Vehicles & Animals

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CheiftanM
    Jan 20, 2005
    1
    complete and utter toss. more boring than keane, and thats the biggest single achievement of this record.
  2. zeifgeist
    Jun 13, 2005
    8
    An amazingly listenable and easy-going cd. I found myself singing along from the first listen. Songs flow one into the next, almost repetitve, but then break of into wholely original entities. This album occupies some strange place between indie and mainsteam pop; slacker-like vocal and musical styles meld beautifully with anthemic waves, but neither ever completely takes over the other. An amazingly listenable and easy-going cd. I found myself singing along from the first listen. Songs flow one into the next, almost repetitve, but then break of into wholely original entities. This album occupies some strange place between indie and mainsteam pop; slacker-like vocal and musical styles meld beautifully with anthemic waves, but neither ever completely takes over the other. Great stuff! Expand
  3. OliverP
    Jun 20, 2005
    4
    This album flatters to decieve for me. They are sometimes mildly witty, but the songs are on the whole very dull and bland, almost sleep-inducing at times.
  4. RosieG
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    This band is absolutly amazing, how anyone call call it 'utter toss' is beyond me. Its hard to describe the music, my advice, just listen to it and you'll understand how good it is. Watch out for 'Tourist', they're new album, out soon :)
  5. Seamuss
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    A Complete difference from their stunning sophmore effort. This is one of the most accesable and original pop albums I've heard in years. Theres nothing forced about this album. It flows with the ease of a seasoned band and is one of the best Debuts i've ever heard. Brilliant.
  6. May 14, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly good. An impressive debut that celebrates the rock scene of the 70s to the present day. Sometimes too happy and too intelligent for its own good.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    It's the laziest of comparisons, but their harmonies--and they do it expertly live, so fear not--do have the ring of The Beach Boys. [May 2003, p.99]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Catchy, almost childish verses suggest the playfulness of U.S. acts like the Flaming Lips. [28 May 2004, p.127]
  3. Mojo
    70
    [A] breezy conflation of Beta Band-esque jollity, default indie guitar chime and High Llamas-style retro melody. [May 2003, p.95]