Welcoming Home The Astronauts

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. lindak
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    This is the best album I have heard in a while. These guys rock! And live, they are the best!
  2. BillyK.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    This group has something that rock has been looking for for a long time....."something new" they have an artfully way of making music that rocks... Their live show is something to experience A++++
  3. LindseyS.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    I love this album. It has aot of different sounds and its very unique.
  4. Erin
    Feb 5, 2002
    9
    Best vocals and most unique sounds I've heard in a long time
  5. Tiffany
    Feb 5, 2002
    9
    From start to finish this album is amazing. No need to skip songs here. This album plain rocks!
  6. MicahM.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    this music is absolutely awesome!
  7. BobM.
    Feb 6, 2002
    8
    This album is nothing to original, but Flickerstick has the right idea about how to be a rock band. They are wild and yet make you think. It is hard to find both now a days. The lyrics are solid and at times great. The music is good throughout. Drummer Dom Weir is talented and singer Brandin Lea puts ever ounce of his energy into these songs. They are a killer live act and will only get This album is nothing to original, but Flickerstick has the right idea about how to be a rock band. They are wild and yet make you think. It is hard to find both now a days. The lyrics are solid and at times great. The music is good throughout. Drummer Dom Weir is talented and singer Brandin Lea puts ever ounce of his energy into these songs. They are a killer live act and will only get better in the studio in my opinion. Songs like Lift, Execution by Xmas lights, and Coke are awesome. Expand
  8. DarcyL.
    Feb 9, 2002
    10
    I'm so sick of everyone including stuff from Bands on the Run in their reviews. Hullo! They totally exaggerated their characters cause they were on TV. They aren't really like that. Let's focus on the music here. Flickerstick is better live, but that doesn't mean their cd sucks. They are able to create memorable songs that stick in your head without sounding like a I'm so sick of everyone including stuff from Bands on the Run in their reviews. Hullo! They totally exaggerated their characters cause they were on TV. They aren't really like that. Let's focus on the music here. Flickerstick is better live, but that doesn't mean their cd sucks. They are able to create memorable songs that stick in your head without sounding like a dinky pop act. They know how to rock out and how to be mellow-to be funny and meaningful. They don't sound like just any band out there, they have a sound purely their own-you can tell just by listening to a bridge in a song of theirs who it is. I wish everyone would put them in context-a good band-not some annoying tv characters. Expand
  9. JamesT.
    Dec 30, 2001
    9
    excellent, original, rock!
  10. PeggyK.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    WHTA is one of the top albums to come out in 2001. It's about time more musicians leave the pop world a lone and make their own music. If listeners can't appreciate the lyrics of songs like Coke, Direct Line to the Telepatic, and Execution by Christmas lights, maybe they should just turn on NSYNC and practice making signs for their next boy band incounters.
  11. KevinN.
    Feb 5, 2002
    10
    Awesome! Pure rock!
  12. Bruce
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    All those "official" reviews are so off. Remmber, its same people who said Nirvana would never be popular- and we all know they are dubbed "the new beatles". Flickersick does not have a lack of knowledge for creating new material, but it has the opposite! Their sound is so new and DIFFERENT than all the other crap out there. The only thing that record companies have againts Flickerstick All those "official" reviews are so off. Remmber, its same people who said Nirvana would never be popular- and we all know they are dubbed "the new beatles". Flickersick does not have a lack of knowledge for creating new material, but it has the opposite! Their sound is so new and DIFFERENT than all the other crap out there. The only thing that record companies have againts Flickerstick is that they arent on THEIR label. They know that the cliche rap-rock hybrids and teeny bopper stars will end soon. Flickerstick is gonna replace them! Expand
  13. Gynipher*N/A*
    Feb 9, 2002
    10
    the BEST album i have heard in a VERY long time.
  14. daven
    Sep 22, 2006
    8
    The best band to win one of those Vh1/MTV contests ever.
  15. Mel
    Jan 21, 2002
    9
    It rocks the most!
  16. TomC.
    Jan 24, 2002
    0
    These guys suck. So contrived!
  17. SamS
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    I grew up listening to the classics of rock: Zepplin, Floyd, Who, Stones, etc. This album takes me back there with the abundance of ballads that it brings to my playlist. Gotta love me some Flickerstick.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. The band doesn't exactly have a lot of new ideas about what a rock song should sound like.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Their reliance on slight lyricism and meandering is painfully evident. [9 Nov 2001, p.110]
  3. It's all pretty silly stuff, but if nothing else, it manages to establish Flickerstick as a frontrunner for the Varsity Blues II soundtrack.