User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    Utterly amazing lyrically but the production takes away from a potential classic rap album. Alot of the beats sound uninspired and lack that professional touch that established producers possess. Pharoahe Monch strayed from them on this album and paid the price for an unclear reason. Nonetheless the album is still very good and caters to lovers of complex creative hip-hop lyricism at itsUtterly amazing lyrically but the production takes away from a potential classic rap album. Alot of the beats sound uninspired and lack that professional touch that established producers possess. Pharoahe Monch strayed from them on this album and paid the price for an unclear reason. Nonetheless the album is still very good and caters to lovers of complex creative hip-hop lyricism at its finest. A must-have and a must-listen for Pharoahe's fans and hip-hop heads respectively. Expand
  2. NJR
    Mar 22, 2011
    9
    3 out of 3, credit where credit is due, the guys a beast! Probably his most focused work yet, the production suited the themes of the album perfectly and his rhyming....well is it ever anything less than sublime? Since the first Organized Konfusion LP this dude has been in my list of top MC's and to be honest, I think he always will be.
  3. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    A truely great rap album. Pharoahe demonstrates his lyrical ability and shows he has real talent, and hopefully staying power in hip-hop. With great sounds mixed in the unique songs and reputable accomplices on the album, this one is a gem.
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    If you're into Queen's Bridge style/NYC Underground hip-hop, Pharoahe Monch's new album, W.A.R., is going to be a refreshing break from the Y.M.C.M. overrun airwaves. Pharoahe recalls the breaks, thoughtful lyrics, and energy that made his now old Organized Konfusion such a break out album. In a time where folks are more likely to download the singles and ignore the album, W.A.R. standsIf you're into Queen's Bridge style/NYC Underground hip-hop, Pharoahe Monch's new album, W.A.R., is going to be a refreshing break from the Y.M.C.M. overrun airwaves. Pharoahe recalls the breaks, thoughtful lyrics, and energy that made his now old Organized Konfusion such a break out album. In a time where folks are more likely to download the singles and ignore the album, W.A.R. stands to be listened to from beginning to end to really appreciate what has happened on it...which is a top notch drop. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    Anytime I think of underrated rappers, Pharoahe Monch is usually the first name that pops in my head. He is criminally underrated, mainly because up until this album he had only released 2 albums in 10 years. It's a shame, because lyrically Monch is one of the best rappers of all time. Of course, mainstream success isn't based on how lyrically gifted you are, but rather your productionAnytime I think of underrated rappers, Pharoahe Monch is usually the first name that pops in my head. He is criminally underrated, mainly because up until this album he had only released 2 albums in 10 years. It's a shame, because lyrically Monch is one of the best rappers of all time. Of course, mainstream success isn't based on how lyrically gifted you are, but rather your production as well as WHAT it is you rap about. If you aren't rapping about money, cars, and b***es you won't sell many records. Pharoahe is clearly aware of this, and a lot this album is an assault on the mainstream in general. If you're a fan of "real hip-hop" like myself, than you'll likely embrace this album with open arms. From the intro, it's clear that the theme of this album is a fictional apolocalypse set in the near future. The opening track "Calculated Amalgamation" sets this tone properly. The beat is heavy, loud, and well... apocolyptic. After this track though is "Evolve" which is one of the best tracks on the album. This is when Monch really starts to flex his lyrical muscle, as well as his flawless delivery and flow. Having great, meaningful lyrics is one thing, but nobody delivers a verse quite like Monch. One of my favorite moments of Evolve is when he raps, "the legacy by which the entire world remembers me/quote, do not edit me; let it be said/ I'm top 5 ALL TIME or/ we know that's misstated it's so overused/so here's an overview of why I'm 6 feet over you/and a million fans think this statement is overdue/and pardon if it sounds a little wheezy/not Wayne' muthafu**a, I got asthama it's not easy". It's a headspinning display of wordplay that few rappers can pull off. I've listened to this song more times than I can count, and I just discovered that Monch makes a Pan's Labrynth reference when he raps, "I speak of world peace, wars, famine, and flood/watching Pan's Labrynth while I'm unraveling bud." There aren't too many rappers that would have the slightest clue about what that movie is. Monch is simply way over most people's heads, and that's why I love him. He has zero concern or mainstream success or radioplay. He spends another song "Hitman" assaulting the mainstream, pop culture, and the people who are obsessed with this. "Let My People Go" is another one of my favorite tracks. On this song Monch takes the role of a preacher, complete with the diction and delivery you would expect from a passionate preacher. Only Monch could do this so effortlessly. The following two tracks after Let My People Go are also excellent. "Shine" and "Halie Selassie Karate" are both great in their own way. The final two tracks of the album are a strong way to close the album. "The Grand Illusion (Circa 1973)" is a bold track that features Citizen Cope. It has a powerful entry point on Monch's first verse. "I rediscovered by soul between the lines inside my journal/trapped inside a pen state of mind, Joe Paterno". So many rappers beat that structure of a bar to death, but Monch does it without being corny at all. The final track "Still Standing" featuring Jill Scott, has Monch reflecting on his childhood and struggles with asthma. It's another example of how Monch is still down to earth despite being a fairly successful rapper for the past decade. There is no ego on this album. The album is far from perfect though. The title track features Immortal Technique and it is godawful. It sounds like a really bad M.O.P. song (for the record... I can't stand M.O.P.). Assassins is another overrated track in my opinion. Royce da 5'9 and Jean Grae are very poor versions of Monch as far as lyrics go, so they seem a little out of place and overmatched on this song. Despite these 2 low points, and a tone that just sounds a liiiitttle too bitter at times, this is a strong album. It isn't as good as Internal Affairs or Desire, but it's still a solid album for Monch to add to his limited catalog of music. Hopefully, it won't be another 5 years before we hear from Monch again. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    80
    This strong, satisfying, often stunning third release proves he can deliver the goods.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    W.A.R. is only his third project in over ten years. If you're going to pursue quality over quantity you better deliver quality, and thankfully W.A.R. is nothing but quality.
  3. Jun 9, 2011
    60
    Undoubtedly ambitious, drawing on soul, jazz and squalling rock, the best moments keep the focus on Monche's own voice, with Shine's radical poetry reminiscent of veteran firebrands The Last Poets. [May 2011, p.112]