• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Volta Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The typically eclectic guest lineup on Bjork's first studio album in three years includes Timbaland, a ten-piece all-female horn section, and members of Konono No. 1, Lightning Bolt, Antony & The Johnsons, and LFO.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. As with much of her past work, it’s almost embarrassingly human, sometimes sounding too close to you to believe it’s not your own.
  2. Even as the music settles into some of the visionary Icelandic artist's familiar contours, she stirs in enough new ingredients to keep things moving.
  3. Initial listens leave the impression that Volta is a top-heavy release, but as with Vespertine repeat visitations see the record smoothing and flattening out, with consistency becoming apparent over a shorter period of time than with many a Bjork LP before it.
  4. 70
    Her vision is worth the price of submission. [Jun 2007, p.90]
  5. Volta is arguably Bjork's loosest and most ruminative record, and though it touches on everything she's ever done, it's not as gripping or coherent as her best stuff.
  6. Volta is her most accessible album in years, even if it is sometimes at the expense of its own best interest.
  7. Fans might find it a fascinating revelation, and Madonna will likely swipe a few ideas, while everyone else is left wondering what happened to the tunes.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 76
  2. Negative: 8 out of 76
  1. CorneV
    May 19, 2007
    10
    The first time I heard Volta I thought it was just okay. But after several listenings I think it's brilliant. Every tune grows on me. The first time I heard Volta I thought it was just okay. But after several listenings I think it's brilliant. Every tune grows on me. Even the slower songs are amazing (although they were the ones I thought of as just okay in the beginning) Not her best album (I can't decide which one that is...) but certainly a classic! Expand
  2. BM
    May 8, 2007
    10
    I seem to find the joy out of this records that the critics don't. The moments of beauty in this record "The Dull Flame Of Desire" & I seem to find the joy out of this records that the critics don't. The moments of beauty in this record "The Dull Flame Of Desire" & "Vertebrae by Vertebrae" matched with the ferocity and driven songs as "Innocence" & "Declare Independence" suggest a fond welcome back to the Bjork we all knew from Debut - Homogenic. Impressive record from one of the most important forces in Music today. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Fantastic, massive, true, limitless, full of hope, full of energy... Volta has a beauty in not a normal way, it lives not in you ,but, throughFantastic, massive, true, limitless, full of hope, full of energy... Volta has a beauty in not a normal way, it lives not in you ,but, through you, all around you... It`s eternal like energy itself. Expand
  4. TPJ
    May 17, 2007
    8
    The more you listen, the more you'll love. Certainly better than the rather average Medulla but nowhere near as good as her earlier The more you listen, the more you'll love. Certainly better than the rather average Medulla but nowhere near as good as her earlier stuff, then again not much is. Expand
  5. Rodi
    May 17, 2007
    7
    The album starts out brilliantly! But during the second half it's like she loses focus and the album becomes dull and, exept for The album starts out brilliantly! But during the second half it's like she loses focus and the album becomes dull and, exept for "Declare Independance", uninteresting. Expand
  6. HenryV
    May 15, 2007
    5
    I consider myself a huge Bjork fan. I love all her previous albums and never found any of them particularly hard to get into. So I am sad to I consider myself a huge Bjork fan. I love all her previous albums and never found any of them particularly hard to get into. So I am sad to report that Volta is a big disappointment. I pretty much agree with many of the detractors: shoddy production, lack of true songwriting, lack of interesting melody, vague concept, and an overall unfinished feeling. For the first time, it feels like she just released an album because she was obligated to. There are a few moments with some potential that never fully materialize ("Wanderlust", "Dull Flame of Desire", "I See Who You Are", "Vertebrae by Vertebrae", "Pneumonia"). After about a dozen listens, the only track that fully satisfies, but still ranks in the medium range of Bjork greatness is "Earth Intruders". I hope she sits down and really hashes out some great music for the next album. Volta is so not worthy of her legacy. But maybe she needed to make this album to cleanse her musical palate. I guess every artist is entitled to one lemon. Expand
  7. YukaT
    May 11, 2007
    0
    I am a HUGE Bjork Fan. I loved her ever since her debut. Fell in love with Hyperballad, Joga, Bachlorette, Isobel, just to name a few. Adored I am a HUGE Bjork Fan. I loved her ever since her debut. Fell in love with Hyperballad, Joga, Bachlorette, Isobel, just to name a few. Adored the entire Vespertine - I have all her CDs and DVDs. VOLTA is such a disappointment. I was looking forward to it and couldn't believe how bored I was. I decided to give it 3 listens and each time, I got less impressed. The lyrics are not nearly as thoughtful and elegant as her previous works and the melodies seem like rehashs of her older material. Her phrasing is sloppy and form is largely non-existent. I even tried to listen to it with pure experimentation in mind.... and I decided that sure, it might be alright if this was her personal little musical diary, but I don't think this album even deserved to be manufactured. I wanted to return this CD, but unfortunately, music store policies won't allow that. I'm soooo dissapointed. I hope the next one will be better. IN the meantime, I"ll listen to all the albums up until Vespertine. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews