Unorthodox Jukebox Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the singer-songwriiter/producer includes production by Jeff Bhasker, Diplo, Paul Epworth, Mark Ronson, The Smeezingtons, and Andrew Wyatt.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 91
    His talent for crafting little pop perfections of all stripes is undeniable.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    All in all, this is a truly accomplished and slick pop album, but its lyrical content will probably lose Bruno Mars some sales and some of his core audience.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    77
    His highly anticipated sophomore album succeeds in mixing its safer stylistic choices with its relatively bold ideas.
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Overall, there is rather less doo-wopping on Unorthodox Jukebox, an album that, despite its title, deserves your grudging respect, and a little more hooliganism.
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    His second album is the same conventional mish-mash as his 6m-selling debut.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    While not an unqualified triumph, Unorthodox Jukebox is a step forward.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    Too bad it's a step back from Doo-Wops in so many ways, leaving people who saw promise in his debut shaking their heads in disappointment and hoping Mars can sort out his feelings about women and get back to being a sweet romancer, instead of an icky hater.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on oneNew reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on one song and an old school r&b feel on another rock and sting are present i think he is one of the most intiguing and brilliant artists of our century. Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars. That name evokes a variety of responses form people who are familiar with the name. While his fans adore him, the naysayers callBruno Mars. That name evokes a variety of responses form people who are familiar with the name. While his fans adore him, the naysayers call him too sugary and resent his omnipresence on the radio. One rapper went as far as writing about stabbing him , as you do if you don't like someone's music rather than getting on with your life. Critics use "Grenade" as an example to show how his lyrics lack depth, while "The lazy song" is often referred as "too gay".
    Despite all this, it's an undisputed fact that "Doo-Wops and Hooligans" was a big success, and turned Mars from a hit churning songwriter/producer into a global superstar, earning him a handful of prestigious awards, including a Grammy. So, no one could have faulted Mars if he had stuck to the proven formula, and produced a slew of sequels to his global hits. Instead, he has chosen to walk a path chosen by few, and produced what could turn out to be the album of the year. "Unorthodox Jukebox" bursts with the confidence of a man who feels invincible. He defies genre conventions, and isn't afraid of acknowledging his many influences. He recruits some of the best producers in the industry right now, to work with his own production team and the results show immediately. There are a few wobbles undoubtedly, but by and large, this is an undisputed success for Mars and his team. Best- Natalie, Gorilla, Show Me, When I was your man, Moonshine.
    Good- Locked out of Heaven, Young girls, Money Makes her Smile.
    Average- Treasure, If I knew.
    Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give UnorthodoxBruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give Unorthodox Jukebox a chance. There are so many different styles on this album, that it never becomes stale or boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time. Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Bruno Mars strikes back with an even better sounding album than before, fans like me should be really pleased.
  5. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the first. Catchy songs, he got this control in his songs that any artist should have. KeepSoooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the first. Catchy songs, he got this control in his songs that any artist should have. Keep goind Bruno, we are with you! Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    I'm usually hesitant to buy complete albums, especially based on only hearing one song. But based on how much I enjoyed Bruno Mars freshmanI'm usually hesitant to buy complete albums, especially based on only hearing one song. But based on how much I enjoyed Bruno Mars freshman album and the first release, "Locked Out of Heaven", off of Unorthodox Jukebox, I did. All I can say is, Smart Choice on my part. Not a bad song on the album. There are a few song with simple lyrics, but I guarantee you will be singing along. The variety of styles on the album keep you listening and never wanting to skip forward. Now, you will want to play some songs over and over again, like "Treasure", "When I was Your Man" and "Money Make Her Smile". This Sophomore album is surely going to be a favorite for Bruno Mars fans and will make some new fans as well. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Peter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songsPeter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songs caused in my ears. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews