Voyage To India - India.Arie
Voyage To India Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The neo-soul singer/songwriter/guitarist follows the unexpected mega-success of her 2001 debut 'Acoustic Soul' with this 15-track sophomore effort.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. This new soul still sounds fresh.
  2. Voyage to India is a continuation of India's musical journey, a natural progression, the reflection of an artist's love for her art and its divine connection to life.
  3. It's a record that easily equals her debut, boasting better vocal performances but also better songwriting and accompanying production.
  4. A collection of bright acoustic guitars, sumptuous bass lines, earthy midrange singing and lyrics that often have the deep emotions and romantic notions of a teenage girl's diary.
  5. 60
    Much of Voyage to India is a soporific swath of happy-hour wallpaper. [#11, p.127]
  6. It's like you're listening to the same tempo and volume for 52.5 minutes when you really wanted a variety show.
  7. 20
    On her underwhelming second album, we realise how nu-sould would sound stripped of all sonic invention, mischief and sensuality. [Dec 2002, p.151]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. sharons
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    This is an amzing cd, she is a great artist! I love her
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this album. Well constructed and thought of. I am massive fan of the form of a song reflecting the content, so when I hear aI absolutely love this album. Well constructed and thought of. I am massive fan of the form of a song reflecting the content, so when I hear a song like Complicated Melody where the melody is so complicated she "almost cannot sing it on key", I will be putting that on replay for a week! The interludes of Growth, Healing and Gratitude really acts as home after really going on a voyage with the track list. My personal favourite would be Slow Down, as I felt that particular song spoke to me at the time I listened to this album and that is extremely rare for me. Truly phenomenal. Expand
  3. NikkiS
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal! She remains true to herself while showing growth and development at the same time. Her words and music have the power Absolutely phenomenal! She remains true to herself while showing growth and development at the same time. Her words and music have the power to touch the soul, lift spirits, and make the heart's feelings tangible. I cannot say enough good things about the album or India.Arie. Expand
  4. Are'YanaM
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Ilove india. she is the bomb!!! every thing that she sings/writes about is postive. i also like how she love god. and i love how all of her Ilove india. she is the bomb!!! every thing that she sings/writes about is postive. i also like how she love god. and i love how all of her song are original and deep at the same time!!!! This album is off the hook!!! Expand
  5. vaneciaP
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    this album is amazing and so is india arie. her words and her voice are beautiful. i don't see how anyone could find fault in it.she this album is amazing and so is india arie. her words and her voice are beautiful. i don't see how anyone could find fault in it.she really is a talented person. Collapse
  6. AGraham
    Oct 3, 2002
    9
    Holding tough through the frustrating world of packaged music, this "Voyage..." has found me "Slow[ing] Down" to smiling at the "Little Holding tough through the frustrating world of packaged music, this "Voyage..." has found me "Slow[ing] Down" to smiling at the "Little Things" in life and India. Arie, one of a new generation of great song writers, has kept one music listener satisfied. Although her "preachy" lyrical content may be too much for some, her words seem no more than genuine and honest (After all what is an "artist" without anything of value to say?). She has brought another soulful knock-out line-up of songs to the ears of pop[ular] music listeners. Passing by the recent hubris saturated, "real" (as she was reluctant to reiterate over and over on her MTV presentation of "Unplugged") diva Lauryn Hill, the music world is ready for an uplifting and REAL artist like India.Arie. With such theraputic words of "Get It Together" and melodic artistry "Talk to Her", this album, as her debut "Acoustic Soul" does/did, deserves great recognition for her efforts to bring happiness to people through a universal language... music. Expand
  7. BethyB.
    Oct 2, 2002
    8
    In a nutshell, a CD you won't be sorry you bought. I'ts much better than her last one, and that's saying something.

See all 18 User Reviews