We Don't Need To Whisper

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 264

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinD
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Amazing
  2. TuomasK
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Easily best music that has come within few years. Its too bad they never tour in Finland, so ill never have chance to see AVA ever in my life :( Their music is very good and reminds all that there can be a better tomorrow ahead.
  3. AnnM
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Delonge's vocals is best. It is very space & beautiful music. I can dream in this music space. This is my
  4. dymol
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Great album, unique sound and outlook
  5. Toby
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Great, consistant album, Toms voice is amazing
  6. sandyo
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    AVA has created a very meaninggul album that speaks to you - it is intelligent, creative, and beautiful. While many people are comparing it to what Blink-182 use to be I am looking at it as what it is - pure hopeful thoughts that really make you think that if you look past all the drama and the hate in the world that everything will end up ok - and AVA really mean it - It is a wonderful AVA has created a very meaninggul album that speaks to you - it is intelligent, creative, and beautiful. While many people are comparing it to what Blink-182 use to be I am looking at it as what it is - pure hopeful thoughts that really make you think that if you look past all the drama and the hate in the world that everything will end up ok - and AVA really mean it - It is a wonderful enlightening album full of hopes and dreams to make the world a better place for everyone. So don't compare it to the potty-mouth humor that was Blink but look at it for what it is - a new band with a new start creating beautiful music Expand
  7. JOHNB
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    This album rocks.
  8. MacarionM
    Jul 6, 2006
    7
    "I understand a band wanting to explore new options but you dont mess with proven success." I don't care about this album, I haven't even heard it. I just wanted to point out that the guy who said this^seriously needs to be harpooned in the scrotum.
  9. ADog
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    This is good music. I found that the change in music style from the edgy punk to a more anthem-like sound refreshing. The tone and message of the songs are clear, honest, and even hopeful. I found the message of hope coming from a "punk goof" as hitting a more honest tone than a robed messanger from Rome (not at all "poo-faced"). I listen to this album often and it feels good everytime I do.
  10. JilHIP-hopSucks
    Aug 8, 2006
    8
    gREAT aLBUM gREAT sONG but could of been better we will see if the next angels and airwaves album will be better
  11. NathanR
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    this album tends to have a certain feel to it. I cant say what it is, as I can not think of what it is, but the guitars are really good, clear and well played, the druming is well observed and done, particuarly in the adventure. The bass is rather well played and tends to be played very well and relaxingly, as if the player is really feeling his way through the music. Tom Delonge's this album tends to have a certain feel to it. I cant say what it is, as I can not think of what it is, but the guitars are really good, clear and well played, the druming is well observed and done, particuarly in the adventure. The bass is rather well played and tends to be played very well and relaxingly, as if the player is really feeling his way through the music. Tom Delonge's singing is very good and his lyrical features are well written and sung. He doesnt put as much swearing and things to do with sex into his lyrics and has grown up a tremendous amount. I love this band and think it should be voted top marks. Expand
  12. mattvocal
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Well, the album isn't great, but I do like it though. I remember when Tom kept saying 'This will be the best rock album in the past 20 years.' Yeah, I was thinking 'Well, he's working hard from what it sounds.'but honestly, it isn;t great. Good, but not great. The album seems to have lag of the same parts a little spread out over the songs. But I will say Well, the album isn't great, but I do like it though. I remember when Tom kept saying 'This will be the best rock album in the past 20 years.' Yeah, I was thinking 'Well, he's working hard from what it sounds.'but honestly, it isn;t great. Good, but not great. The album seems to have lag of the same parts a little spread out over the songs. But I will say this, 'Valkyrie Missile','Do It For Me Now','Distraction','It Hurts', and 'The War' are the best songs on the record. Actaully,'The War' is the only song that sounds like hard rock similar to 'Stay Together For The Kids' and 'Adam's Song'(If you ever noticed) But Yeah, I miss Blink 182. Yet again, I'll have to deal with AvA. Expand
  13. wisnusXe
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    my fav album.... we don't need to whisper... my fav song : the adventure...
  14. TonyJ
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Very good. Way better than blink 182.
  15. BrianF
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Excellent from start to finish. The best CD I've bought in a long time (I buy a lot)
  16. JoeMomma
    May 24, 2006
    8
    musicOMH.com put it best. I haven't heard any other band play U2 songs this well. It isn't original but it is good. You can't help but get sucked in by Tom's vocals.
  17. BillK.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    More proof that critics are pretentious idiots that should be ignored. This album is amazing. Its like a more lush taste of Blink I can see the reviewer that said it had U2 influence, but I don't think that is a bad thing here. This CD will absolutely blow you away. GREAT.
  18. TomL
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Well to be perfectly honest...it's one of the best things I'veheard in ages...really, they're on my top favourite bands list now...I think its...brilliant!
  19. christieg
    May 25, 2006
    10
    this is an amzing album. nothing short of godly. tom delonges voice sounds amazing.
  20. jt
    May 25, 2006
    10
    unreal!
  21. StephanieH
    May 26, 2006
    8
    I agree that this is the best new CD I've bought in a long time. It does aim a bit high and since theres not a lot of variety you will either love it or hate it. If you don't like the single, "Adventure", or Blink's final album, stay away. The lyrics are well written and complex- I couldn't decide if they were about nuclear fallout of a breakup (turns out both and I agree that this is the best new CD I've bought in a long time. It does aim a bit high and since theres not a lot of variety you will either love it or hate it. If you don't like the single, "Adventure", or Blink's final album, stay away. The lyrics are well written and complex- I couldn't decide if they were about nuclear fallout of a breakup (turns out both and more)! Overall AAA's debut was refreshing- before the album was over I already wanted to hear it again Expand
  22. bobroberts
    May 26, 2006
    10
    this cd rocks my socks off lierally
  23. DavidN
    May 29, 2006
    10
    i dont see anything wrong with the album.. ok i admit it its not an actual music revolution but it does sound good so dont bag it out. Its like the best music ive ever heard in ages.
  24. ChrisW
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    I really don't like Blink 182, but I love this CD! The first time I heard it I didn't even know that this was the guy from Blink 182. The flow of the songs is perfect and although it sounds like an early U2 at times, they stay far away enough from that to be considered riping it. I hope that we get to hear more from Angels & Airwaves and less from Blink 182.
  25. ChrisA
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    When i first listened to this CD it wasnt as good as I thought it would be. But once i listened to the CD more and more it kinda grew on me. Realising it's very different to any of his previous work and songs like The Adventure and Valkyrie Missile proves that he can still produce good music At times it does take a while for the song to get going and wish Tom or any of the other When i first listened to this CD it wasnt as good as I thought it would be. But once i listened to the CD more and more it kinda grew on me. Realising it's very different to any of his previous work and songs like The Adventure and Valkyrie Missile proves that he can still produce good music At times it does take a while for the song to get going and wish Tom or any of the other guitarists would experiment more on the guitar i.e. solos, but overall a very good album. Expand
  26. MichealS
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Very good album definately grabs your heart the first time you here it and anyone who thinks otherwise has no variety in music.
  27. JonS
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    1 word 'Brilliant!'
  28. ValkyrieMissile
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    I can understand if people dont like the music, thats fine. But keep you're shitty opinions to yourself. It's not entirely easy to do what Tom does, it's a great effort by him, and it sounds amazing. You need an open mind, a good set of headphones and you're set. To keep it simple, AVA is the shit.
  29. umbertoe
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    yes, this album is an amalgamation of the styles of the Cure, Peter Gabriel, and U2...and yes, it is full of layers of effects and mondoproduction. but, it is very moving and inspirational if you can let go of yourself for a bit and let the music take you to new heights. the progressive movement of the music seems to be built for elevating the listener. and, it is up to the listener to yes, this album is an amalgamation of the styles of the Cure, Peter Gabriel, and U2...and yes, it is full of layers of effects and mondoproduction. but, it is very moving and inspirational if you can let go of yourself for a bit and let the music take you to new heights. the progressive movement of the music seems to be built for elevating the listener. and, it is up to the listener to allow themselves to love it...not be cross with it as to feel some sense of worth as an individual for putting it under your feet with the rest of the dirt. but, one might have recognized that in the lyrics had one really given their ear. I really enjoyed it...not sure about its epicness in relation to the rest of rock, and rock recording echelon....but, I think it is as cohesive and listenable and inspiring as most anything i've heard in twenty years. Expand
  30. AmarganthA
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    The best ambiental rock album ever... lol, U2 can pack bags.... Hell, the music is not a bit like the U2 shit, yet still they compare... Well, if you must, A&A are gods. the best album this year... Great music, great singing... This is going to be the best band ever, trust me... just wait... Angels & Airwaves, thank God you brought life into music...
