nothing new here other than perhaps some seriously decent music to put the baby to sleep by. Has it's moments of lush beauty but just doesn't live up to previous works. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews