We Don't Need To Whisper

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 23, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 266

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    I remember when I first started listening to Angels And Airwaves I was at 420 Chinkapin Way sitting on the balcony looking at the stars. So this album takes me back.

    Valkyrie Missile (9) This song really introduced the band in a great way by showing off their new-age space rock sound. I really love it when the instruments hit and the song picks up. The guitar along with the electronica
    I remember when I first started listening to Angels And Airwaves I was at 420 Chinkapin Way sitting on the balcony looking at the stars. So this album takes me back.

    Valkyrie Missile (9) This song really introduced the band in a great way by showing off their new-age space rock sound. I really love it when the instruments hit and the song picks up. The guitar along with the electronica is really great. The harmony instrumentals hit later in the song and it really sends the song off to the races with a faster tempo and a more positive vibe. I like how they announce in the end they are, Angels And Airwaves.

    Distraction (8) I really like this song because it really promotes the ideology of love between two individuals. The song to me is about how certain people find each other and help each other getting through the monotony of life. This song has guitar riffs somewhat similar to the Blink 182 style but the lyrics are way above Blink 182.

    Do It For Me Now (8.5) This track adds more elements of love to the whole Angels And Airwaves persona. I think the chorus is really great and it has a really great harmony. The melody changes near the end of the song and really makes the song better.

    The Adventure (9.25) This was Angels And Airwaves first single and really got me excited about them back in the day. Looking back at the last few years of my life, I do classify it as an adventure so this is one of my theme songs even though I try not to be mainstream. The secondary guitar elements they add in the beginning really give the opening riff a really great sound. The track does a great job at slowing down and speeding up which makes it unique. My favorite line of the whole song is 'I can't live I can't breathe unless you do this with me.'

    A Little's Enough (9) This song is a really great song to promote being positive to the people your associated with even if you don't like them. The chorus has the best line in the song which is 'the cure is if you let in just a little more love, I promise you this, a little's enough.' The instrumentals are very soothing and relaxing and they are slowed down to change the tempo of the record from the previous track which is more upbeat.

    The War (9.25) Angels And Airwaves promoted a 1940's WWIIesque theme with this record in their documentary Start The Machine. This is a great track for someone who feels like brighter days are coming around the corner and they have won the war of sadness or bitterness against whatever was causing them. The instrumentals are very energetic and can give anyone who listens to it a positive attitude.

    The Gift (9.25) I really love this song because of how I can identify with it. The entire song has a great positive vibe and when Angels And Airwaves goes into the chant, it really gives the listener a good feeling. Another great song to promote good things.

    It Hurts (7.5) This song really threw me off after got accustomed to Angels And Airwaves. The instrumentals are fine, but the 'It Hurts' chant is different along with the talking about alcohol, your best friend not being your girlfriend. It's just a song that doesn't flow as well as the other material in the album.

    Good Day (8.5) This song start out like It Hurts but then the normal Angels And Airwaves harmonics kick back in. The title of the song is a great song to play on a good day but not a beautiful day because then you should play U2. Near the end of the song, the normal sounds that blow me away from Angels And Airwaves show up and really show why they are one of the best bands out there for people who like music that builds.

    Start The Machine (9) This song describes how alot of people in their twenties feel about life I feel in many different dimensions. I think it represents the whole working machine and how alot of people tell themselves that life has begun, and it is depressing. My two phrases in this song are 'I won't say sorry' and 'If love's a word, that you say, say it I will listen.' The instrumentals really pick up later in the song and it really is a great way to finish up the album.

    The Machine (8) This song is a remake or a remix of Start The Machine with more traditional electric guitar sounds and instrumentals. While personally I like the space rock sound better, I think Angels And Airwaves did it to draw Blink 182 fans over.
    Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2012
    9
    Intelligent, chilling and beautiful. That's exactly what the first album of Angels & Airwaves is. I wouldn't believe that this is the project of blink-182 singer Tom DeLonge, if I wouldn't recognize his voice. Completely different but also amazing. His voice sounds extremely beautiful here and the songs are really good made. Brilliant musicians made one fantastic album here, which is sadlyIntelligent, chilling and beautiful. That's exactly what the first album of Angels & Airwaves is. I wouldn't believe that this is the project of blink-182 singer Tom DeLonge, if I wouldn't recognize his voice. Completely different but also amazing. His voice sounds extremely beautiful here and the songs are really good made. Brilliant musicians made one fantastic album here, which is sadly very underrated. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Tom Delonge has seemed to have developed a massive ego stating this was going to be a massive rock revolution which it really is not. It was alright but its not blink-182
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    6
    Though a clever album and relatively well composed tracks it still falls short of what Tom said Angels and Airwaves would be. I do believe Tom over specualated when he said this was going to be the best thing in Rock music he went o to say it was even better than Blink-182 (which it is not). So sad for Tom that he no longer takes pride in his best world which was Blink-182
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    i enjoyed this album, the prog feel the everything but this record does have weak points but other than that excellent. delonges vocals are inspiring and on point
  6. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    2
    My high expectations of a Queen/progressive album (as promised by Tom Delonge) were shot down after a first listen. And the more I listened to it, the less I liked it. They really tried to make stadium rock here, but it sounds like amateurs trying too hard to be famous. Maybe I set my standards too high, regardless, I can't think of anyone I'd recommend this to.
  7. John
    Jun 27, 2009
    2
    An album that is ruined by its own poorly laid foundation. Tom Delonge was meant for one thing. Silly, poppy, satirical, poop joke, punky music. i.e. Blink 182. This CD is good for one time listening, if that. Space sounds, unbearably whiny vocals, and Tom Delonge's LOOK AT ME I'M AN INNOVATIVE ARTIST FOR REAL attitude doom this ridiculous album from the start. Leave it alone An album that is ruined by its own poorly laid foundation. Tom Delonge was meant for one thing. Silly, poppy, satirical, poop joke, punky music. i.e. Blink 182. This CD is good for one time listening, if that. Space sounds, unbearably whiny vocals, and Tom Delonge's LOOK AT ME I'M AN INNOVATIVE ARTIST FOR REAL attitude doom this ridiculous album from the start. Leave it alone Tom. Go back to what you are good at. Not giving a shit. Expand
  8. DannyR
    Jan 15, 2009
    10
    This album was simply inspring during one of the lowest points of my life. A lot of people will underappreciate this album, but it truly is something ambient and incredible for those who desire a message in their music. It's well worth your time.
  9. shaeC
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Simply the best album, ever. Yes one mite say its different, but so what? This is a great album that redefines Delonge. You have to listen to it as music not ex-blink guy declaring independence. people who would say that it build the song up to much are obviously fools and know nothing. The build up on each song is perfect. it makes the song more meaningful. SO, fuck you america this Simply the best album, ever. Yes one mite say its different, but so what? This is a great album that redefines Delonge. You have to listen to it as music not ex-blink guy declaring independence. people who would say that it build the song up to much are obviously fools and know nothing. The build up on each song is perfect. it makes the song more meaningful. SO, fuck you america this album rocks. keep it real delonge. Expand
  10. NickZ.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing in it's entirety. Everyone should give this album a chance!
  11. HrafnkellL
    May 1, 2008
    9
    I never liked Blink 182 NEVER they were a bunch of sellouts. But Angels And Airwaves is a different story this band i like it seems that Tom has grown up from all that blink 182 punk pop rock something BLA BLA But his friends Travis and Hoppus are in a band called plus 44 (aka blink 182 with 4 members not 3) But ye back to the album its Mind Blowing like someone stated before i just cant I never liked Blink 182 NEVER they were a bunch of sellouts. But Angels And Airwaves is a different story this band i like it seems that Tom has grown up from all that blink 182 punk pop rock something BLA BLA But his friends Travis and Hoppus are in a band called plus 44 (aka blink 182 with 4 members not 3) But ye back to the album its Mind Blowing like someone stated before i just cant stop listing to it it´s almost perfection but still it´s a little short but i like there style much of effects Keyboard ( Synths) and they create this almost perfect and the guitar lines are just good it´s just i cant describe it the album is a great begining of a great band so 9 out of 10. Expand
  12. MárioT
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Tom Delonge was really reborn through this new music, which is more connected to his essence and stimulates us to discover all the power from our emotions, but he doesn't do it in an obvious way.
  13. PatrickM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This album came out just after my mother died, so I was more open to it than those reeling over the breakup of blink-182. I am a huge blink fan, and I am stunned that so many other blink fans completely dismiss this album. This album is very powerful and I don't find any of these tracks to be 'whiny' or 'emo' as some reviewers have indicated. This is not an emo This album came out just after my mother died, so I was more open to it than those reeling over the breakup of blink-182. I am a huge blink fan, and I am stunned that so many other blink fans completely dismiss this album. This album is very powerful and I don't find any of these tracks to be 'whiny' or 'emo' as some reviewers have indicated. This is not an emo album, it's uplifting amidst a real description of the world today. And anybody who is open to it can enjoy it. Expand
  14. JerryTerry
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    First album of my life that I can listen through over and over to every song. Simply awesome. Concert was even better!
  15. BobJ.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    If Tom was never in Blink-182, everyone would agree that this is an amazing album, but everyone's still stuck on the whole Blink thing. This is more of an alt/prog album, and people should forget the whole pop-punk thing that happened in the past.
  16. NevinO
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    Essentially a very boring, bland (though competent) rock record, with Delongue still seemingly unable to clear away that cold, perhaps it should have been titled "we didn't have to try very hard"
  17. MichaelS
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    This is not and never will be blink-182. This is also nothing around. Stick with it and many will love it.
  18. ErlingS
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    probably the best album ever released. At first, the album seems boring, but after you have listened to it a couple of times, you understand how fantastic this shit is! God, tom is a genious
  19. ChuckH
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    Yeah, when i listened to this album, all I heard was cure bass lines, its a complete cure and U2 ripoff. This is just another shit american record, if you want real music you need to look elsewhere!
  20. RyanF
    Nov 1, 2007
    5
    A few songs are alright-notably Valkyrie Missile-but it seems like Tom ran out of ideas before he was even halfway through the album. Tom: You're not gonna make revolutionary music when you use stuff you and others have done in the past. It's the worst feeling when you're listening to the CD and you think "Haven't I heard this before?"
  21. SteveS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Tom is a pretentious li'l bitch, and this is no musical revolution, regardless what he says.
  22. ToddD.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    This album is a daring and amazing new style of music, incorporating atmospheric rhythms, catchy vocals and lyrics, great bass and drums, and echoey, spacy, and perfect sounding guitar lines.
  23. PunkD.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    This album is mind-blowing. I can easily see why reviews are mixed as they were reviewing the album on first listen. The album is themed, and it would be hard to distinguish between some of the songs on first listen. However, this album is a serious grower, and once you get to know the songs, sit back and play this album from start to finish, the soundscapes, the lyrics, the story, This album is mind-blowing. I can easily see why reviews are mixed as they were reviewing the album on first listen. The album is themed, and it would be hard to distinguish between some of the songs on first listen. However, this album is a serious grower, and once you get to know the songs, sit back and play this album from start to finish, the soundscapes, the lyrics, the story, everything will blow you away. Expand
  24. AlbertS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    DeLonge's soaring vocals and Willard's drumming, with Sinn's bass and Kennedy's keyboarding combine to make a 50 minute long masterpiece that makes one's heart soar and mind engage at full throttle. Listen to this album in a dark room with a candle, and see where your mind takes you. Start to finish, gapless playback, the whole shot. You will be surprised, no, DeLonge's soaring vocals and Willard's drumming, with Sinn's bass and Kennedy's keyboarding combine to make a 50 minute long masterpiece that makes one's heart soar and mind engage at full throttle. Listen to this album in a dark room with a candle, and see where your mind takes you. Start to finish, gapless playback, the whole shot. You will be surprised, no, astounded, by the depths this album goes to. It's amazingly well put together, and I'm sure I'm not alone in waiting anxiously for I-Empire. Expand
  25. LiamR.
    Aug 8, 2007
    0
    Just one long, whiny piece of crap, really. Seems like Tom Delonge is trying too hard to prove himself as an artist, to me. All the songs sound the same!
  26. TaylorS.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    This abulm not only focuses on party and stuff but it expresses what is actually happening in todays world This band may just revolutionize music i am looking foward to I-empire
  27. NathanR
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    this album tends to have a certain feel to it. I cant say what it is, as I can not think of what it is, but the guitars are really good, clear and well played, the druming is well observed and done, particuarly in the adventure. The bass is rather well played and tends to be played very well and relaxingly, as if the player is really feeling his way through the music. Tom Delonge's this album tends to have a certain feel to it. I cant say what it is, as I can not think of what it is, but the guitars are really good, clear and well played, the druming is well observed and done, particuarly in the adventure. The bass is rather well played and tends to be played very well and relaxingly, as if the player is really feeling his way through the music. Tom Delonge's singing is very good and his lyrical features are well written and sung. He doesnt put as much swearing and things to do with sex into his lyrics and has grown up a tremendous amount. I love this band and think it should be voted top marks. Expand
  28. JasonPH
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    I really like this album. Guitar work by both DeLonge and Kennedy is very nice. Only downfall of this album is the intros into some of the songs like Valkyrie Missile, its too long and it may entice new listeners to stop listening to the CD. But once you get past the intros you have some very nice music. Exceptional work on The Adventure, Do It For Me Now, and It Hurts. These songs really I really like this album. Guitar work by both DeLonge and Kennedy is very nice. Only downfall of this album is the intros into some of the songs like Valkyrie Missile, its too long and it may entice new listeners to stop listening to the CD. But once you get past the intros you have some very nice music. Exceptional work on The Adventure, Do It For Me Now, and It Hurts. These songs really sold the album. Expand
  29. MattB.
    Jun 1, 2007
    3
    Basically, this is a rubbish album. There isn't much that is good about it. The music is boring and nothing we haven't heard before. The lyrics are basic and weak. And Tom DeLonge is an pretentious, annoying American. And they're awful live.
  30. EvaC
    May 3, 2007
    0
    This album is horrible. It is a bunch of pretentious ambient garbage, trying to be Blink 182 meets a prog band and ends up with a lot of filler crap. And they suck live.
  31. LeongL
    Apr 8, 2007
    7
    You know, it's on of those things that does JUST enough to keep your attention. It's not the best album, but a good first attempt. Overall, I more or less enjoyed it, but let's hope for a better album next time.
  32. RanC
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i dont understand the people that is stuck in the same pattern like u2, or another alike band. i mean you should get outside the box and give an oportunity to this band that change my own music style. After listening very careful to AVA i really realised whats my style,my way of life. AVA is the best that could happend in the worlds music. jus pay attention and wait...you will see. dont i dont understand the people that is stuck in the same pattern like u2, or another alike band. i mean you should get outside the box and give an oportunity to this band that change my own music style. After listening very careful to AVA i really realised whats my style,my way of life. AVA is the best that could happend in the worlds music. jus pay attention and wait...you will see. dont stay in the box.....give the band and your self a chance...ENJOY...its better!!! Expand
  33. MugstaDeuce
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i feel like i can fly......try to really listen to it!
  34. Nant14
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    Improvement for Tom.Improvement for the whole music.Really heart-stopping album.I wish AVA to continue their music experiments.I don't understand critics that gave this album mediocre scores.
  35. andyc
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    This is an album which we all have to listen to carefully. Forget that its the "New Tom D." Forget that "They're Overrated." just sit down. and listen.
  36. ColinT
    Feb 14, 2007
    7
    While entertaining, there's really nothing at all new about the sound. I liked the album but I can't say much good about it because it was pretty average. I like AVA better than Blink, though.
  37. phillipg
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    Tom is a true modern day poet ! More people should realize this
  38. justafanblink
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Delonge is on his way of changing music for the better."We Don't Need to Whisper," is a start to something great.Although Mark and Travis are left doing their own thing.I wish best of luck to Delonge,knowing he was born for greatness.Blink will forever be missed.
  39. ChrisV
    Jan 3, 2007
    3
    They must've really liked that clean guitar sound since it's used in every song. To me, all the tracks sound too much alike to be alright. There's a difference between a theme, and writing the same song ten times.
  40. Liz!G
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I was never a huge fan of Blink, or Tom for that matter, but Angels and Airwaves is definitely one of the best bands to come around in the past 2 years. We Don't Need to Whisper is sheer classic. It's unique and it has it's own style. The drums and guitar riffs are utterly AMAZING. They're one of my favorite bands of all time, and I think they deserve a chance because I was never a huge fan of Blink, or Tom for that matter, but Angels and Airwaves is definitely one of the best bands to come around in the past 2 years. We Don't Need to Whisper is sheer classic. It's unique and it has it's own style. The drums and guitar riffs are utterly AMAZING. They're one of my favorite bands of all time, and I think they deserve a chance because they're trying something new. Harsh criticism for this band really isn't fair because it's their very first cd. This cd has helped me through some really tough times this year and I listen to it all the time. It never gets old. I'm also having the Adventure be played while I walk down the aisle at my wedding next year so BOOYA BITCHES!! Expand
  41. Anon82
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Best rock vocal.mr tom delonge
  42. AlyssaJ
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Toms music is awsome!!!
  43. Zanriel
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This album continues the trend started in Blink-182's last album. It's moodier, more progressive, and less punk, but still has plenty of upbeat tracks. It's probably not the best for fans of straight up rock/punk, but it's great for fans of melodic rock like Jimmy Eat World, Collective Soul, etc. I love it!
  44. ColtonM
    Dec 19, 2006
    5
    from what mark said on Blink182.com Tom sounds like a selfish prick. If you're not a musician i suggest you shut your mouth, because you don't know what you're talking about. I think the album is alright, but Tom is definatly more of a Punk type singer and guitar player.
  45. TyroneP
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Once you get past the euphoria and PMA attitude inherent on this album, and flow (if you can), with the positive energy- it's fantastic. Criticizing this album is as easy as shooting fish in a barrel. But give it a chance, set your cynicism on a shelf, and try to understand it...
  46. JakeM
    Dec 14, 2006
    4
    Every song is too long, it gets too boring...good try though
  47. MarcoP
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    My favorite album of all time....... Tom Delonge Forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. NickS
    Dec 6, 2006
    5
    The album definitley had high expectations. Unofortunatley is falls to just an okay cd. Delonge does do a good job with the writing, but not a great job. Album could of been a lot better. I put it in when Im relaxing. Don't put it in during a party or you probably will be laughed at.
  49. BenC
    Dec 2, 2006
    0
    I bought the last Blink record on the day it came out, and my bandmate and i were extemely excited to hear the follow up on this project that has taken something like what? 3 years? The Adventure was interesting but when i saw the video, read what Tom was " trying to do" and heard the rest of the album i almost shit a fucking brick. It's absolutley the most hidious whiney shit I bought the last Blink record on the day it came out, and my bandmate and i were extemely excited to hear the follow up on this project that has taken something like what? 3 years? The Adventure was interesting but when i saw the video, read what Tom was " trying to do" and heard the rest of the album i almost shit a fucking brick. It's absolutley the most hidious whiney shit i've ever heard. Unfortunatly i don't know if it's his fault. I think that maybe his wife toldhim she was tired of blink or something. Maybe Blink wasn't selling enough records, who knows? But anyone who betrays his friends has no respect from me, FUCK TOM! Expand
  50. WillM
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    Absolutely horrible. Blink was amazing, this is just utter crap and drivel.
  51. andrewt
    Nov 22, 2006
    1
    tom said during his time with blink: "people care about things too much" not only contradicting this statement, he managed to do it in the worst way possible by making a shit album. any blink fans or people who listen to decent music go grab +44 album its really good
  52. Pete
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    This album shows just how horrible America's music has become. This album, straight up, sucks. They have one good song, The Adventure. They took that song and just based an entire album around the same beat. Tom Delonge is not a good musician anymore. Musically, this album is just, the worst thing to come out in the past 30 years. Tom hyped up his album so much, to much it was a This album shows just how horrible America's music has become. This album, straight up, sucks. They have one good song, The Adventure. They took that song and just based an entire album around the same beat. Tom Delonge is not a good musician anymore. Musically, this album is just, the worst thing to come out in the past 30 years. Tom hyped up his album so much, to much it was a complete disappointment. It's funny how gullible the general public is to call this mess of an album: "music". If god wrote this album, then god doesn't know what music is. Sorry AVA fans, but you are all tools. Expand
  53. Abbi
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    This is one of my favorite all-time albums. All you Blink fans need to get over the fact that they're over. Delonge has found his musical bliss and I think it is breath-takingly beautiful.
  54. wisnusXe
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    my fav album.... we don't need to whisper... my fav song : the adventure...
  55. mattvocal
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Well, the album isn't great, but I do like it though. I remember when Tom kept saying 'This will be the best rock album in the past 20 years.' Yeah, I was thinking 'Well, he's working hard from what it sounds.'but honestly, it isn;t great. Good, but not great. The album seems to have lag of the same parts a little spread out over the songs. But I will say Well, the album isn't great, but I do like it though. I remember when Tom kept saying 'This will be the best rock album in the past 20 years.' Yeah, I was thinking 'Well, he's working hard from what it sounds.'but honestly, it isn;t great. Good, but not great. The album seems to have lag of the same parts a little spread out over the songs. But I will say this, 'Valkyrie Missile','Do It For Me Now','Distraction','It Hurts', and 'The War' are the best songs on the record. Actaully,'The War' is the only song that sounds like hard rock similar to 'Stay Together For The Kids' and 'Adam's Song'(If you ever noticed) But Yeah, I miss Blink 182. Yet again, I'll have to deal with AvA. Expand
  56. billyk
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    just because the albums different, it doesnt mean its bad. yea, it is a little repetitive, but it is still one of my favoret albums and they are my favoret band right now. im not suprised by everyone elses reaction though...no one seems to be open minded like i am these days...
  57. davedave
    Sep 7, 2006
    0
    bad very bad
  58. ColinD
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    Tom Delonge's effort i believe is heart winning and i give the guy for having enough balls to say whats hes said about the record and what the music and "BAND" is going to change the world. Now i am a huge fan of delonge. i admire his style. He needs to push himself more musically and expand his capabilites. Most of the songs on the album did sound the same. But were undeniably good. Tom Delonge's effort i believe is heart winning and i give the guy for having enough balls to say whats hes said about the record and what the music and "BAND" is going to change the world. Now i am a huge fan of delonge. i admire his style. He needs to push himself more musically and expand his capabilites. Most of the songs on the album did sound the same. But were undeniably good. My opinion alone and many will disagree. I wish so much that blink who get back together and never broke up. Maybe whatever happened to blink we really dont know for sure. Tom delonge can give us a messege of what he wants the album to be. He is in his own world right now. Its weird to me that he would put out to the world that god wrote half of the album and that this is the best band that have ever come out in 20 years. Thats quite a ego. Those are huge words. Ava will never be bigger than u2 or pink floyd. Tom needs to break the boundraies of his big head and just have fun playing music because that is what its really all about. You can touch someones heart. But one album cannot change the world. Expand
  59. PaulM
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Very good music, but Tom's voice doesn't seem to fit in with the music at some points. Otherwise, a good CD
  60. DannyO
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Wow what a great album. Its amazing, it literally makes me cry sometimes. Its beautiful sounds just make the perfect melody. Valkyrie Missile just had everything a song needs. This is how all music should be.
