• Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Untouchables Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The California alt-metal outfit finally returns with a successor to the smash hit 1999 album 'Issues.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 100
    Their best, most expansive album. [#8, p.112]
  2. 90
    It's sort of beautiful in its ugliness, a metal record lovingly buffeted by details and white noise.
  3. Even after one listen it's apparent that 'Untouchables' is a monster of a record.
  4. The riffs are cleaner and catchier than on previous records. [Aug 2002, p.126]
  5. By cutting away some of the fat and finding new ways to deliver their trademark roar, the members of Korn manage to offer a strong and lean album that maintains their place as innovators in a genre with few leaders
  6. The song, sentiment and anger remain the same.
  7. Nothing here explains the reported $4.5 million budget. [28 June 2002, p.142]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    I have been a KoRn fan for already three months, and i can´t say their records are very good (except for a few) but this one is different. It may be heavier than their other albums, and it´s very probable that you won´t understand anything until the tenth time you hear it, but it´s worth enough. Untouchables is a Heavy/Industrial/Alternative/Whatever Metal album, long and full of strength. Since the amazing Grammy-awarded Here to stay and the epic Thoughtless too the depressive ballad Alone I Break It´s a modern classic. Expand
  2. SamanthaC.
    Aug 27, 2002
    10
    Korn is the shit! I often find myself able to connect with John Davis's lyrics. You don't have to be deep to express yourself. I must say, this is their best record yet! Expand
  3. KoRnguy
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    Personally I love this album.I think it is the best after the self titled cd.Sure Jon has changed his style of singing alot,and it would be nice to hear Jon screaming his lungs out like on "good god" or "sean olsen" but isnt screaming getting old? too many bands think by screaming they can make it big, Jon is showing he can do something else other than that.And he doesnt have to leave the band like some people(corey Taylor...)this album is the heaviest instrumentally, and the clearest sounding with all their new equipment.the only thing i found dissapointing...the only thing at the end was a lame remix of "here to stay" bring back the hidden hits like"earache my eye" !!! KoRn rules!!! Expand
  4. PaulS.
    Aug 27, 2002
    9
    This album rules, so all you critics can go and fuck yourself. The onslaught of koRn is here so make way.
  5. spiked
    Feb 13, 2004
    9
    this cd has awesome songs and fast pace heavy metal
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    8
    The Untouchables album, 5th in Korns illustrious and varied career, was also their most experimental at the time, with alot of emphasis on sound effects and making the rhythm section pound harder than ever.
    While at the same time keeping the stereotypical Korn sound. Jonathons songwriting was amateur at best, but his vocal capacity is vastly improved with smooth transitions between melody and low growls.
    Its a very atmospheric album reminiscent of the FX used in Follow the Leader, but overall it doesnt live up to the classic nature of the aforementiond. It is basically the Issues album downtuned with more effects. While its nothing spectacular and is one of their lowest selling albums. Its actually very underrated, its heavy, funky, soulful, and very angry and aggressive, everything that Korn became big for. and much much more. I love this album despite its many technical flaws. Its a worthy album from an underrated band
    Expand
  7. SwingerJay
    Jul 23, 2002
    0
    Once again jon davis trying too hard to be deep, when in all reality..he isnt. I expect an apology from them to the fans for wasting their time, and money...on this shit they call music. Excuse me, where are the $$$ in the word art? Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews