Under the Blacklight Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After dabbling in solo projects, the band regroups for its fourth album, produced by Jason Lader.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    Under The Blacklight is by far and away the most accessible album that Rilo Kiley have ever made.
  2. 90
    Creamy and precise, every coo and arpeggio blows through your ear buds like the ruffle of crisp bills.
  3. 80
    Lewis' wordplay smartly unspools over the course of a song--with 'Breakin' Up,' she creates a 'Since U Been Gone' for grown-ups, and on '15,' narrates an Internet jailbait vignette without melodrama or moralizing. [Sep 2007, p.132]
  4. Under the Blacklight is at once more ethereal that anything Rilo Kiley has ever managed previously.
  5. When Rilo Kiley stick to bittersweet pop, as on '15,' a country romp about underage sex, the results are engaging enough. But that marriage of extremes is hard to pull off, and on 'Breakin' Up' they get it horribly wrong.
  6. Fans will love it, but if you're not already on board, this album won't change your mind. [Oct 2007, p.169]
  7. Lewis has tons of charisma--but it's a shame the shift in focus coincides with an album so superficial that her characters' hollow-eyed come-ons seem genuine by comparison.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. EmilyS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    I love all the old albums, but this one takes the cake. So fun, but layered. I like each song more, each time I hear it!
  2. TJW
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    A lot of people will likely disagree with me, but I really think this is the bands best album. I love the blues influence, and definitely hear the Fleetwood Mac influence as well. Really not a bad song on here. Expand
  3. MaisyM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Good Album. Pleasant Surprise.More a Jenny Lewis Launching pad than a rilo kiley album however.
  4. JamespeeF.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    A pleasant surprise of a record. It left me cold at first but reveals more and more with each listen. If only more records could reveal such depth -- and under 45 mins! Expand
  5. Joe
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Mike from Maine just listed the three worst songs on the album and called them the best. Other than those three cheesy songs, it is a very enjoyable album. Expand
  6. DanielC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    6
    I expected a little more from a major label debut. This album has it's high points, but even the strongest material pales in comparison to the material on the first 3 albums. I recommend giving this one a listen, but be prepared for a lack of interesting guitar work (that we all know Blake is capable of), as well as a different singing style by Jenny Lewis. Standout tracks are: "Silver Lining," "Close Call," "Dreamworld," and "The Angels Hung Around." Expand
  7. IsidoreD.
    Aug 26, 2007
    0
    It's not innovative. 70's revival is "in", and that's what they are doing here. I love this band, and repsect artist-evolution. This evolution just plain sucks. Someone else here hit the nail on the head. It is not cause they are "different", rather the album, isolated and listened-to abjectively, simply sucks and is totally boring. I could just play some Rick Springfield or Fleetwood Mac. Why do I need to hear them take a stab at it? Sigh.. anybody suggest a band that can sell out AND retain some original ideas? Looks like they join post-Joshua Tree U2 and post Zeppelin Plant. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews