User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 129

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the first. Catchy songs, he got this control in his songs that any artist should have. Keep goind Bruno, we are with you!
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    Conseguiu ser pior que o primeiro,tem 1 boa música e outras 2 medianas.
    Não sei por que inssistem e por ele num pedestal que ele realmente não merece estar.
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Just a really good album. The beats are awesome. My two favorite tracks: Treasure and Natalie The one I could have done without Show Me. I give this album a 9 out of 10. Thanks for reading.
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    On his second album Bruno Mars displays his very conceptual and artistic side as far as the song writing goes but unfortunately when it comes to the lyrics beside some extremely catchy hooks, I wasn't completely sold on the lyrics. This defiantly doesn't cut the album short from being wonderful to me. I feel the same way about Unorthodox Jukebox the same way I feel about Thriller by Michael Jackson or Take Care by Drake. Of course nearly half of these albums have been played over and over again nearly to the point of annoyance on our local pop radio stations. Along with the youngsters that attempt to recreate these songs with grace at our local high school talent shows but simply can't measure up to the pure passion that these artist sing with. Bruno Mars really put together a polished, fantastically sung album full of groovy strong instrumentation. Don't let all of the folks who compare Bruno Mars to other pop acts fool you this guy has got a huge amount of talent and crafted a purely triumphant album in my opinion. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    4
    TWO GREAT SONGS won't make a good album. I think Locked out of heaven is one of the best songs this year, and the video is amazing, very energetic and FUN. Too bad the rest of the album is cheesy and slow. Money make her smile is veeeery Michael Jackson and i really like the song, but other than that. Very bland unispired pop fillers.
  6. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Peter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songs caused in my ears.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on one song and an old school r&b feel on another rock and sting are present i think he is one of the most intiguing and brilliant artists of our century.
  8. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Just a perfect album. Such an amazing and catchy voice with good lyrics and melodies. Gorilla is such a jam and Locked Out Of Heaven, the No 1 song on Billboard hot 100, is AMAZING! Besides When I Was Your Man that also was number 1 song on Hot 100. He's brilliant and is ready to be a legend! Way better than the trash we listen to (or have to) these days. Smashing Bieber's (flop) songs and Justin Timberlake's also, even though JT is really talented, he's getting way behind Mars. Bruno is underrated while Timberlake is overrated which is SO wrong. Both are talented, but Mars was meant to be, and obviously his songs doesn't sound the same and he has everything to be a great star. Watch out, Timberlake, Bruno's here to show everyone who's on command! Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Bruno when he did doo wops and hooligans. After hearing I thought he had great potential. So I was pretty excited for this album. And his voice has matured definatly. This might not be the most perfect album. But it's a great step up. Songs like locked out of heaven, gorilla, and Natalie his voice really shows. And there is so much different genres. We have the poppy treasure. The Reggie show me. The slower when I was your man. And the bluesy if I knew. So in conclusion Bruno gives the best of his career Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    I'm no Bruno Mars fan but this album is pretty well done. Locked Out of Heaven, When I Was Your Man and Treasure are two songs that should never be left out of any top songs of 2013 list.
  11. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    The music is still deliberately derivative yet fun and unshakeable, and the lyrics are still unpretentiously simple and ring with a truth that many can identify with.

    With this album, Bruno Mars proves to naysayers that he is here to stay.
  12. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    I've discovered BM with "Grenade" on my girlfriend's player, and wasn't much impressed by it, while she found him awesome. Most of his first album left me a "meh" impression.

    But then I heard "Locked out of Heaven", which I at first, while finding it entertaining, thought was an attempt to steal from The Police But it was nicely done, more like a tribute than a cover or plagiarism.
    Listening to all the songs of his new album, I found a great range of music from the last 40 years !

    What he did is a tribute to all the songs he must have listened too growing up (I know he's young, but you can like songs made before you existed), and with great work makes new songs that sound like good old sounds My game was to put dates on the songs, "Locked out" is 1978-79, "Treasure" is 1983-85, "When I was your man", this one I'd say between 68 and 72, but it sounds untemporal so it's just my opinion. This idea is supported by how the videoclips are made, very retro !

    This album has a mastered diversity, and it's a sign of a great artist I enjoy listening to it
    Expand
  13. May 12, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. I have the whole album,l and I believe it's the only whole album I digitally have. He really has nice singles and puts out great music for any format, like Pop, Rhythmic, AC, HAC, and sometimes even Country (Just The Way You Are, imo). I hope he keeps on releasing music that sounds like these 2 albums because then he will have way more success than he is already having. I recommend this album. Expand
  14. May 8, 2013
    9
    Just listened to the entire album. I really enjoyed it. Short and sweet and to the point. Very well done. Every song is worth listening to as there are only 11 songs with such variation and there isn't one that is "skippable". Each song tells a story coherently which is something that Frank Ocean may have lacked for me.
  15. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    Talvez o CD seja muito bom, mas não como o seu CD de estreia Doo Wops & Hooligans, consegui sentir a vibe positiva contida nas letras e no ritmo quase anos 80, pra mim uma pena que Unorthodox Jukebox quase totalmente como uma balada porque músicas como Locked Out Of Heaven são muito vendiveis
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Bruno Mars Has Proven With This Album That He Has The Writing Skills And The Voice To Make One Of The Best Albums Of 2012!
  17. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Bruno Mars strikes back with an even better sounding album than before, fans like me should be really pleased.
  18. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Ah, Mr. Mars' sophomore album. The instrumentation is very diverse, going from synth-pop 80s style ("Moonshine"), to reggae-rock Police-style ("Locked Out Of Heaven"), to Caribbean driven rhythms ("Show Me"). However, the subject matter is still the same: Girls. It's the same commercial stuff he's been putting out since his first album. I know he could do SO MUCH BETTER than what he's doing, although I still like the album, Bruno needs to branch out lyrics-wise, and we'll see what he can do for his third album. Expand
  19. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    The current king of 'sappy love songs' is back! His songs are infectious, designed to leave girls 'swooning', giving wedding singers worldwide enough material to sing until Mars' next album. His trademark vocal is back, and while it doesn't have as single as strong as his previous effort, it will still be a big hit worldwide.
  20. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    this album is one of best albums in 2012 , he gave to me very soul , pop , r&b and awesome music in this album and very good choice to this album singles
  21. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Bruno Mars has delivered an enjoyable, nostalgia dripping sophomore effort that surpasses his first album by a mile. While he still has room to grow (he could at least try to be more original), Bruno has proven that he is a talented tribute act and has much more up his sleeve for the future.
  22. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    I'm usually hesitant to buy complete albums, especially based on only hearing one song. But based on how much I enjoyed Bruno Mars freshman album and the first release, "Locked Out of Heaven", off of Unorthodox Jukebox, I did. All I can say is, Smart Choice on my part. Not a bad song on the album. There are a few song with simple lyrics, but I guarantee you will be singing along. The variety of styles on the album keep you listening and never wanting to skip forward. Now, you will want to play some songs over and over again, like "Treasure", "When I was Your Man" and "Money Make Her Smile". This Sophomore album is surely going to be a favorite for Bruno Mars fans and will make some new fans as well. Expand
  23. Dec 31, 2012
    2
    Bruno Mars is a very clever man. He's written some brilliant tunes for himself and for his peers. He's featured on some cracking debuts and he penned F**k/Forget You, Cee Lo Green's solo masterpiece. And Mars debut Doo-Wops & Hooligans was surprisingly a very enjoyable, very well-written and well-recorded collection of catchy songs from a up-and-coming modern songwriter. Now, album two is out, Unorthodox Jukebox, and well, it's certainly something, however whether or not this 'something' is good, is up for questioning. Starting off with Young Girls, most of the album is penned the same, with the same topic in different ways..SEX. It's as if Bruno Mars is sex-hungry. We know from tracks like the Lazy Song that he's not a 'kids' singer but come on, all the iccle kids listen to him, but his whole album is the diary of a sex-ravaged singer with lots of sex, drugs and 'rock n roll'. The track Gorilla summarises the album, a seemingly cute metaphoric ballad that is in the end, again, all about sex. A bland chorus blares "Gorilla, uh uh yeah, you and me baby, making love like gorillas". Even the tracks later on on the album that you think may actually be like 'Just The Way You Are' tricks you by clever titles and is still, actually about sex. As much as i'm still a fan of Bruno Mars, I'll be listening to Doo-Wops far more than Jukebox. Expand
  24. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Is an excellent album that contains a bit of everything does not disappoint bruno, bruno is one of the greatest artists of this time and I hope it is much more some of his songs reminds me of Michael Jackson and Elvis Presley shows bruno is heir to the king of Pop
  25. Dec 18, 2012
    3
    The music is mediocre and the lyrics suck. I wish they would have tried something new other than the same old ballads off the last album. Something less generic and more punchy. Too bad.
  26. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    An unbelievable Sophomore album.

    Sophomore Struggle? Forget about it. This is a quality, cohesive album that is very clearly inspired by the generations before Mr Mars, and it's not a bad thing in any sense of the word. The album is not as poppy as the first album, but I feel he has risked relevancy in pop to create a true piece of art. Even the most uptempo songs on the album aren't
    very fast. It's a sharp departure from his previous work but still has the Bruno signature sounds.

    I wasn't a massive fan of his when he released "Doo Wops and Hooligans" but I appreciated the album and liked the singles he released. This album has absolutely blown me away, though. There are no obvious singles on the album, for me, but I'd prefer if he didn't even release any. The current pop scene doesn't deserve such effortlessly incredible music. This album has definitely made a fan out of me, and I've had it on repeat since I first heard it.
    Expand
  27. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno Mars got a lot of talent, and this album show it very well. Unorthodox Jukebox is in my opinion, much better than his first album. Some songs are absolutely amazing like "Young Girls" and "Moonshine". "Gorilla" is a very good noddy song and of course, all the songs of the album show the great Bruno's voice. I was not a very big Bruno Mars fan, now i think that I started to be. Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars does no wrong!!! , Once again Bruno Mars succeeds to go above and beyond and make an outstanding album!! This is even better than his first album ( and that is tough title to beat!! ) but he did it, Im amazed!!
  29. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Bruno Mars - Unorthodox Juxebox:

    1. Young Girls: Amazing start. 10/10! 2. Locked Out Of Heaven: The first single. Fast and danceable: 10/10! 3.Gorilla: I love the drums on this song 9/10! 4.Treasure: Disco-Feeling! 8/10! 5.Moonshine: I don't like this song so much. Sorry 5/10! 6.When I Was Your Man: Amazing ballad! 10/10! 7.Natalie: And the next wonderful song 10/10. 8. Show Me:
    Reggae!! 9/10

    9.Money Make Her Smile: Not my favorite song. It sounds like Lady Gaga 4/10

    10: If I Knew: Final Highlight 10/10

    --> 8.5 points = 9 points. Nice work!
    Expand
  30. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    I wish everyone would stop giving reviews that are 10s and 1s, very few things are either perfect or abysmal. The numbers 2-9 do exist. I digress.

    The album is certainly different, and unique, not what his first album was, and that probably has to do with having more control over what he can and can't sing about. Locked Out of Heaven is the obvious hit, but other songs like Moonshine,
    When I was Your Man and Natalie are all just as good, and potential hits. It's a really good sophomore album. Where others have failed, Bruno Mars has succeeded. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    His second album is the same conventional mish-mash as his 6m-selling debut.
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    60
    Too many of the tracks seem more like very good imitations of song types than like actual songs.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    58
    He's an undeniable talent, desperately searching for an identity to claim as his own.