  31. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    Personally, I really really enjoyed this record. Sure, it wasn't as truly amazing as I first hoped, and none of the tracks have had such an immediate impact as "The Adventure", and sure, Tom's vocals may seem slightly out of place at times. But this is a really, really good record. The production is state-of-the-art and top-notch and all thoughts of blink-182 simply wash away Personally, I really really enjoyed this record. Sure, it wasn't as truly amazing as I first hoped, and none of the tracks have had such an immediate impact as "The Adventure", and sure, Tom's vocals may seem slightly out of place at times. But this is a really, really good record. The production is state-of-the-art and top-notch and all thoughts of blink-182 simply wash away with the opening synths of "Valkyrie Missile". Long live AVA. Expand
  32. DannyO
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Wow what a great album. Its amazing, it literally makes me cry sometimes. Its beautiful sounds just make the perfect melody. Valkyrie Missile just had everything a song needs. This is how all music should be.
  33. ColinD
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    Tom Delonge's effort i believe is heart winning and i give the guy for having enough balls to say whats hes said about the record and what the music and "BAND" is going to change the world. Now i am a huge fan of delonge. i admire his style. He needs to push himself more musically and expand his capabilites. Most of the songs on the album did sound the same. But were undeniably good. Tom Delonge's effort i believe is heart winning and i give the guy for having enough balls to say whats hes said about the record and what the music and "BAND" is going to change the world. Now i am a huge fan of delonge. i admire his style. He needs to push himself more musically and expand his capabilites. Most of the songs on the album did sound the same. But were undeniably good. My opinion alone and many will disagree. I wish so much that blink who get back together and never broke up. Maybe whatever happened to blink we really dont know for sure. Tom delonge can give us a messege of what he wants the album to be. He is in his own world right now. Its weird to me that he would put out to the world that god wrote half of the album and that this is the best band that have ever come out in 20 years. Thats quite a ego. Those are huge words. Ava will never be bigger than u2 or pink floyd. Tom needs to break the boundraies of his big head and just have fun playing music because that is what its really all about. You can touch someones heart. But one album cannot change the world. Collapse
  34. Liz!G
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I was never a huge fan of Blink, or Tom for that matter, but Angels and Airwaves is definitely one of the best bands to come around in the past 2 years. We Don't Need to Whisper is sheer classic. It's unique and it has it's own style. The drums and guitar riffs are utterly AMAZING. They're one of my favorite bands of all time, and I think they deserve a chance because I was never a huge fan of Blink, or Tom for that matter, but Angels and Airwaves is definitely one of the best bands to come around in the past 2 years. We Don't Need to Whisper is sheer classic. It's unique and it has it's own style. The drums and guitar riffs are utterly AMAZING. They're one of my favorite bands of all time, and I think they deserve a chance because they're trying something new. Harsh criticism for this band really isn't fair because it's their very first cd. This cd has helped me through some really tough times this year and I listen to it all the time. It never gets old. I'm also having the Adventure be played while I walk down the aisle at my wedding next year so BOOYA BITCHES!! Expand
  35. MugstaDeuce
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i feel like i can fly......try to really listen to it!
  36. AlbertS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    DeLonge's soaring vocals and Willard's drumming, with Sinn's bass and Kennedy's keyboarding combine to make a 50 minute long masterpiece that makes one's heart soar and mind engage at full throttle. Listen to this album in a dark room with a candle, and see where your mind takes you. Start to finish, gapless playback, the whole shot. You will be surprised, no, DeLonge's soaring vocals and Willard's drumming, with Sinn's bass and Kennedy's keyboarding combine to make a 50 minute long masterpiece that makes one's heart soar and mind engage at full throttle. Listen to this album in a dark room with a candle, and see where your mind takes you. Start to finish, gapless playback, the whole shot. You will be surprised, no, astounded, by the depths this album goes to. It's amazingly well put together, and I'm sure I'm not alone in waiting anxiously for I-Empire. Expand
  37. shaeC
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Simply the best album, ever. Yes one mite say its different, but so what? This is a great album that redefines Delonge. You have to listen to it as music not ex-blink guy declaring independence. people who would say that it build the song up to much are obviously fools and know nothing. The build up on each song is perfect. it makes the song more meaningful. SO, fuck you america this Simply the best album, ever. Yes one mite say its different, but so what? This is a great album that redefines Delonge. You have to listen to it as music not ex-blink guy declaring independence. people who would say that it build the song up to much are obviously fools and know nothing. The build up on each song is perfect. it makes the song more meaningful. SO, fuck you america this album rocks. keep it real delonge. Expand
  38. JerryTerry
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    First album of my life that I can listen through over and over to every song. Simply awesome. Concert was even better!
  39. HrafnkellL
    May 1, 2008
    9
    I never liked Blink 182 NEVER they were a bunch of sellouts. But Angels And Airwaves is a different story this band i like it seems that Tom has grown up from all that blink 182 punk pop rock something BLA BLA But his friends Travis and Hoppus are in a band called plus 44 (aka blink 182 with 4 members not 3) But ye back to the album its Mind Blowing like someone stated before i just cant I never liked Blink 182 NEVER they were a bunch of sellouts. But Angels And Airwaves is a different story this band i like it seems that Tom has grown up from all that blink 182 punk pop rock something BLA BLA But his friends Travis and Hoppus are in a band called plus 44 (aka blink 182 with 4 members not 3) But ye back to the album its Mind Blowing like someone stated before i just cant stop listing to it it´s almost perfection but still it´s a little short but i like there style much of effects Keyboard ( Synths) and they create this almost perfect and the guitar lines are just good it´s just i cant describe it the album is a great begining of a great band so 9 out of 10. Expand
  40. AlyssaJ
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Toms music is awsome!!!
  41. Abbi
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    This is one of my favorite all-time albums. All you Blink fans need to get over the fact that they're over. Delonge has found his musical bliss and I think it is breath-takingly beautiful.
  42. LolaH
    May 24, 2006
    10
    It's a really great album.
  43. Justin
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Sorry to say but this album has a very interesting sound, and is one of the best to come out in awhile. Im sick of hearing the same screaming pile of shit that has been releasing.
  44. davids
    May 25, 2006
    10
    best cd ive ever heard
  45. AlexandraA
    May 25, 2006
    10
    an amazing album to sit and listen to.....
  46. SeanP
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This album is incredible
  47. borgy
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Epic. 2006 in music hasnt disappointed me yet, i guess i should lower my standards...... nah.
  48. JOHNB
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This album rocks.
  49. nickl
    May 25, 2006
    10
    just awesome
  50. Dan
    May 25, 2006
    7
    Interesting album. A lot of the songs are someone mellow and slow and I"m not sure if it's going to grow on me or if it's something I'll get tired of quickly. There are atleast 4 solid tracks on this disc which are It Hurts, The War, Start the Machine and A Little's enough. The War is the hardest track on the album and it sounds more like a Boxcar Racer song. A Interesting album. A lot of the songs are someone mellow and slow and I"m not sure if it's going to grow on me or if it's something I'll get tired of quickly. There are atleast 4 solid tracks on this disc which are It Hurts, The War, Start the Machine and A Little's enough. The War is the hardest track on the album and it sounds more like a Boxcar Racer song. A little's enough is one of the softer songs and it's strong track too. The final two tracks It Hurts and Start the Machine are probably the 2 best examples of the Angels and Airwaves sound. What remains to been seen is whether the other tracks and the sound in general grows on me enough so that I enjoy the entire disc. AVA uses a lot of cool sounds, progressions and beats on this album and the production is top notch which make for some really cool moments...especially with headphones. The pivot question surrounding this disc is how well do people enjoy hearing Tom sing at 1/2 the speed he normally does. Some tracks it drags and bit and you just want it to kick in but other times it works. Expand
  51. dylanb
    May 25, 2006
    10
    so fucking good
  52. AlexC
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. The songs are great and some of them have really inspiring, powerful tunes and lyrics. Tom DeLonge, I bow to you my good man.
