We Started Nothing

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 12 out of 75

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2012
    8
    An album with good quality and poppy feel. Whilst a bit more ballad would seem to some as being neccessary for a band of this type, the slight rock edge not only make the songs more interesting but show off the up beat nature of the duo. Some songs don't live up to the standard set by the album, but overall is a delight.
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    We Started Nothing is a catchy pop album with endless chants and crazy beats. When you listen to it, it somehow talks no sense because the tracks' meaning are actually covered up by the duo's vocal and instrumental performances. The album is fresh and fun but some ridiculously catchy and good.
  3. JoeH
    Sep 23, 2008
    8
    A good album let down bya couple of tracks. Odd that no one else can hear a little pixies, breeders in there. Must just be me
  4. CristobalG.
    Sep 9, 2008
    9
    Really great, fun, with an incredible production...It's probably the only truly pop album I've listened to this year, and I simply loved it since the very first time I gave it a spin...there's something about this duo that makes them really special, it might sound subjective, but I'd say it's charisma. Anyway, get this one ASAP, but be careful, it won't leave Really great, fun, with an incredible production...It's probably the only truly pop album I've listened to this year, and I simply loved it since the very first time I gave it a spin...there's something about this duo that makes them really special, it might sound subjective, but I'd say it's charisma. Anyway, get this one ASAP, but be careful, it won't leave your stereo as soon as you might think. Expand
  5. zachp.
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    This record is one of the most fun pop debuts in years. no, not every song is great. but it's so refreshing to hear a band not take themselves seriously. keep your head; shut up and let me go; that's not my name.
  6. JuliaA.
    Jun 24, 2008
    8
    Not really original (We Walk somehow reminds me of Franz Ferdinand's Take Me out), but still fun to be heard. Maybe Katie got her voice slightly off on some tracks (like Keep Your Head and Be The One), but still this is an album you don't really feel guilty when decided to buy or try to give a spin.
  7. BradleyM
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    A breath of fresh air in the somewhat stale halls of indie pop misic. Catchy, fun and memorable
  8. KT
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Danceable, fun, and entirely summery.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. We Started Nothing sounds exuberant and chiefly concerned with pleasing itself. Which--as is always the way--only makes it more pleasing to others.
  2. These glimpses of something unexpected are few and far between, much of We Started Nothing tonally muddled into a weird new form of MOR: cool for five minutes amongst the fashionable crowd but unlikely to reach audiences beyond those fascinated with the hot and happening.
  3. De Martino and White are on an unashamed mission to make perfect pop, but seem to have treaded the path too literally.