  61. Andy
    Aug 31, 2006
    2
    Grow up Tom please, you still sound like your 16. This album is absurd.
  62. natasha-leer
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! your album is fantastic. it is true...you do reach out to peoples hearts with your singing YOUR MY HERO TOM DELONGE!!
  63. NjoiF
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    An amazing album. Simply one of the best that i have ever heard. Better then blink and boxcar racer, Tom has done it again. Every single song is great, particularly valkarye missile, the adventure and Start the Machine. Everyone who hates this album should jump off a building
  64. MatthewH
    Aug 27, 2006
    2
    Somewhere between the part where Tom sung the lyric "It hurts" twenty times in a row, to the point where I realized that each song was composed of a single 4 second sample being repeated over and over again; I kind of missed the half of the album that God wrote.
  65. V
    Aug 25, 2006
    5
    Better than U2? Please! Don't get me wrong- I loved Blink and Tom, but A&A don't even belong in the same room... I really liked Do It For Me Now and Adventure, but the rest of the album sounds like a variation on those songs...Maybe next time the band can give us more than a meloncholy, Cure-like U2 rip-off.
  66. Louise
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    This album is the best ever! Screw the boring old farts who can't get into anything new and different. Tom is, was and always will be an absolute god! Who cares if it's emo/punk/rock... all i care about is if it's good... and it isn't... it's even better. In the words of Tom Delonge... 'It's the raddest!'
  67. MadelineH
    Aug 21, 2006
    8
    cool but no blink 182
  68. Davidb
    Aug 19, 2006
    1
    I agreed with everything Amarganth said ;)
  69. ryanw
    Aug 14, 2006
    7
    i totally agree with everything roger said
  70. AmarganthA
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    The best ambiental rock album ever... lol, U2 can pack bags.... Hell, the music is not a bit like the U2 shit, yet still they compare... Well, if you must, A&A are gods. the best album this year... Great music, great singing... This is going to be the best band ever, trust me... just wait... Angels & Airwaves, thank God you brought life into music...
  71. JilHIP-hopSucks
    Aug 8, 2006
    8
    gREAT aLBUM gREAT sONG but could of been better we will see if the next angels and airwaves album will be better
  72. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    9
    Personally, I really really enjoyed this record. Sure, it wasn't as truly amazing as I first hoped, and none of the tracks have had such an immediate impact as "The Adventure", and sure, Tom's vocals may seem slightly out of place at times. But this is a really, really good record. The production is state-of-the-art and top-notch and all thoughts of blink-182 simply wash away Personally, I really really enjoyed this record. Sure, it wasn't as truly amazing as I first hoped, and none of the tracks have had such an immediate impact as "The Adventure", and sure, Tom's vocals may seem slightly out of place at times. But this is a really, really good record. The production is state-of-the-art and top-notch and all thoughts of blink-182 simply wash away with the opening synths of "Valkyrie Missile". Long live AVA. Expand
  73. mattsi
    Aug 3, 2006
    0
    this album is terrible. get over yourselves. this is a blantant ripoff of early u2 and the cure. not timeless at all, and not saving anything.
  74. Elmo
    Aug 2, 2006
    5
    This album is musically beautiful and sounds amazing in the car. But it would have been even better if Tom didn't sing. His voice is emo and annoying and still whiny and bratty-sounding even though he tried to tone it down because this is a more 'serious' project. The bottom line is, his voice is annoying and grating and doesn't fit the music at all. If you can get This album is musically beautiful and sounds amazing in the car. But it would have been even better if Tom didn't sing. His voice is emo and annoying and still whiny and bratty-sounding even though he tried to tone it down because this is a more 'serious' project. The bottom line is, his voice is annoying and grating and doesn't fit the music at all. If you can get past the voice, it's wonderful, but if you hate it, don't keep your hopes up thinking he'll sound much different on this album. Expand
  75. RogerS
    Aug 1, 2006
    6
    This album is just a tom delonge driven album, it is not a angels and airwaves theme.This whole entire cd is just about tom delonge, plus it does not even reach the potential that tom delonge proclaimed. This was just an attempt to do something that is already been done. This does sound like an attepmt to be the best when he already was and a cheap shot for glory. The songs all sound This album is just a tom delonge driven album, it is not a angels and airwaves theme.This whole entire cd is just about tom delonge, plus it does not even reach the potential that tom delonge proclaimed. This was just an attempt to do something that is already been done. This does sound like an attepmt to be the best when he already was and a cheap shot for glory. The songs all sound alike and the live performace of this album is a waste of time. This album should only be for blink 182 fans at most. I do not expect tom delonge to continue with this because it is a self centered cd, this coming from one of the biggest blink 182 fan. I think this album would have been better accomplished with blink 182. They we on the verge of creating some amazing but instead used the excuse of "we grew up" well thats BS becasue growing up is not always getting what you want and sometimes getting over things. I trully see this as the end of something great. I hope that plus 44 does not go the same route as Angels & Airwaves. IT IS NOT ABOUT GROWING UP OR LOSING YOUR JOKES OR BEING FUNNY... IT IS ABOUT MUSIC AT ITS FINEST AND EACH MEMBER MAKING ONE SOUND!!! Expand
  76. Beck
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    Lives up to the hype Tom Delonge surrounded it with and then gives you a bit more. I agree that some songs do sound a little similar, but other than that it's wonderful.
  77. DrewB
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    This is the best album I have heard in over a decade. I can't believe RS gave it such a bad review. Do the reviewers listen to an album once and roll with their review? I know I have to hear an album 3 times, over 3 days before making a judgement, and this album is sensational. Catchy hooks, outstanding production, and they rock. I love it. Can't wait for more!
  78. RockSucks
    Jul 22, 2006
    0
    Thank god for Hip-Hop
  79. Carly
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    I don't like this album but i'll give it a ten because Blink are my favourite ever band. I love you Tom
  80. AlR
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    To me, its the best album of the year so far. I do think its epic and all the rest of what Tom claimed and wanted it to be. There isnt a bad track on the album, which i think is an extremely difficult thing to do. I think people, and critics especially, should read the lyrics in the songs. There all so deep and meaningful and like Blink and Boxcar tracks were, you can totally relate to To me, its the best album of the year so far. I do think its epic and all the rest of what Tom claimed and wanted it to be. There isnt a bad track on the album, which i think is an extremely difficult thing to do. I think people, and critics especially, should read the lyrics in the songs. There all so deep and meaningful and like Blink and Boxcar tracks were, you can totally relate to them and feel inspired by a song to go out and do anything you want to. Tom has definatley proved he can create great music on his own again, just like in Boxcar, with some awesome tracks like The Adventure, It Hurts and to me one of the greatest tracks iv ever heard, Valkyrie Missile. Even though it last nearly 7 minutes, you cant get bored of it! But that is just how i feel and i am a massive fan of his work. I do think if the was a blink album it would have got much more recognition and with maybe Mark and certainly Travis input, then this would be even more bigger then it is. But this is Toms individual work and i personally think its amazing he's done a great job and become an overall better musican, so well done and keep up the good work! Dont let anyone put you Tom, your the best there is!! Expand
  81. AnthonyC
    Jul 19, 2006
    6
    It's a very well made album. It's not bad, but the songs all do sound way too similar. I like the positive feel but I do wish they would've made an album with more than one song on it. Essentially, they wrote one really good song and then recorded 10 varations of it and called that an album. I hope for a little more out of anything further from AVA.
  82. incubus3389
    Jul 15, 2006
    9
    Its truely beautiful.. epic.. there is something truely granduer about its sound.. love
  83. Kira
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    HONESTLY GUYS, this is the best CD that has come out in ALONG time,and anyone out there that says that Tom can't sing or play guitar, i'd like to see YOU do better, cause personaly i think hes amazing. if you ever read this Tom, (which you probably wont) but, i LOVE ALLYOUR WORK, the old and new Blink-182, BoxCar Racer, and the newest of your projects, Angels and Airwaves, i HONESTLY GUYS, this is the best CD that has come out in ALONG time,and anyone out there that says that Tom can't sing or play guitar, i'd like to see YOU do better, cause personaly i think hes amazing. if you ever read this Tom, (which you probably wont) but, i LOVE ALLYOUR WORK, the old and new Blink-182, BoxCar Racer, and the newest of your projects, Angels and Airwaves, i think you have so much talent and i'm expecting Angels and Airwaves to go further than Blink-182 . So keep it up Love you guys all. -KIRA. Expand
  84. umbertoe
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    yes, this album is an amalgamation of the styles of the Cure, Peter Gabriel, and U2...and yes, it is full of layers of effects and mondoproduction. but, it is very moving and inspirational if you can let go of yourself for a bit and let the music take you to new heights. the progressive movement of the music seems to be built for elevating the listener. and, it is up to the listener to yes, this album is an amalgamation of the styles of the Cure, Peter Gabriel, and U2...and yes, it is full of layers of effects and mondoproduction. but, it is very moving and inspirational if you can let go of yourself for a bit and let the music take you to new heights. the progressive movement of the music seems to be built for elevating the listener. and, it is up to the listener to allow themselves to love it...not be cross with it as to feel some sense of worth as an individual for putting it under your feet with the rest of the dirt. but, one might have recognized that in the lyrics had one really given their ear. I really enjoyed it...not sure about its epicness in relation to the rest of rock, and rock recording echelon....but, I think it is as cohesive and listenable and inspiring as most anything i've heard in twenty years. Expand
  85. ADog
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    This is good music. I found that the change in music style from the edgy punk to a more anthem-like sound refreshing. The tone and message of the songs are clear, honest, and even hopeful. I found the message of hope coming from a "punk goof" as hitting a more honest tone than a robed messanger from Rome (not at all "poo-faced"). I listen to this album often and it feels good everytime I do.
