Unapologetic

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unapologetic Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 508 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the pop singer features Chris Brown, Eminem, Future, and David Guetta as guests with No I.D., Nicky Romero, StarGate, and The-Dream contributing to production.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    86
    Unapologetic is Rihanna's most confident, emotionally resonant work since 2009's "Rated R.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    While this is a fine, if uneven album, the only way to enjoy a significant portion of it is by taking it as pure entertainment.
  3. 70
    Unapologetic makes a compelling case for Rihanna knowing what she's doing. This most compelling of pop phenomena still has something new to offer.
  4. Like most of Unapologetic, it's ["Nobody's Business" is] instantly forgettable.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The mixture of emotions across Unapologetic just doesn't sit right.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    58
    A fiery pop album that's unfortunately coated in the icky residue of unearned defiance that has marked Brown's recent output.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    When you're at Rihanna's level you can afford the best songwriters and producers in the business and sonically the album is generally far ahead of her peers. Yet if Sia's Diamonds is a sultry triumph, its character and uniqueness highlights the ultimately hollow pleasures of much around it.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 130
  2. Negative: 28 out of 130
  1. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    album de hits
    perfeito do inicio ao fim como sempre
    rihanna n decepciona os fans amei adorei? achei tudo? PHRESH OUT THE
    album de hits
    perfeito do inicio ao fim como sempre
    rihanna n decepciona os fans
    amei adorei? achei tudo?
    PHRESH OUT THE RUNWAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol.Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol. Only Rihrih can do an album each year and still have the world sucked in. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocallyAn album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna! Collapse
  4. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    The songs on this album were very diverse, and not the same generic sound after another, more singles could have been formed. This showed howThe songs on this album were very diverse, and not the same generic sound after another, more singles could have been formed. This showed how her vocals have changed and evolved. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds:
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10
    Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10
    Pour it up: oookay Rihanna and producers. Use different beats,please.... 3/10
    Loveeeeeee Song: I don't know that guy and i don't like this voice but Rihanna's part is really cool. 7/10
    Jump: Okay, but thats all 5/10
    Right Now: I want to be honest.Right Now, i get headache. 1/10
    What Now: A cool song but she cries a little to much. This song has energy!! 7/10
    Stay: Amazing. Do it just like that. You don't need David Guetta trash. 10/10
    Nobody's Business: I don't like Chris Brown but this song is danceable. 6/10
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: 7 minutes, a loooong song but not the highlight (which is Stay). 5/10
    Get over it: Yeah Rihanna, Thats your style! 9/10
    No Love Allowed. Your dance hall carrier is over. Too sad. 6/10
    Lost in Paradise: Power full and danceable 8/10
    Final points: 5.8 --> 6 points. Her last album "Talk That Talk" received 3 points... You're getting better Rihanna
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions.Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions. Although the song Fool In Love from her Loud album is also forced with emotions, she did that song absolutely perfectly, but the one - Nobody's Business - was just too much. Lost In Paradise was absolutely gorgeous, I enjoyed listening to that song, it has rhythm, positive vibrations and just feels good... I would love that Rihanna makes songs like Lost In Paradise or Stay, they are perfect, all the others are awfull... My overall rating for this album is 4. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for someone
    Someone who can please me Love me all night long I've been everywhere, man Looking for you,
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for someone
    Someone who can please me
    Love me all night long
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for you, babe
    Looking for you, babe
    Searching for you, babe
    Expand

See all 130 User Reviews