  53. BennettP
    May 25, 2006
    10
    None of these people understand Tom Delonge...
  54. JamesG
    May 25, 2006
    10
    In a world filled with rap and hip hop this inspiring album is the hope of all that don't want to hear about guys doing their hos and driving escalades
  55. PaddyM
    May 26, 2006
    9
    This may not be the most artistic album to have come out in the past several years. Music snobs will likely have a problem with this album, but for those to whom the emotional appeal of an album trumps the nuances of the album, this is a must-have. I have not stopped listening to it since a co-worker of mine brought it into the office on the release date.
  56. jonm
    May 26, 2006
    9
    best thing delonge as done in his career
  57. JD
    May 27, 2006
    8
    If you like Blink 182's last album, you should like this. This may not be the best record in the last two decades, but it does deserve at least a listen. I liked most of the songs, although there isn't a lot of variation. If you like the U2-Edge guitar sound, you'll love how this sounds.
  58. ShawnB
    May 29, 2006
    10
    Wow. I really enjoyed so much that I went and saw the concert in Chicago @ the Vic. Both I can tell you are nothing less than SPECTACULAR!!
  59. MikeyC
    Jun 10, 2006
    8
    It's pretty good all around, possibly because I like the bands where each member came from, but overall it has a pretty good sound too it. Critics are all wrapped up with emo BS right now so just for kinda sounding that way they'll lose point right off the bat. Oh yeah and if you look at some of the posts where they say they hate it, they are aying the exact same thing the It's pretty good all around, possibly because I like the bands where each member came from, but overall it has a pretty good sound too it. Critics are all wrapped up with emo BS right now so just for kinda sounding that way they'll lose point right off the bat. Oh yeah and if you look at some of the posts where they say they hate it, they are aying the exact same thing the critics say, c'mon at least put some effort and make up your own review. Expand
  60. TomC
    Jun 2, 2006
    7
    It's an alright listen. If you liked the slower material on Blinks last album, then it's worth checking out. All in all though, it gets boring quickly.
  61. NikkiP
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    They sound so much like blink 182. and yes i agree most of the songs do sound alike but all of the songs are good!!!!
  62. AndresA
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    perfect album, i just love it so epic and uplifting.
  63. HomieBB
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    this is great stuff
  64. ShaneF
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Okay it's not a rock n roll revolution but it's still a really good album. It really refreshing to hear music with a positive message rather than bands bitching about their tough lives which is what most music today is about. The album is a little over produced in parts but musically and lyrically it's top notch stuff. Anyone with an open mind should check it out, but Okay it's not a rock n roll revolution but it's still a really good album. It really refreshing to hear music with a positive message rather than bands bitching about their tough lives which is what most music today is about. The album is a little over produced in parts but musically and lyrically it's top notch stuff. Anyone with an open mind should check it out, but don't expect it to sound like Blink or Boxcar. Expand
  65. RobertP
    Jun 8, 2006
    8
    great record.
  66. incubus3389
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Its truely beautiful.. epic.. there is something truely granduer about its sound.. love
  67. AlR
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    To me, its the best album of the year so far. I do think its epic and all the rest of what Tom claimed and wanted it to be. There isnt a bad track on the album, which i think is an extremely difficult thing to do. I think people, and critics especially, should read the lyrics in the songs. There all so deep and meaningful and like Blink and Boxcar tracks were, you can totally relate to To me, its the best album of the year so far. I do think its epic and all the rest of what Tom claimed and wanted it to be. There isnt a bad track on the album, which i think is an extremely difficult thing to do. I think people, and critics especially, should read the lyrics in the songs. There all so deep and meaningful and like Blink and Boxcar tracks were, you can totally relate to them and feel inspired by a song to go out and do anything you want to. Tom has definatley proved he can create great music on his own again, just like in Boxcar, with some awesome tracks like The Adventure, It Hurts and to me one of the greatest tracks iv ever heard, Valkyrie Missile. Even though it last nearly 7 minutes, you cant get bored of it! But that is just how i feel and i am a massive fan of his work. I do think if the was a blink album it would have got much more recognition and with maybe Mark and certainly Travis input, then this would be even more bigger then it is. But this is Toms individual work and i personally think its amazing he's done a great job and become an overall better musican, so well done and keep up the good work! Dont let anyone put you Tom, your the best there is!! Expand
  68. DrewB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    This is the best album I have heard in over a decade. I can't believe RS gave it such a bad review. Do the reviewers listen to an album once and roll with their review? I know I have to hear an album 3 times, over 3 days before making a judgement, and this album is sensational. Catchy hooks, outstanding production, and they rock. I love it. Can't wait for more!
  69. Beck
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    Lives up to the hype Tom Delonge surrounded it with and then gives you a bit more. I agree that some songs do sound a little similar, but other than that it's wonderful.
  70. k.tk.t
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    hey you guys give them a chance..... they feel great with thier new band.... they are really good... and i think that they will be better than blink 182...
  71. MadelineH
    Aug 21, 2006
    8
    cool but no blink 182
  72. Louise
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    This album is the best ever! Screw the boring old farts who can't get into anything new and different. Tom is, was and always will be an absolute god! Who cares if it's emo/punk/rock... all i care about is if it's good... and it isn't... it's even better. In the words of Tom Delonge... 'It's the raddest!'
  73. NjoiF
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    An amazing album. Simply one of the best that i have ever heard. Better then blink and boxcar racer, Tom has done it again. Every single song is great, particularly valkarye missile, the adventure and Start the Machine. Everyone who hates this album should jump off a building
  74. PaulM
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Very good music, but Tom's voice doesn't seem to fit in with the music at some points. Otherwise, a good CD
  75. ErlingS
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    probably the best album ever released. At first, the album seems boring, but after you have listened to it a couple of times, you understand how fantastic this shit is! God, tom is a genious
  76. justafanblink
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Delonge is on his way of changing music for the better."We Don't Need to Whisper," is a start to something great.Although Mark and Travis are left doing their own thing.I wish best of luck to Delonge,knowing he was born for greatness.Blink will forever be missed.
  77. MichaelS
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    This is not and never will be blink-182. This is also nothing around. Stick with it and many will love it.
  78. BobJ.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    If Tom was never in Blink-182, everyone would agree that this is an amazing album, but everyone's still stuck on the whole Blink thing. This is more of an alt/prog album, and people should forget the whole pop-punk thing that happened in the past.
  79. ColinT
    Feb 14, 2007
    7
    While entertaining, there's really nothing at all new about the sound. I liked the album but I can't say much good about it because it was pretty average. I like AVA better than Blink, though.
  80. phillipg
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Tom is a true modern day poet ! More people should realize this
  81. Nant14
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    Improvement for Tom.Improvement for the whole music.Really heart-stopping album.I wish AVA to continue their music experiments.I don't understand critics that gave this album mediocre scores.
  82. RanC
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i dont understand the people that is stuck in the same pattern like u2, or another alike band. i mean you should get outside the box and give an oportunity to this band that change my own music style. After listening very careful to AVA i really realised whats my style,my way of life. AVA is the best that could happend in the worlds music. jus pay attention and wait...you will see. dont i dont understand the people that is stuck in the same pattern like u2, or another alike band. i mean you should get outside the box and give an oportunity to this band that change my own music style. After listening very careful to AVA i really realised whats my style,my way of life. AVA is the best that could happend in the worlds music. jus pay attention and wait...you will see. dont stay in the box.....give the band and your self a chance...ENJOY...its better!!! Expand
  83. LeongL
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    You know, it's on of those things that does JUST enough to keep your attention. It's not the best album, but a good first attempt. Overall, I more or less enjoyed it, but let's hope for a better album next time.
  84. TaylorS.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    This abulm not only focuses on party and stuff but it expresses what is actually happening in todays world This band may just revolutionize music i am looking foward to I-empire
  85. PunkD.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    This album is mind-blowing. I can easily see why reviews are mixed as they were reviewing the album on first listen. The album is themed, and it would be hard to distinguish between some of the songs on first listen. However, this album is a serious grower, and once you get to know the songs, sit back and play this album from start to finish, the soundscapes, the lyrics, the story, This album is mind-blowing. I can easily see why reviews are mixed as they were reviewing the album on first listen. The album is themed, and it would be hard to distinguish between some of the songs on first listen. However, this album is a serious grower, and once you get to know the songs, sit back and play this album from start to finish, the soundscapes, the lyrics, the story, everything will blow you away. Expand
  86. ToddD.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    This album is a daring and amazing new style of music, incorporating atmospheric rhythms, catchy vocals and lyrics, great bass and drums, and echoey, spacy, and perfect sounding guitar lines.
