• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: May 7, 2013
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    7
    This album continues the same spirit of the previous ones made by the collaboration of Zooey Deschanel (Yeah, the cute girl from New Girl and Indie movie [500] Days Of Summer) and M. Ward. In contrast to their earlier records, this one is more mature, maybe because it was the first release since Zooey Deschanel and her her husband, Ben Gibbard from Death Cab For Cutie, separated. The musicThis album continues the same spirit of the previous ones made by the collaboration of Zooey Deschanel (Yeah, the cute girl from New Girl and Indie movie [500] Days Of Summer) and M. Ward. In contrast to their earlier records, this one is more mature, maybe because it was the first release since Zooey Deschanel and her her husband, Ben Gibbard from Death Cab For Cutie, separated. The music may sound sweet, but the songs' lyrics are about togetherness and separations, which make you wonder what the hell Ben Gibbard was thinking about when they divorced

    http://5songsperartist.blogspot.co.il/2013/05/volume-3-she-him-review.html
    Expand
  2. May 10, 2013
    7
    Nothing essential, but if, like me, you enjoy going on long walks when it's sunny, or sitting in the garden with a cold beer, then this is the perfect soundtrack. Hits its stride in the middle, so if you're not particularly enamoured by the first third of the album, don't be put off. It's got that whole summer-of-love sound going on, and Deschanel proves herself to be much more than thatNothing essential, but if, like me, you enjoy going on long walks when it's sunny, or sitting in the garden with a cold beer, then this is the perfect soundtrack. Hits its stride in the middle, so if you're not particularly enamoured by the first third of the album, don't be put off. It's got that whole summer-of-love sound going on, and Deschanel proves herself to be much more than that actress trying her hand at music; she sounds completely at home against M. Ward's sunny backdrop. So basically it's like a 2013 version of Allo Darlin's 'Europe' except not quite as good. But if you've got nothing better to do one afternoon this summer, stick this on it's what it was made for. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing! The first 3 quarters of this album is so wonderful. The last quarter is just ok at worse but it is still really good. The singing with Zooey is great as always. She has a very calming and diverse voice. M. Ward does a great job too with his guitar that has that unique surfer feel to it but still very relaxing. I wish there were more louder songs and this had aThis album is amazing! The first 3 quarters of this album is so wonderful. The last quarter is just ok at worse but it is still really good. The singing with Zooey is great as always. She has a very calming and diverse voice. M. Ward does a great job too with his guitar that has that unique surfer feel to it but still very relaxing. I wish there were more louder songs and this had a little more quiet ones but even the quiet ones sound calming and meaningful. I want to say this is my favorite She & Him album but I feel volume 2 beats this just by a little. I'd still listen to this anything.

    Favorite tracks: Never wanted your love, I could've been your girl, Turn to white, and way more

    not my favorite: Sunday Girl
    Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2014
    9
    Although this album doesn't differ greatly from its two predecessors, what I noticed is that this album has a heavier and more commercial sound, but still retains the effortlessness and sweetness of the two previous records. Not really my fave She & Him album, but this is worth a listen. Love this.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    It still feels a bit hammy. [Jul 2013, p.96]
  2. May 28, 2013
    70
    The third chapter in She & Him’s discography won’t convert those who dislike the genre and it won’t alienate fans of it either.
  3. May 22, 2013
    74
    3 shows a slightly darker side of the squeaky-clean She.