Unapologetic

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unapologetic Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the pop singer features Chris Brown, Eminem, Future, and David Guetta as guests with No I.D., Nicky Romero, StarGate, and The-Dream contributing to production.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    86
    Unapologetic is Rihanna's most confident, emotionally resonant work since 2009's "Rated R.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    While this is a fine, if uneven album, the only way to enjoy a significant portion of it is by taking it as pure entertainment.
  3. 70
    Unapologetic makes a compelling case for Rihanna knowing what she's doing. This most compelling of pop phenomena still has something new to offer.
  4. Like most of Unapologetic, it's ["Nobody's Business" is] instantly forgettable.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The mixture of emotions across Unapologetic just doesn't sit right.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    58
    A fiery pop album that's unfortunately coated in the icky residue of unearned defiance that has marked Brown's recent output.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    When you're at Rihanna's level you can afford the best songwriters and producers in the business and sonically the album is generally far ahead of her peers. Yet if Sia's Diamonds is a sultry triumph, its character and uniqueness highlights the ultimately hollow pleasures of much around it.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 137
  2. Negative: 33 out of 137
  1. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    I love the vocal performances in this album. From Diamonds to Stay,Right Now and What Now to the elements of hip hop in Phresh out the RunwayI love the vocal performances in this album. From Diamonds to Stay,Right Now and What Now to the elements of hip hop in Phresh out the Runway or Pour it up. It's just so perfect. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol.Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol. Only Rihrih can do an album each year and still have the world sucked in. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocallyAn album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna! Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    This Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songsThis Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songs her vocals are good, but the songwriting and producing is lamentable, while on others the lyrics are good enough, but the production really lacks; or the other way round.

    Too bad for masterpieces like "Diamonds" (Rihanna's best song by far, and one of the best of 2010s) or "Love Without Tragedy". The balladry on this album is also worth listening to, but both "Stay" and "What Now" display a lack of songwriting skills, using dried out cliches and unmatching expressions, used just for the sake of rhyme. There is also some quality r&b music (namely on "Love Song" and "Get It Over With"), but the dance numbers from the album are surely the worst; "Jump" and "Phresh Out the Runway" are decent enough, but "Right Now" murders the whole record. Another wrecking ball for the album is "Nobody's Business", while "Numb" ft. Eminem is also a dull melody. All the other unmentioned songs are not that bad, but not that good either.

    This is actually a step back from her previous albums "Rated R", "Loud" and "Talk That Talk" and pushes Riri back to her dance-hall rooted sophomore album, 'A Girl Like Me'.

    8.3/10
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds:
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10
    Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10
    Pour it up: oookay Rihanna and producers. Use different beats,please.... 3/10
    Loveeeeeee Song: I don't know that guy and i don't like this voice but Rihanna's part is really cool. 7/10
    Jump: Okay, but thats all 5/10
    Right Now: I want to be honest.Right Now, i get headache. 1/10
    What Now: A cool song but she cries a little to much. This song has energy!! 7/10
    Stay: Amazing. Do it just like that. You don't need David Guetta trash. 10/10
    Nobody's Business: I don't like Chris Brown but this song is danceable. 6/10
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: 7 minutes, a loooong song but not the highlight (which is Stay). 5/10
    Get over it: Yeah Rihanna, Thats your style! 9/10
    No Love Allowed. Your dance hall carrier is over. Too sad. 6/10
    Lost in Paradise: Power full and danceable 8/10
    Final points: 5.8 --> 6 points. Her last album "Talk That Talk" received 3 points... You're getting better Rihanna
    Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    4
    Rihanna's worst album so far. think she should care more about releasing good albums than an album every year. There are more ballads, unlikeRihanna's worst album so far. think she should care more about releasing good albums than an album every year. There are more ballads, unlike most of her previous albums. I liked her new music, but I like her old music better. She tries several different genres in the album, so you will like some songs regardless of your taste. The first few tracks are really stupid, but the rest of the album is not that bad.
    Track by track review (a little bit long, so I hope you don't fall asleep):
    1. Presh Out The Runway - 0/10 - It just sounds unfinished. Her voice is robotic, the instrumental could have been a lot better, and the lyrics are too stupid and don't make any sense.
    2. Diamonds - 8/10 - I didn't really like it at first, but now I think it's pretty good song. The lyrics in the chorus don't make so much sense (are there any diamonds in the sky?) , but overall it's a good and inspirating song. Slower than most of Rihanna's music.
    3. Numb (feat. Eminem) - 0/10 - Like in "Phresh Out The Runway", Rihanna sounds too robotic, and also Eminem couldn't sound weirder in this song. The lyrics are basically "I'm going numb" repeated several times, which isn't really creative.
    4. Pour It Up - 1/10 - Again, Rihanna sounds robotic and weird. The lyrics are too repetitive, does she really have to repeat "still got my money" in the entire song?
    5. Loveeeeeee Song (feat. Future) - 0/10 - Rihanna sounds too robotic (again?) and Future sounds like he wants to kill you when he should sound romantic.
    6. Jump - 4/10 - One of the few not-so-bad tracks in the album. Rihanna still sounds a bit robotic, but the composition is pretty enjoyable and the lyrics make some sense, except for the "ride it, my pony" part that is just an attempt to talk about sex while keeping the track clean.
    7. Right Now (feat. David Guetta) - 9/10 - Again, a good track in the album. A good and fun beat and lyrics that actually make sense. Best track in the album.
    8. What Now - 7/10 - Nice and unexpected ballad, even though she sounds different from usual. Again, a good track in the album. Slower than most of her songs, which is not really a bad thing in this case.
    9. Stay (feat. Mikky Ekko) - 6/10 - Good track, but I didn't really like some of Rihanna's parts, even though it's her song. Mikky Ekko really makes it better. Quite enjoyable if you like ballads.
    10. Nobody's Business (feat. Chris Brown) - 8/10 - Even though Chris Brown sounds a bit annoying in this song, it's a pretty good and fun song. The composition is great for the parties, and I really think the lyrics are about some of Rihanna's life.
    11. Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary - 7/10 - The song is good. The lyrics are sad, but what's a ballad without sad lyrics? It's like "Titanic", you feel sad watching/listening to it but you like it anyway.
    12. Get It Over With - 2/10 - Streak of good songs successfully broken. Her voice doesn't fit the lyrics, and the metaphor about "floating in the clouds" doesn't make any sense. The composition is not so bad though.
    13. No Love Allowed - 3/10 - The composition is not so good, but the lyrics do make some sense, except for some parts like "911, it's a critical emergency yeah, run run run" that don't really have much to do with dangerous love the rest of the song describes.
    14. Lost In Paradise - 8/10 - One of the best tracks in the album. Not a slow ballad, but not really a dance track. Different from anything Rihanna's ever released. Not quite sure how to describe it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Presh Out The Runway 40/100
    Diamonds 90/100
    Numb 30/100
    Pour It Up 70/100
    Loveeeeee Song 30/100
    Jump 100/100
    Right Now 80/100
    What Now 50/100
    Stay 60/100
    Nobody Business 40/100
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary 20/100
    Get It Over With 40/100
    No Love Allowed 30/100
    Lost In Paradise 90/100
    Expand

See all 137 User Reviews