  86. k.tk.t
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    hey you guys give them a chance..... they feel great with thier new band.... they are really good... and i think that they will be better than blink 182...
  87. MacarionM
    Jul 6, 2006
    7
    "I understand a band wanting to explore new options but you dont mess with proven success." I don't care about this album, I haven't even heard it. I just wanted to point out that the guy who said this^seriously needs to be harpooned in the scrotum.
  88. JOHNB
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    This album rocks.
  89. sandyo
    Jul 1, 2006
    10
    AVA has created a very meaninggul album that speaks to you - it is intelligent, creative, and beautiful. While many people are comparing it to what Blink-182 use to be I am looking at it as what it is - pure hopeful thoughts that really make you think that if you look past all the drama and the hate in the world that everything will end up ok - and AVA really mean it - It is a wonderful AVA has created a very meaninggul album that speaks to you - it is intelligent, creative, and beautiful. While many people are comparing it to what Blink-182 use to be I am looking at it as what it is - pure hopeful thoughts that really make you think that if you look past all the drama and the hate in the world that everything will end up ok - and AVA really mean it - It is a wonderful enlightening album full of hopes and dreams to make the world a better place for everyone. So don't compare it to the potty-mouth humor that was Blink but look at it for what it is - a new band with a new start creating beautiful music Expand
  90. dymol
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Great album, unique sound and outlook
  91. HomieBB
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    this is great stuff
  92. DaveK
    Jun 26, 2006
    1
    Yikes, for all the hype they (Tom Delonge) gave it, it sure doesnt pan out to anything really. The radio song is bland as ever, don't really know why they dont stick to their old stuff. Last Blink album was horrible too, I understand a band wanting to explore new options but you dont mess with proven success.
  93. AndresA
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    perfect album, i just love it so epic and uplifting.
  94. NikkiP
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    They sound so much like blink 182. and yes i agree most of the songs do sound alike but all of the songs are good!!!!
  95. JennaP
    Jun 18, 2006
    2
    This record is terrible. I foolishly half-believed Tom and his hype. I figured he had good intentions and with members from BCR, The Offspring, and The Distillers how bad could it possibly be? I didn't think it was going to be this pretentious pile of psuedo-U2 crap. AVA aren't going to be saving anything, especially rock and roll, with lyrics like 'your best friend is not This record is terrible. I foolishly half-believed Tom and his hype. I figured he had good intentions and with members from BCR, The Offspring, and The Distillers how bad could it possibly be? I didn't think it was going to be this pretentious pile of psuedo-U2 crap. AVA aren't going to be saving anything, especially rock and roll, with lyrics like 'your best friend is not your girlfriend'. Don't waste your money, instead invest it in something worthwhile like the new Thursday CD. Expand
  96. ChrisW
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    I really don't like Blink 182, but I love this CD! The first time I heard it I didn't even know that this was the guy from Blink 182. The flow of the songs is perfect and although it sounds like an early U2 at times, they stay far away enough from that to be considered riping it. I hope that we get to hear more from Angels & Airwaves and less from Blink 182.
  97. Tracey
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Tom DeLonge is a god. This is the first album in over 2 years that I have bought in which I haved loved every single song. It's perfect.
  98. TheCriticTheCritic
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Very dissapointing. Maybe this guy should actually get singing lessons. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE crap and I very much like saying so.
  99. Jake
    Jun 15, 2006
    0
    Tom's a tool.
  100. IanC
    Jun 12, 2006
    3
    its not all bad, but unfortunately i just cant listen to 12 songs that almost all sound identical. best songs are: good day, it hurts, the adventure. but honestly i can only stand to listen to 1 song at a time or else his whiny voice, makes me want to punch babies.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Blender
    40
    The resulting batch of songs... just pad out the duller bits of blink, then add walls of mid-'80s-era U2 guitar chimes. [Jun 2006, p.136]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    If only DeLonge's nasal vocals were more suited to the Robert Smith romanticism of tracks like "It Hurts." [26 May 2006, p.107]
  3. Many of Angel's midtempo tracks, while well-intentioned, fail to reach the lofty heights to which they aspire.