Unto the Locust

Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    70
    Machine Head is still a force in modern heavy metal.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    90
    For metalheads who like their music sharp and executed without recourse to compromise, then this is a contender for genre album of the year.
  3. Kerrang!
    Nov 17, 2011
    100
    While Unto The Locust has much within it that will appeal to unreconstructed customers, parts of this work showcase a unit whose creative appetites are still restless and free.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    77
    Unto the Locust does fall off a bit toward the end, but that's largely because the first four tracks add up to just under 30 minutes of the most exciting metal you'll hear all year.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    90
    Unto the Locust isn't just a great album, it's an important statement that metal doesn't have to fall into trite categories or draw from pre-existing formulas to be accessible.
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    This is a gloriously brave and vibrant piece of work and the most significant metal album of 2011 by some distance.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 26, 2013
    10
    i think the album is compeletely awsome, i can not find any overrate songs in this. this is one of the best heavy metal album in 2011, anyonei think the album is compeletely awsome, i can not find any overrate songs in this. this is one of the best heavy metal album in 2011, anyone who gave this a bad score is an IDIOTTTTTTTTTT Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic album. I'm really glad that their last album "The Blackening" was not a fluke. They have found their sound finally and I love it!
  3. May 7, 2016
    9
    It's pure heavy metal. Untainted by mainstream ideals. The strength of the album comes from it's dedication to what makes the genre soIt's pure heavy metal. Untainted by mainstream ideals. The strength of the album comes from it's dedication to what makes the genre so incredible in the first place. It's heavy, emotional, and deep in it's lyrical themes. With gripping solos and metal ballads any hardcore genre enthusiast is sure to love what Machine Head is offering here. However the uncompromising nature to metal may actually be a turn off to some.

    However in the end it is their loss. This some of the most sharply executed metal that I have ever listened to that is in fact solely and completely metal in the first place. This is a fine genre piece. An example of just how compelling metal can be. With satisfying ballads, surprising emotion, and all around heaviness (both thematically and in sound) make it one heck of an incredible album.

    9.3/10
    Full Review »