Uno! - Green Day
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 145

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    0
    As a long time Green Day fan, I really wanted this to be good (The same could be said about 21st Century Breakdown), but there was just nothing good about it. None of the songs are memorable and they just drone on and on. Listening to one song felt like it lasted 10 minutes when in reality it was only 3 and a half. I would say that these songs are just generic rock songs made to be radio friendly, but they avoided that by using the f-word about 90 times a song. I have no problem with swearing when it adds something to a piece of media, but this was just stupid. The entire album was stupid, Dos! and Tre! and probably going to be stupid, I hope that Green Day can turn things around and go back to how things were with American Idiot and everything before that, but I know that will probably never happen... Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    The other low reviewers have said it better - as a Green Day fan from the 90s and beyond I expected much more from them. But then again, what can you expect from 40-year old millionaires? Not anything, apparently
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    1
    "We've been around since 1988!!!" That's true. And Dookie, Nimrod, Warning and everything else you did in the 90's was amazing. But you haven't been relevant since 2000. And it shows on this album. Green Day is old hat.
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    2
    Uno! is an album you put into the CD player and have high hopes for, the first track (Nuclear Family) starts to go back to their roots then it builds but nothing happens. You hope for the rest of the songs to have that punk edge, but they don't, when I saw a song named: Kill The DJ, I laughed and excepted something with funny smart lyrics and gritty punk. What i heard is the worst "punk" opening to a song in my life. In my opinion Kill The DJ is the worst Green Day song I've ever heard. The songs just all sound similar and Oh Love is also horrible. Green Day should make another album like 21st century breakdown or American Idiot. Expand
  5. j30
    Oct 4, 2012
    2
    Uno is the sound of a dad trying to hang out with their 14 year old son and his friends. Billie Joe Armstrong's lyrics are dreadful, with lines like "I woke up in a pool of sweat/ First thought I pissed the bed" The fact is Green Day can put **** out like this in their sleep... and they are with Dos and Tre coming out in November and January.
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    4
    I'm a massive Green Day fan. I always will be. I own every one of their albums, and despite my disappointment, will purchase Dos and Tre. That said, this is another step down a disturbing trend for the band.

    21st Century Breakdown was the first green day album since the 80s that wasn't outstanding. Unlike previous entries like American Idiot, Insomniac or Dookie, there were songs
    that were bland, unmemorable, or just flat out bad. Uno is like taking one of the bland songs (Last of the American Girls) and recording it 12 times. For an album that was supposed to return to their roots, it is thoroughly lacking in punk sound. It sounds like a bunch of old men trying to emulate their glory days, which unfortunately is exactly what it is. It is fake in every sense of the word. Say what you want about the political tone of the previous two albums, they certainly seemed a lot less forced both musically and lyrically.

    There is not one song on this album that would be in the top 75 songs Green Day has recorded. And that should say enough about it. I'd steer clear unless you're going down with the ship like me to satiate your nostalgia.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    what happened to the band that brought us international top hits such as american idiot, basket case, boulevard of broken dreams, holiday and 21 guns, only to mention a few!
  8. Jul 17, 2013
    3
    This album takes the writing style of older Green Day albums while making it sound completely clean, prissy, and void of any grittiness or distortion which they should have being a pop-punk band and all. This album also has some of the weakest lyrics the band has ever produced with a few exceptions. Any song with any sort of potential to be good is just thwarted because the production and mixing just sounds off. Those little 3-chord jam sessions that this trio frequently has in their music just seems to be watered down in this album and it's mostly because the mixing is just off. You can hear a distinct difference between songs with these little sections like Stuck With Me from Insomniac and Stay the Night from this mediocrity. Now I'm all for a band changing their sound and all but this is not the way it's supposed to be done. Green Day has changed their sounds in the past and those changes made much more sense and just sound better. The change from the albums Nimrod to Warning was a refreshing and enjoyable difference in sound, same with the change from the albums Warning to American Idiot. What's trying to be said here is that Changing the sound but keeping the old style of music isn't a good idea. Albums like American Idiot are different from their older stuff but manage to stay under one roof. Uno is different but just sounds like a cheap bubblegum pop rock band rather than the gritty and fast pop-punk bad they should be. This trilogy will forever stain Green Day's solid lineup of excellent pop-punk albums. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    What this amounts to is a sharp and often exhilarating change of gear from the Green Day of the past eight years. [22 Sep 2012, p.50]
  2. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    After all these years they can still write a catchy tune.