  87. PatrickM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This album came out just after my mother died, so I was more open to it than those reeling over the breakup of blink-182. I am a huge blink fan, and I am stunned that so many other blink fans completely dismiss this album. This album is very powerful and I don't find any of these tracks to be 'whiny' or 'emo' as some reviewers have indicated. This is not an emo This album came out just after my mother died, so I was more open to it than those reeling over the breakup of blink-182. I am a huge blink fan, and I am stunned that so many other blink fans completely dismiss this album. This album is very powerful and I don't find any of these tracks to be 'whiny' or 'emo' as some reviewers have indicated. This is not an emo album, it's uplifting amidst a real description of the world today. And anybody who is open to it can enjoy it. Expand
  88. DannyR
    Jan 15, 2009
    10
    This album was simply inspring during one of the lowest points of my life. A lot of people will underappreciate this album, but it truly is something ambient and incredible for those who desire a message in their music. It's well worth your time.
  89. Zanriel
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This album continues the trend started in Blink-182's last album. It's moodier, more progressive, and less punk, but still has plenty of upbeat tracks. It's probably not the best for fans of straight up rock/punk, but it's great for fans of melodic rock like Jimmy Eat World, Collective Soul, etc. I love it!
  90. Anon82
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Best rock vocal.mr tom delonge
  91. MarcoP
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    My favorite album of all time....... Tom Delonge Forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  92. EddieL
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best CD to come out in a really long time!
  93. StephenM
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Critics are being too hard on Tom Delonge with his latest album- this cd is packed full of emotion, intrigue, and plenty of power. It's the sound of U2 (c'mon, without Bono U2 would be nothing but stellar) mixed with the pop-punkness of blink-182 (duh) to make a fantastic mix that deserves plenty of good reviews. Buy this album.
  94. JC
    May 24, 2006
    8
    I think it's a really refreshing album and enjoy it a lot.. it's not an all time favorite yet, but that takes time.
  95. Matt
    May 24, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this. While not a huge fan of Blink 182, I found myself enjoying this album immensely. I'm not sure about the whole "best album in decades" description, but it is DEFINITELY a good start. The lyrics are really amazing. Critics are being way too harsh. My suggestion is to sit down and listen to the CD for what it is, minus all the outside input, and decide for I really enjoyed this. While not a huge fan of Blink 182, I found myself enjoying this album immensely. I'm not sure about the whole "best album in decades" description, but it is DEFINITELY a good start. The lyrics are really amazing. Critics are being way too harsh. My suggestion is to sit down and listen to the CD for what it is, minus all the outside input, and decide for youreslf what it is and what it means. Expand
  96. AdamA
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing cd. just dont expect the old blink.
  97. DougW
    May 25, 2006
    9
    I think that a lot of people trash this album because it's not what they had anticipated. It was very over-hyped which caused a lot of people to be underwhelmed. But behind all of the obviously outragious statements lies an album that is truly great. Is it original? No, nothing is. Is it the best music made in the last 2 decades? That's completely an opinion answer. But whether I think that a lot of people trash this album because it's not what they had anticipated. It was very over-hyped which caused a lot of people to be underwhelmed. But behind all of the obviously outragious statements lies an album that is truly great. Is it original? No, nothing is. Is it the best music made in the last 2 decades? That's completely an opinion answer. But whether it's "revolutionary" or not, it deserves some credit for being what it is Expand
  98. J2Schoch
    May 25, 2006
    10
    It's possibly the best album i've ever listened too
  99. KevinD
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing
  100. TrevorH
    May 25, 2006
    10
    we dont need to whisper is the best cd ever created and the "experts" that think they know what they are talking about dont know anything.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Blender
    40
    The resulting batch of songs... just pad out the duller bits of blink, then add walls of mid-'80s-era U2 guitar chimes. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  3. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.