Warrior - Ke$ha
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Warrior Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Iggy Pop sings a duet on the second full-length release produced by Dr. Luke for the dance-pop singer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 88
    By stomping just at the edge of parental propriety and sneaking in (mostly) well-crafted lyrics, her new record confirms her place as the loosest of the dance divas, one who not only preaches on the art of the party like few since Andrew W.K., but who also delivers the message through inventive, beat-heavy musical cannonballs, most produced by hitmaker Dr. Luke, that pummel with pleasure.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    It's a wall-to-wall party for the freaks, burnouts, outcasts, and misfits and if you don't get it that's your fault, not hers.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    Anyone up for giving her a second chance--or recognizing she has actual singing, writing, and performing talent--just might be pleasantly surprised.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    Taken as a whole, this is another surprisingly enjoyable album from a pop singer who has managed to broaden her approach without losing her USP.
  5. 70
    There's no revelation here, only strong fun.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Warrior, a moderate improvement of her disappointing debut Animal. [Jan 2013, p.106]
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    40
    Auto-Tune, deployed all over the record, turns Kesha's voice into a robo-squawk, and not in a good way.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the year, and definitely the best pop album of the year. It has so many standout tracks, they are all good. Recommend it strongly. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This album is catchy, inventive, and fun! There is a huge variety of style when it comes to this album and Ke$ha has shown that she doesn't "always" need autotune. There are those meant-for-radio songs such as "Die Young" and "C'mon" but then there are those more slow paced and alternative type songs. I would definitely recommend getting the deluxe version because those extra tracks are some of the best ones. It really is a pop album with alternative and rock influences. I would give this album a listen and see for yourself! Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Honestly this is Ke$has best album, and one of the best albums to come out of 2012! Definatly a step up from the Animal/Cannibal era, and if your a big fan of pop music or even a big Ke$ha fan i'd advise to to buy it right now! As a big fan of Ke$ha myself (Yes i bought it the day it came out) i cant help but get those lyrics stuck in my head, everything from beautifully written lyrics to amazing chorus' the album is a must! As if you bought/heard anything from the Animal/Cannibal era, auto-tune may have turned you away but Ke$ha drops the auto-tune for this album, here's a track by track review just incase you'd like to know more or just buy songs individually on iTunes.
    Track One WARRIOR Warrior is a great way to start off the album, between the insperational and powerfull lyrics this song is amazing! Definatly one of the highlights in my opionion!
    Track Two DIE YOUNG -
    Die Young is the second track and also the lead single, this song is great and really catchy. Im obsessed with it since it premiered and if you haven't heard this yet you must be living under a rock.
    Track Three C'MON -
    C'mon is the albums second single and thrid track. C'mon is one of my favourites also on the album its super catchy and really fun to sing along to. Although it hasnt done to well on the charts yet, im sure you will love it!
    Track Four THINKING OF YOU -
    Thinking Of You showcases the rock/pop genre Ke$ha was talking about for this album. Its a break-up song and has really humourous lyrics and is sure to get you singing along! Although the song isnt one of my favourites, i still really like the verses very much!
    Track Five CRAZY KIDS -
    Crazy Kids is definatly single worthy and a radio smash for summer. Im in love with this song its definatly a must if you haven't heard it yet, one of the albums highlights for sure!
    Track Six WHEREVER YOU ARE -
    Wherever You Are is a love song, perfectly wrote and really good song overall. This really shows Ke$has vocal ability and how she can write about more than just partying, this song is one of my favourites on 'Warrior'.
    Track Seven DIRTY LOVE Dirty Love, uhm in still not to sure about this, it hasnt quite grown on me yet, although i really love the chorus' and the verses i just cant find myself loving this yet. If your a rock fan this song will definatly suit you but it's not quite for me.
    Track Eight WONDERLAND -
    Wonderland is really good, its a slowed down song and shows a really different side to Ke$ha. The lyrics and singing in this song are amazing and if your into slow songs then this is for you.
    Track Nine ONLY WANNA DANCE WITH YOU -
    Only Wanna Dance With You has kind of an 80's vibe to it. Its a really up-beat and catchy track and i really like it but its not one of my favourites if im honest.
    Track Ten SUPERNATURAL -
    Ok, Supernatural... its just amazing. I honestly cant put into words how amazing this song is. Dr. Luke leaked a 40 second snippit of this back in July 2012 to preview what 'Warrior' would be like, when 'Warrior' was eventually released from the word go i was hooked to this! The beat is kind of hypnotic and its really amazing work, the lyrics are also very catchy. It's rumoured to be the 3rd single from the album and will definatly do well in the charts!
    Track Eleven ALL THAT MATTERS (THE BEAUTIFUL LIFE)
    All That Matters is a dance track. Although its nothing like anything from Animal/Cannibal, its definatly a Ke$ha song! This will definatly be a hit on her tour this summer with the lines like ''Put your motherf**king phones up/light um' up''
    Track Twelve LOVE INTO THE LIGHT -
    Another slowed down song and another side to Ke$ha, Love Into The Light is an amazing song but i just cant find my way around some of the lyrics, but overall a really good track.

    DELUXE EDITION TRACKS
    Track Thirteen LAST GOODBYE -
    If you got the deluxe edition like i did, you probably heard these songs. Last Goodbye is definatly single worthy and one of the albums highlights! Its just amazing, the beat, the lyrics, everything i love it!
    Track Fourteen GOLD TRANS AM -
    Gold Trans Am is definatly more rock direction and will be amazing on the tour. The lyrics are very funny and extreamly catchy i just cant help myself going around singing them.
    Track Fifteen OUT ALIVE -
    Out Alive would be a definate radio hit. Although in most reviews this track hasn't been reviewed well, i think its an amazing party track and very clever lyric wise.
    Track Sixteen PAST LIVES -
    Past Lives is definatly my least favourite, its a really good song lyrically but i just can't find a way to like this track.

    So if you've read down to here, you have read alot, sorry this took up so much but i tried as much as i could to review it! If you liked the review and thinking about buying it, buy it! If your going to buy some tracks off iTunes, do it! Highlights are definatly Warrior,Crazy Kids,Supernatural and Last Goodbye and the two released singles! Thanks for reading!
    Collapse
  4. pdf
    Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Ke$ha has actually released a sophomore album that actually is better than it's predecessor! 'Warrior' is far more varied, more danceable, and a (tiny) bit more mature her previous efforts. I was a little unsure since "Die Young" is very much the same as her previous songs but the Iggy Pop collab 'Dirty Love' is so much fun that it instantly changed my mind! If you are a fan of Ke$ha, it's worth it; if you would rather her just put out same top 40 stuff, then you may be disappointed. Much more rock tempos and electro beats on this one. Party on, party Animals!!! Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Desculpa para a maioria do público, o auto tune nesse álbum vem em uma taxa bem menor do que em trabalhos antigos. Warrior nada mais é que um álbum forte, com músicas feitas para hitar, letras e batidas animadas e surpreendentes. Supernatural, All The Matters e Crazy Kids mostram fortemente a personalidade musical de Ke$ha que em nenhum momento foi corrompida durante os anos em que ela esteve presente no mercado musical . A balada Last Goodbye, com uma composição simples, porém unida com o instrumental e a voz, soa como um "love song adolescente", o suficiente para produzir pequenos apertos no coração de quem ouve. Ke$ha, mais do que nunca, se demonstrou uma grande artista, merecedora de bons charts. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the album. Standout tracks are "Love Into the Light" - which borrows heavily from Collins' "In the Air Tonight" you could almost hum it along - "Dirty Love" and "Last Goodbye". I tend to underestimate Ke$ha's ability to create great records, I've been proven wrong again. And that makes me even happier. Take a listen, and hear the party vibe within it! Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    A clear sign of trying to mature from her first album, but in the worst possible way. The music is still bad, only this time it's not anywhere nearly as fun. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews