User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jay
    Dec 3, 2006
    0
    Sorry, but I cannot take Lindsey without the rest of the group. Not that I don't think he should stop what he's doing, it's just that I wish he'd stick to painting...or something silent.
  2. Michael
    Oct 26, 2006
    4
    This record is so much odder than I'd expected. Buckingham's acoustic guitar playing is often beautiful, but his singing is quite poor. He sounds like he's crouched in his closet, singing through a cheap fx processor, hoping not to wake up whoever else might be in the house. The songwriting ranges. In all, this album sounds like the work of a crackpot outsider, not a member This record is so much odder than I'd expected. Buckingham's acoustic guitar playing is often beautiful, but his singing is quite poor. He sounds like he's crouched in his closet, singing through a cheap fx processor, hoping not to wake up whoever else might be in the house. The songwriting ranges. In all, this album sounds like the work of a crackpot outsider, not a member of one the most successful pop/rock bands of the last 30+ years. I never thought I'd miss Stevie Nicks this badly! Expand
  3. KeithC
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    A true artist in every sense of the word; I can listen to Someone's Gotta Change Your Mind repeatedly and still hear something new each time.
  4. GeraldC
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    A very heartfelt collection of songs from a musical genius, you can definitely feel Buckingham's heart and soul poured out like fine wine on this one.
  5. MaxC
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    A gorgeous collection of songs performed in the most naked of setting with only a few filters on his voice to remind you that he's not actually sitting down next to you playing. His fingerpicking is only getting better with age and so are his lyrics... Joni Mitchell-esque in their highly confessional approach. This man is on roll... if you enjoyed "Say Goodbye", "Red Rover" and A gorgeous collection of songs performed in the most naked of setting with only a few filters on his voice to remind you that he's not actually sitting down next to you playing. His fingerpicking is only getting better with age and so are his lyrics... Joni Mitchell-esque in their highly confessional approach. This man is on roll... if you enjoyed "Say Goodbye", "Red Rover" and "Steal Your Heart Away" from Fleetwood Mac's 'Say You Will' album - you will absolutely adore this collection. Highlights: Not Too Late, Under the Skin, Cast Away Dreams, Shut Us Down, Down on Rodeo Expand
  6. JohnB
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    The true follow-up to Tusk!
  7. rickybobby
    Oct 14, 2006
    6
    Wet cat stuck under a couch! ROFL!
  8. ToddW
    Oct 16, 2006
    7
    While not in the same class as his best work with one of the great bands of all time, Buckingham still knows how to bring an affecting guitar to a room. His singing never was comparable to Thom Yorke or Peter Gabriel, but Bob Dylan and Neil Young aren't exactly Pavarotti, either, so why he's being slammed in some quarters because he sounds his age gets under my skin. Buckingham While not in the same class as his best work with one of the great bands of all time, Buckingham still knows how to bring an affecting guitar to a room. His singing never was comparable to Thom Yorke or Peter Gabriel, but Bob Dylan and Neil Young aren't exactly Pavarotti, either, so why he's being slammed in some quarters because he sounds his age gets under my skin. Buckingham has forgotten more catchy lyrics and melodies than most of the strippers, no-talents, and (c)rappers who populate the "popular" music record charts these days. Predictably, his music will never see the Top 40 because like most worthwhile music you actually have to pay attention to it to enjoy it, instead of it playing like so much background while you tool down the road in your gas-guzzler with the yellow ribbon sticker on the back. Expand
  9. JenniferK.
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    Gorgeous record. At first listen, it may not hot you as hard, but after repeated hearings you will get drawn in. There are subtle nuances and intricacies here that jump out only after you have heard it thorughly. The lyrics are soul-searching and deep, the music is absolutely stunning and there are so many melodies. I'm in love with it!!! Highly recommended.
  10. snoopdogg
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    His best cd ever.
  11. johnk
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    A revelation, brave, unique, unlike anything else out there, mature, inspiring. I give it 10 even though there may be something missing. But even that 'something missing' sounds perfect.
  12. sal
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    the man is god you can of course disagree with this, but you would be wrong delicious
  13. JamesR
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    This CD is all about the music. There's no trying to get one on the charts going on here. Lindsey's self reflexive line in No Too Late, is at first a little awkward, but by the time the album is done, you know that Buckingham is right to feel underrated. The same qualities that made Buckingham instrumental to the success of Fleetwood Mac are here: his writing, his arranging, and This CD is all about the music. There's no trying to get one on the charts going on here. Lindsey's self reflexive line in No Too Late, is at first a little awkward, but by the time the album is done, you know that Buckingham is right to feel underrated. The same qualities that made Buckingham instrumental to the success of Fleetwood Mac are here: his writing, his arranging, and his excellent and tragically overlook guitar playing. Buy this album. Expand
  14. timm
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Unbeilably thrilling!!!
  15. mikes.
    Oct 13, 2006
    4
    Weird acoustic stuff, not pop. Not fun or exciting so its bad and not recommended
  16. JohnH
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    This is a worthwhile collection of songs by the auteur of latter day Fleetwood Mac. Very passionately performed, gorgeous production, yet mainly only guitar and vocals are featured throughout. Two wonderful covers of obscure Rolling Stones and Donvovan songs, I am Waiting and To Try for the Sun are particularly well crafted, entirely different than the originals. Other standout tracks are This is a worthwhile collection of songs by the auteur of latter day Fleetwood Mac. Very passionately performed, gorgeous production, yet mainly only guitar and vocals are featured throughout. Two wonderful covers of obscure Rolling Stones and Donvovan songs, I am Waiting and To Try for the Sun are particularly well crafted, entirely different than the originals. Other standout tracks are Down on Rodeo, Show You How, Cast Away Dreams. Expand
  17. geraldv
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    This album contains the most spectacular gems the man has ever written. So vulnerable it needed the extra production from getting perversely personal. This is the way the genius does it. In a few years a bigger group will see the brilliance too. As a unity, this album reaches depth like he never did before.
  18. barrys
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    mmmmmm, nice.
  19. madbomber
    Nov 8, 2006
    0
    ha ha ha ha... this will be a train wreck for your so called way of rating... if I can get through, anyone can... ha ha ha he he he hoo hoo hoo...
  20. SanfordP
    Dec 15, 2006
    8
    Understated, sensitive, wistful...sounds like I could be talking about any number of current indie rock sissies. But wait! Lindsey actually knows how to operate a guitar!! Take note, indie rock guitar "owners" of the world.
  21. jonathan
    Jan 29, 2007
    7
    The songs are very good, but I feel that it was a bad choice to have not re-recorded most of the songs. Most of the album was done at home by Buckingham on a digital recorder except for 2 songs. The 2 songs recorded in the real studio with Rob Cavallo sound much more fully realized than the rest of the album. The title track is a beautiful song but the click track running through the The songs are very good, but I feel that it was a bad choice to have not re-recorded most of the songs. Most of the album was done at home by Buckingham on a digital recorder except for 2 songs. The 2 songs recorded in the real studio with Rob Cavallo sound much more fully realized than the rest of the album. The title track is a beautiful song but the click track running through the whole song ruins it for me and drives me nuts! Expand
  22. baron
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    The cover of "I am waiting" is possibly teh best cover version i've heard. And the rest of the tracks are excellent too. The man is a genius.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. It is, thus far, his masterpiece, and as beautiful a pop record as can be made these days.
  2. Strange, alluring, and disarming.
  3. It's the spartan-yet-gonzo sound of a guy remembering he can go his own way. [6 Oct 2006, p.70]