What About Now - Bon Jovi
What About Now Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio release for the New Jersey rock band was produced with Jon Shanks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    It's easy to excoriate this band for producing another corporate-rock album, dominated as ever by Jon Bon Jovi's increasingly leathery bark and Richie Sambora's relentlessly uplifting guitar lines, but it's hard to slate them for still feeling kinship with their own blue-collar backgrounds.
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    The 12th Bon Jovi album extends the Springsteen liberalism in JBJ's stadium­rattling Jersey cheese into full-on "social commentary" (his term).
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    60
    There's enough gritty social commentary and songwriting class amid the occasional cheese to suggest that, on the long road to credibility, Bon Jovi are finally more than halfway there. [9 Mar 2013, p.52]
  4. 42
    What About Now has enough always-darkest-before-the-dawn positivity and bland arena-country warm fuzzies to chock a true believer. [15 Mar 2013,, p.62]
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    40
    Jovi's delivery of the usual cliches has a curious, sickly sheen. [May 2013, p.96]
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    The best way to enjoy What About Now is to not listen too closely, ignore the clumsy lyrics (“I feel just like Picasso, and you’re my masterpiece”), and ignore that it’s watered down U2 flirting with pop-country.
  7. 20
    Their most self-important but least memorable, engaging or relevant album yet. [Apr 2013, p.98]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best Bon Jovi's Album, the songs bring back the same style of their most recent albums like Lost Highway and The Circle. Because We Can like the first single does show pretty much how the new album sounds. And it even contain a Richie's Sambora solo song: Every Road Leads Home to You, what is unusual, but great. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Incrível The Circle Foi Excelente What About Now Foi Igualmente Sensacional Registrando De 2009 A 2013 Um Dos Melhores Períodos Do Bon Jovi.
    Top What About Now
    1-Beautiful World
    2-That's What The Water Made Me
    3-What About Now
    4-I'm With You
    5-Army Of One
    Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    Amazing album! The songs on this is absolutely fantastic! Thick as thieves is a really heartwarming song, and "The Fighter" has the best lyrics i've ever seen on a Bon Jovi album. A perfect 10 from me! Collapse
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    What About Now is an average record. It has its ups and downs. It is not at all bad, but it is the worst Bon Jovi album I've seen. It has good songs, such as Because We Can, I'm With You, Army Of One and Beautiful World but the ballads are awful. JBJ insists. Thick as Thieves is simply awful and Pictures of You is the worst song they have done in years. Sambora's solos dissapeared. I'm With You is the only song with an awesome solo. In the next album, they should return to their rock and roll roots Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    The album is a mixed bag, tough it isn't bad at all, I wish the band could have taken more risks this time, however they played it safe with more or less the formula that's been working since 2000's Crush. There are good songs here, from the single Because We Can, to others like Beautiful World, Pictures of You, Amen, That's what the Water Made Me and the title track, What About Now. As usual there are some tracks that you might want to skip, Army of One, The Fighter and Thick As Thieves are songs that I barely stand to the end. I don't like them.

    The album is available in two formats, the "normal" edition offers a solid selection of twelve songs and a "deluxe edition" that ironicaly has more problems than the other. This version has up to 16 tracks depending in your region, but the bonus tracks are somewhat dull, too soft and make it hard to listen the album to the very end. It is notable, however, the inclusion of Every Road Leads Home to You, from the recently released Aftermath of the Lowdown, the third solo album by Richie Sambora. Cool.

    Speaking of Sambora, his guitar skills are missed a lot of the time, which is a shame, sometimes you'd wish a powerful six string solo and what you get is some sort of different riff. However, there are more good solos here than in 2009's The Circle.

    Jon Bon Jovi promised a rock album, and I feel kind of cheated. Don't get me wrong, I'm not expecting another Slippery When Wet, this album is way better writen and the songs are more thougtful, but this album is way more into the pop side, you'd wish some rockin' guitars on the style of 2002's Bounce for a change, maybe a more raw sound, because What About Now at times feels over produced.

    To wrap it up, it is a good album, with catchy songs, some social comentary here and there, good writing over all, and an upbeat positive vibe over the 12/16 songs, but there's the strange feeling that the guys had a lot more to offer. Maybe is the producer, who isn't precisely a rock n' roll producer by any means, who knows.

    There is no reason not to buy What About Now if you want it, it deserves the chance, but Bon Jovi's evolution is less meaningful this time, they've played it too safe this time and are in debt fir their next album.
    Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    I’ve been a fan of Bon Jovi’s work for around the past 7 years, since just after the release of the fantastic Have a Nice Day in 2005. Their latest What About Now is one I’d compare mostly to their previous album, 2009’s The Circle, where song structures & choruses became more arena-friendly & lyrics strayed from personal struggles & more in the realm of politics & self-empowerment. And as a result it made for a welcome slight shift in their overall sound. However, despite a few duds here & there in the band’s discography, What About Now is the first Bon Jovi album I’ve ever disliked as a whole. Why, because they made some monumental change that alienated a lot of people? Nope, actually the problem is quite the opposite. In a nutshell it’s just a watered-down version of The Circle. I’d compare the situation most to a disappointment from last year, Mumford & Sons’ Babel. Their first album (which FYI I’m comparing to The Circle), while containing a couple duds & having a fairly repetitive formula, still managed to keep things fresh throughout, offering little bits of diversity in the process as well as some heartfelt lyrics. Next time around however they took the small bad things about the first album & blew them up, making everything feel formulaic & phoned-in, despite a few highlights. Here though it’s an even worse case; not only because there’s less key tracks, but also because there’s an all-around dullness that’s being overproduced-ly forced in your face throughout. Easily the biggest flaw with this album is how ridiculously uninspired, pretentious & corny the lyrics are. It names off pretty much every conceivable cliché “you can do it”/”self-empowerment”/”going through hard times” phrase in the book & doesn’t even try to hide that fact. And not only that, there are a few moments where Bon Jovi is practically copying themselves. First off, the vocal melodies & structure of the verses in the title track sound just like lazy a conglomeration between The Circle’s Superman Tonight & Happy Now. I’m With You subject matter-wise is just a self-important & less effective version of Keep the Faith’s Dry County, and Thick as Thieves is just Bounce’s Right Side of Wrong without the great lyrical imagery. Oh, and the verse melody in Beautiful World is a blatant copy of Matchbox Twenty’s How Far We’ve Come. And musically, while the album is far more tolerable in this department, it still feels like not as much effort was put in as there was on previous albums. Some tracks find themselves either without a good hook or trying desperately (and failing) to find one. And even Richie Sambora’s great guitar solos are for the most part reduced to mindless noodling. I thought Because We Can was a mediocre first single when I first heard it, but honestly it’s still one of the more notable tracks here. I mean despite the generic lyrics, at least it sticks in my head nicely. If there’s one track here that I’m truly impressed by, it’d be What’s Left of Me, which paints vivid & believable pictures of people going through hard times & willing to push through in a way that works far better than similar attempts here. It even has a 2nd verse that doubles as a brief social commentary about the decline of the classic American punk rock scene. Reflective self-analyzing ballad The Fighter’s pretty good too. Overall though this album left me cold, and it’s my first (and hopefully only) big musical disappointment of 2013 so far.
    Top 4 tracks: What’s Left of Me, The Fighter, Because We Can, That’s What the Water Made Me.
    Score: 45/100
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    1
    They were more enjoyable when they copied Loverboy. Jon Bon Jovi had more fire than Loverboy in the 80's when they targeted that demographic of fans with sound and style. They hired Loverboy's producer, Bruce Fairbairn to make it happen. Listen to the similarities between Loverboy's “Turn Me Loose” and BJ's “Let It Rock.” By Keep The Faith they nailed it down. They were better than any other band playing/writing that style of music. But then every release since has them searching for a new identity. They finally nailed it with What About Now, they are the kings of boring rock. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews