• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unapologetic Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the pop singer features Chris Brown, Eminem, Future, and David Guetta as guests with No I.D., Nicky Romero, StarGate, and The-Dream contributing to production.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    86
    Unapologetic is Rihanna's most confident, emotionally resonant work since 2009's "Rated R.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    While this is a fine, if uneven album, the only way to enjoy a significant portion of it is by taking it as pure entertainment.
  3. 70
    Unapologetic makes a compelling case for Rihanna knowing what she's doing. This most compelling of pop phenomena still has something new to offer.
  4. Like most of Unapologetic, it's ["Nobody's Business" is] instantly forgettable.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The mixture of emotions across Unapologetic just doesn't sit right.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    58
    A fiery pop album that's unfortunately coated in the icky residue of unearned defiance that has marked Brown's recent output.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    When you're at Rihanna's level you can afford the best songwriters and producers in the business and sonically the album is generally far ahead of her peers. Yet if Sia's Diamonds is a sultry triumph, its character and uniqueness highlights the ultimately hollow pleasures of much around it.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 121
  2. Negative: 25 out of 121
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is amazing, its not as good as Loud, but to be honest i really dont think she'll ever make an album like that again. If you are looking for the future billboard hits check all the songs from track 7 they are marvelous. However, my favorite songs on the album are track 11 and 15.
    My advice to anyone is to buy the album.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his charisma attracted fans from around the world, praised for its beauty, for its life history, and especially for his MUSIC.
    In Unapologetic, Rihanna shows that came to stay. With powerful ballads, and hip hop and urban vein, it shows what is to be a versatile artist.
    No wonder it is the most tanned on facebook, and his youtube channel is the most watched in the world.
    Rihanna is the VOICE!
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocallyAn album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna! Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Strong potensial album by Rihanna shows us that album can have club-ready tunes and strong ballads together.Vocals on this album are so strong and makes it beautiful,mature,funny,explicit record..... Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    "Unapologetic" is a solid and very strong album. I venture to say that is the main release of Rihanna from "Good Girl Gone Bad", that"Unapologetic" is a solid and very strong album. I venture to say that is the main release of Rihanna from "Good Girl Gone Bad", that established in the market once and for all. She continues to launch clips, singles and albums of frantic and without disappoint fans (at least musically!). It is extremely difficult to do what Rihanna is the period of time that it does. Even having a songwriting team and producers behind the great responsibility, vision and dedication is still your thing. This album marks the moment when Rihanna tries to divide your professional and personal, showing everyone that no matter what is happening in your life, or drugs that use it, or the boyfriend she chooses, she is also an artist who delivers a successful product. In other words, the "Unapologetic" brings one message: I can back it Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    She writes none of her own music, enough said. Though many artists don't I just cannot believe that someone so "talent" cannot make an attemptShe writes none of her own music, enough said. Though many artists don't I just cannot believe that someone so "talent" cannot make an attempt to write their own music. I guess I just miss the days when music was something personal to every artist and bands created everything on their own. Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    I miss when Rihanna knew how to make great songs and great albuns like " Loud " , " Rated R " ,Unapologetic is so disapointing . The songsI miss when Rihanna knew how to make great songs and great albuns like " Loud " , " Rated R " ,Unapologetic is so disapointing . The songs don't have any feeling is just electronical sounds , she should stop for a while and make good albuns like she used to. Expand

See all 121 User Reviews