Unpredictable

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KrisH
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    great cd, great music ... Jamie foxx is on FIRE
  2. JR
    Jan 31, 2006
    3
    Boy, a 6.4 average out of 14 user votes, yet the last SIX in a row are all 10's....what does that mean...hmm...sneaky... This record is brutal, someone needs to tell this guy he's nothing special.
  3. telisan
    Feb 13, 2006
    9
    i love this album i didnn't know jamie could be so talented and i love the beats and tempo of this album
  4. laim
    Jan 21, 2006
    3
    terrible and disappointed.
  5. KD
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Love it to death. He is bringing back love like the Isley Brothers, and soulfull sound like Luther.
  6. AJohannes
    Feb 17, 2006
    1
    How about ONE of you people tell me what R&B actually stands for....didn't think so. This is garbage.
  7. markis
    Feb 25, 2006
    8
    Different from today's usual, so you can't complain. Definatly not the best out there either, but I think he has the potential to make something memorable, so I think he should make another album.
  8. richardj
    Jun 22, 2006
    5
    I didn't think much of this album atall, the guy has a good voice but it just sounds like every other cliche R & B album(which i'm sorry is getting beyond belief people still buy sh*T like this!), Jamie claimed he was coming up with something different, well I don't see it or hear it! (All F*cking hype like Kayne "lets rip old tunes and spit lazy lyrics over it" West) Stick I didn't think much of this album atall, the guy has a good voice but it just sounds like every other cliche R & B album(which i'm sorry is getting beyond belief people still buy sh*T like this!), Jamie claimed he was coming up with something different, well I don't see it or hear it! (All F*cking hype like Kayne "lets rip old tunes and spit lazy lyrics over it" West) Stick to the acting and stop f*Cking pretending to be Ray Charles, the film's good but stop singing his hooks and then stupid assed people saying "JAmie Foxx sounds like Ray Charles", People hear me now! He doesn;t sound like Ray Charles and he will never be the legend Ray Charles is, get up off your ass and buy the greatest Ray Charles album and listen! And don't buy this heap of sh*T album Expand
  9. JimmyP
    Jan 21, 2006
    7
    Not a bad album..... It has a good production... I can't wait until his next album, hopefully he can grow with each album. Actually I think that peep this which came out in 94 wasn't a bad album, but it was cool.... Hopefully since this album was successful, it should be a good musical for foxx...
  10. pappo
    Jan 23, 2006
    2
    segui actuando
  11. Gnarles
    Jan 23, 2006
    3
    It's a shame that Foxx probably doesn't even realize the awesome irony of his album's title.
  12. JasonL
    Jan 26, 2006
    1
    Dr. Mr. Fox *stop* please *stop*
  13. BabsT
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Spanking kick ass of an album, refreshing return to the music straight from the soul.
  14. NamioiM
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    I love the new CD, he is very talented.
  15. joshuah
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    top to bottom, a true old school jam session with smooth vocals, and sultry bedtime sleepin music. put it in, listen for hours. simply amazing.
  16. aniaw
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    the best of all
  17. CharlesK
    Feb 10, 2006
    9
    Textbook R&B. I loved it!
  18. donna
    Feb 21, 2006
    3
    stick to the acting, jamie.
  19. linc
    Feb 6, 2006
    9
    Smooth, mellow and sexy. What r&b use to be but hasn't been in a very long time. Great "date" music,lol.
  20. Mel
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    This man is just so SMOOTH and FINE... His voice is to make any women melt at the knees ... Great Album ....
  21. Ihatefoxx
    Jan 23, 2006
    1
    The last thing we need is another R&B artist that has a Driven documentary saying how hard he worked to go for the gold. Just following in the footsteps of Kayne.
  22. Thetruthis...p
    Jan 26, 2006
    8
    Jamie Foxx has done a great job of putting his job together. Most r&b artists today have tried to blend thier music with rap/hip hop and failed. Foxx has the right balance of both. He is slowly bringing r/b to the top of everyone's list. His album remind me of the 90's 112, jagged edge, r.kelly, ginuwine's melody that was as popular as ever. I love this album because it is Jamie Foxx has done a great job of putting his job together. Most r&b artists today have tried to blend thier music with rap/hip hop and failed. Foxx has the right balance of both. He is slowly bringing r/b to the top of everyone's list. His album remind me of the 90's 112, jagged edge, r.kelly, ginuwine's melody that was as popular as ever. I love this album because it is trulely made for the ladies ( or for a guy tryin to get with the ladies!) My favorite songs are "DJ play a love song" , "Can I take you home" and "Do what it do". You might not like it the first time around but the 2nd or 3rd time you'll love it. Dont buy it unless you truely love sex orientated r/b. Expand
  23. seyib
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Smashing no competition right now in the rnb genre.
  24. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    3
    a great voice waisted on boring and sappy love songs, energy lacking up-beats, and upstaging guest appearences. there is one exception to this, the very sexy 2nd single "dj play a love song" is worth a download, but dont waste your time on the rest of the album
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Though he fits somewhere between R. Kelly and Ginuwine, Foxx has more than enough personality and talent to defend his music against accusations of opportunism.
  2. Unpredictable actually gets rather predictable over the course of 15 songs, too many of which begin to meld into one another.
  3. Whether he makes it all work via his musical skills or chameleonic acting ability, we don't know, but it does work.