• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 261

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matt
    May 24, 2006
    1
    complete and utter rubbish.
  2. Donners
    May 30, 2006
    2
    Zzzzzzz. Sorry I fell asleep.
  3. JR
    May 23, 2006
    2
    Look, are you kidding me here? This is GARBAGE. This guy spouts off with all sorts of proclamations about how his record will stand with the best of the last two decades...This is putrid, embarassing (oh wait...forgot who we're dealing with) garbage. Adding fade/delay/phaser pedals and other DATED uninspired electronic "influences" to a bunch of completely ignorant, preposterous Look, are you kidding me here? This is GARBAGE. This guy spouts off with all sorts of proclamations about how his record will stand with the best of the last two decades...This is putrid, embarassing (oh wait...forgot who we're dealing with) garbage. Adding fade/delay/phaser pedals and other DATED uninspired electronic "influences" to a bunch of completely ignorant, preposterous attempted proclamations that serve as lyrics does not make an album of any worth, nor one that would be on any sort of label if not for previous sins against eardrums... Collapse
  4. JohnH
    May 24, 2006
    0
    Thanx for nothin Tom. It's weak boring and nowhere up to standard of the hype. Everyone who didn't check out blink-182's last CD probably should now and avoid this failure.
  5. MusicCritic
    May 25, 2006
    0
    Okay folks, first off I will say that I think this guy did try to make a good album. Now, Someone shoot me, my ears are bleeding, my god my ears are bleeding. This is so bad I'm scared. It's like the end of the world or something. I can't breath, this music is sewer garbage from satin's azz. Delonge find a hole in the ground, crawl in it and rot away. This is a pile of Okay folks, first off I will say that I think this guy did try to make a good album. Now, Someone shoot me, my ears are bleeding, my god my ears are bleeding. This is so bad I'm scared. It's like the end of the world or something. I can't breath, this music is sewer garbage from satin's azz. Delonge find a hole in the ground, crawl in it and rot away. This is a pile of ardvarch dunge. Expand
  6. DaveA
    May 27, 2006
    1
    witless and passionless.
  7. davedave
    Sep 7, 2006
    0
    bad very bad
  8. TimP
    May 24, 2006
    0
    This album could have passed by, under the radar with superficial Blink fans enjoying it and serious music fans ignoring it. But since Tom Delonge decided he was going to call this the best music he has ever HEARD he has over hyped a pretty bad album. He clearly wants to be taken seriously, but he'll find more success with the pop-punk garbage that teenagers love instead of making a This album could have passed by, under the radar with superficial Blink fans enjoying it and serious music fans ignoring it. But since Tom Delonge decided he was going to call this the best music he has ever HEARD he has over hyped a pretty bad album. He clearly wants to be taken seriously, but he'll find more success with the pop-punk garbage that teenagers love instead of making a 'progressive' album. And comparing the break up of your crappy band (Blink) to a war (WWII) is a complete slap across the face to anyone who has ever served in the military. This is a concept album in which DeLonge goes through a warzone to find love, and DeLonge has proudly declared it an analogy for the break up of Blink. Sickening. Expand
  9. DevinB
    May 26, 2006
    1
    Wheras Blink 182 was always hollow but had some memorable hooks and moments of irresistable enthusiasm, Angels & Airwaves is a shameful failure on all counts, a truly baffling record that manages to be exemplary of the problems plaguing the music industry today AND sound dated at the same time. Sorry, Tom. Recognize your limitations. You might want to shoot a little lower next time; maybe Wheras Blink 182 was always hollow but had some memorable hooks and moments of irresistable enthusiasm, Angels & Airwaves is a shameful failure on all counts, a truly baffling record that manages to be exemplary of the problems plaguing the music industry today AND sound dated at the same time. Sorry, Tom. Recognize your limitations. You might want to shoot a little lower next time; maybe try your hand at bussing tables? Expand
  10. DonT
    May 30, 2006
    0
    Unbearable, even from a massive Box Car Racer and Blink fan!
  11. JennaP
    Jun 18, 2006
    2
    This record is terrible. I foolishly half-believed Tom and his hype. I figured he had good intentions and with members from BCR, The Offspring, and The Distillers how bad could it possibly be? I didn't think it was going to be this pretentious pile of psuedo-U2 crap. AVA aren't going to be saving anything, especially rock and roll, with lyrics like 'your best friend is not This record is terrible. I foolishly half-believed Tom and his hype. I figured he had good intentions and with members from BCR, The Offspring, and The Distillers how bad could it possibly be? I didn't think it was going to be this pretentious pile of psuedo-U2 crap. AVA aren't going to be saving anything, especially rock and roll, with lyrics like 'your best friend is not your girlfriend'. Don't waste your money, instead invest it in something worthwhile like the new Thursday CD. Expand
  12. Mike
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    revolutionary not likely it's been done before, if i wanted to buy a u2 cd i'd go out and get one. i had high hopes for angels and airwaves but who the hell is tom trying to be now. for all the blink fans that loved tom for being the goofy yet talented singer, telling me that going to an ava concert is like ascending into heaven is absolutely retarded.
  13. mattsi
    Aug 3, 2006
    0
    this album is terrible. get over yourselves. this is a blantant ripoff of early u2 and the cure. not timeless at all, and not saving anything.
  14. ChrisV
    Jan 3, 2007
    3
    They must've really liked that clean guitar sound since it's used in every song. To me, all the tracks sound too much alike to be alright. There's a difference between a theme, and writing the same song ten times.
  15. MattB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    3
    Basically, this is a rubbish album. There isn't much that is good about it. The music is boring and nothing we haven't heard before. The lyrics are basic and weak. And Tom DeLonge is an pretentious, annoying American. And they're awful live.
  16. LiamR.
    Aug 8, 2007
    0
    Just one long, whiny piece of crap, really. Seems like Tom Delonge is trying too hard to prove himself as an artist, to me. All the songs sound the same!
  17. Pete
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    This album shows just how horrible America's music has become. This album, straight up, sucks. They have one good song, The Adventure. They took that song and just based an entire album around the same beat. Tom Delonge is not a good musician anymore. Musically, this album is just, the worst thing to come out in the past 30 years. Tom hyped up his album so much, to much it was a This album shows just how horrible America's music has become. This album, straight up, sucks. They have one good song, The Adventure. They took that song and just based an entire album around the same beat. Tom Delonge is not a good musician anymore. Musically, this album is just, the worst thing to come out in the past 30 years. Tom hyped up his album so much, to much it was a complete disappointment. It's funny how gullible the general public is to call this mess of an album: "music". If god wrote this album, then god doesn't know what music is. Sorry AVA fans, but you are all tools. Expand
  18. BenC
    Dec 2, 2006
    0
    I bought the last Blink record on the day it came out, and my bandmate and i were extemely excited to hear the follow up on this project that has taken something like what? 3 years? The Adventure was interesting but when i saw the video, read what Tom was " trying to do" and heard the rest of the album i almost shit a fucking brick. It's absolutley the most hidious whiney shit I bought the last Blink record on the day it came out, and my bandmate and i were extemely excited to hear the follow up on this project that has taken something like what? 3 years? The Adventure was interesting but when i saw the video, read what Tom was " trying to do" and heard the rest of the album i almost shit a fucking brick. It's absolutley the most hidious whiney shit i've ever heard. Unfortunatly i don't know if it's his fault. I think that maybe his wife toldhim she was tired of blink or something. Maybe Blink wasn't selling enough records, who knows? But anyone who betrays his friends has no respect from me, FUCK TOM! Expand
  19. TS
    May 23, 2006
    0
    lame.
  20. JayS
    May 25, 2006
    3
    Tom, please get unstuck from the 80's.
  21. michaelw
    May 26, 2006
    1
    honestly...this a huge dissapointment and didnt get a bit of satisfaction out of listening to this album, these guys have nothing on blink.
  22. FrankL
    May 27, 2006
    0
    absolutely crap
  23. TomW
    May 31, 2006
    0
    Embarrasing. Buy the new Secret Machines album. Or the old one. Or anything else. Tom Delonge is a menace.
  24. IanC
    Jun 12, 2006
    3
    its not all bad, but unfortunately i just cant listen to 12 songs that almost all sound identical. best songs are: good day, it hurts, the adventure. but honestly i can only stand to listen to 1 song at a time or else his whiny voice, makes me want to punch babies.
  25. TheCriticTheCritic
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Very dissapointing. Maybe this guy should actually get singing lessons. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE crap and I very much like saying so.
  26. DaveK
    Jun 26, 2006
    1
    Yikes, for all the hype they (Tom Delonge) gave it, it sure doesnt pan out to anything really. The radio song is bland as ever, don't really know why they dont stick to their old stuff. Last Blink album was horrible too, I understand a band wanting to explore new options but you dont mess with proven success.
  27. ArroyoSD
    Jun 5, 2006
    2
    Pure rubbish. Tom trying way too hard to be serious, to be something that has already been done. This band and album will be forgotten. Overproduced, overhyped, garbage. Blink-U2 light.
  28. AndrewW
    Jun 7, 2006
    1
    lame-ass 80s guitar noodling + lame-ass nü-emo noodling = GOLD
  29. Garrett
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    hey, we're the emo U2, buy our album. Not the worst thing I've ever heard, but it's bad. Tom's bragging about how revolutionary this dull album would be only makes it worse.
  30. Dave
    Jun 9, 2006
    0
    Someone said "Amazing cd. just dont expect the old blink." that person gave it a 10...so does old blink get an 11 or something? I swear Tom cant do anything b by himself...wheres Mark when you need him... someone also said "Great, consistant album, Toms voice is amazing" Just how amazing is his voice? so amazing I could sing instead of him and probably sound better. I think i was back in Someone said "Amazing cd. just dont expect the old blink." that person gave it a 10...so does old blink get an 11 or something? I swear Tom cant do anything b by himself...wheres Mark when you need him... someone also said "Great, consistant album, Toms voice is amazing" Just how amazing is his voice? so amazing I could sing instead of him and probably sound better. I think i was back in the 80's when I starting listening to it...I think boy bands music is more tolerable then this crap =) Expand
  31. RockSucks
    Jul 22, 2006
    0
    Thank god for Hip-Hop
  32. MatthewH
    Aug 27, 2006
    2
    Somewhere between the part where Tom sung the lyric "It hurts" twenty times in a row, to the point where I realized that each song was composed of a single 4 second sample being repeated over and over again; I kind of missed the half of the album that God wrote.
  33. ChuckH
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    Yeah, when i listened to this album, all I heard was cure bass lines, its a complete cure and U2 ripoff. This is just another shit american record, if you want real music you need to look elsewhere!
  34. EvaC
    May 3, 2007
    0
    This album is horrible. It is a bunch of pretentious ambient garbage, trying to be Blink 182 meets a prog band and ends up with a lot of filler crap. And they suck live.
  35. SteveS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Tom is a pretentious li'l bitch, and this is no musical revolution, regardless what he says.
  36. John
    Jun 27, 2009
    2
    An album that is ruined by its own poorly laid foundation. Tom Delonge was meant for one thing. Silly, poppy, satirical, poop joke, punky music. i.e. Blink 182. This CD is good for one time listening, if that. Space sounds, unbearably whiny vocals, and Tom Delonge's LOOK AT ME I'M AN INNOVATIVE ARTIST FOR REAL attitude doom this ridiculous album from the start. Leave it alone An album that is ruined by its own poorly laid foundation. Tom Delonge was meant for one thing. Silly, poppy, satirical, poop joke, punky music. i.e. Blink 182. This CD is good for one time listening, if that. Space sounds, unbearably whiny vocals, and Tom Delonge's LOOK AT ME I'M AN INNOVATIVE ARTIST FOR REAL attitude doom this ridiculous album from the start. Leave it alone Tom. Go back to what you are good at. Not giving a shit. Expand
  37. andrewt
    Nov 22, 2006
    1
    tom said during his time with blink: "people care about things too much" not only contradicting this statement, he managed to do it in the worst way possible by making a shit album. any blink fans or people who listen to decent music go grab +44 album its really good
  38. daves
    May 23, 2006
    3
    didn't quite make it with me and i really wanted to like it!
  39. drewb
    May 24, 2006
    0
    why the hell does he think adding different guitar effects and a synth make an album sound better? everyone on the entire damn planet is doing it. no way in hell is this original or be considered a mildly decen album.
  40. Alex
    May 25, 2006
    2
    very (very) dissapointing collection of boring U2 inspired tripe - if anything, it makes me wish for a Blink reunion..... sharpish.
  41. CoreyW
    May 28, 2006
    0
    Just another album from someone who can't be in touch with reality from having lived as a little whiny plastic-pop (no punk to be found in his veins at all) princess who tries to force himself into thinking he's in touch with anyone except his manager and booking agent. Pure drivel.
  42. MarkH
    May 29, 2006
    2
    just lame dude. I've heard U2 before ok tom
  43. Jake
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Tom's a tool.
  44. Davidb
    Aug 19, 2006
    1
    I agreed with everything Amarganth said ;)
  45. Andy
    Aug 31, 2006
    2
    Grow up Tom please, you still sound like your 16. This album is absurd.
  46. WillM
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    Absolutely horrible. Blink was amazing, this is just utter crap and drivel.
  47. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    2
    My high expectations of a Queen/progressive album (as promised by Tom Delonge) were shot down after a first listen. And the more I listened to it, the less I liked it. They really tried to make stadium rock here, but it sounds like amateurs trying too hard to be famous. Maybe I set my standards too high, regardless, I can't think of anyone I'd recommend this to.
  48. motal
    May 25, 2006
    0
    a horror, a waste that al this talent that's is the band brich up such sh*t
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 40
    The resulting batch of songs... just pad out the duller bits of blink, then add walls of mid-'80s-era U2 guitar chimes. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  2. If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  3. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.