What About Now

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
What About Now Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio release for the New Jersey rock band was produced with Jon Shanks.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    It's easy to excoriate this band for producing another corporate-rock album, dominated as ever by Jon Bon Jovi's increasingly leathery bark and Richie Sambora's relentlessly uplifting guitar lines, but it's hard to slate them for still feeling kinship with their own blue-collar backgrounds.
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    The 12th Bon Jovi album extends the Springsteen liberalism in JBJ's stadium­rattling Jersey cheese into full-on "social commentary" (his term).
  3. Kerrang!
    Apr 12, 2013
    60
    There's enough gritty social commentary and songwriting class amid the occasional cheese to suggest that, on the long road to credibility, Bon Jovi are finally more than halfway there. [9 Mar 2013, p.52]
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Mar 11, 2013
    42
    What About Now has enough always-darkest-before-the-dawn positivity and bland arena-country warm fuzzies to chock a true believer. [15 Mar 2013,, p.62]
  5. Q Magazine
    Apr 10, 2013
    40
    Jovi's delivery of the usual cliches has a curious, sickly sheen. [May 2013, p.96]
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    40
    The best way to enjoy What About Now is to not listen too closely, ignore the clumsy lyrics (“I feel just like Picasso, and you’re my masterpiece”), and ignore that it’s watered down U2 flirting with pop-country.
  7. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 6, 2013
    20
    Their most self-important but least memorable, engaging or relevant album yet. [Apr 2013, p.98]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    Outra Obra-prima do Bon Jovi Excelente igualmente ao The Circle É 10.
    Top What About Now
    1-Beautiful World 2-That's What The Water Made Me
    Outra Obra-prima do Bon Jovi Excelente igualmente ao The Circle É 10.
    Top What About Now
    1-Beautiful World
    2-That's What The Water Made Me
    3-What About Now
    4-I'm With You
    5-Army Of One
    6-What's Left Of Me
    7-Pictures Of You
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best Bon Jovi's Album, the songs bring back the same style of their most recent albums like Lost Highway and The Circle. Because WeOne of the best Bon Jovi's Album, the songs bring back the same style of their most recent albums like Lost Highway and The Circle. Because We Can like the first single does show pretty much how the new album sounds. And it even contain a Richie's Sambora solo song: Every Road Leads Home to You, what is unusual, but great. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2015
    10
    .....................................................................................................Ñ acredito 19 votos negativos e 24.....................................................................................................Ñ acredito 19 votos negativos e 24 positivos kralho esse álbum é excelente..... Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Amazing album The Guitar Sound On the album Is Great Jon's Voice Sounds Great Fantastic Songs The Drum Parts Are Great One Of The Best AlbumsAmazing album The Guitar Sound On the album Is Great Jon's Voice Sounds Great Fantastic Songs The Drum Parts Are Great One Of The Best Albums In Hair Metal Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    10
    amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the best album of bon jovi i've ever heard............great arena rock oh like something you were long foramazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the best album of bon jovi i've ever heard............great arena rock oh like something you were long for and finally come back,,,,,,,,,every time i hear this album make me happier Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    The album is a mixed bag, tough it isn't bad at all, I wish the band could have taken more risks this time, however they played it safe withThe album is a mixed bag, tough it isn't bad at all, I wish the band could have taken more risks this time, however they played it safe with more or less the formula that's been working since 2000's Crush. There are good songs here, from the single Because We Can, to others like Beautiful World, Pictures of You, Amen, That's what the Water Made Me and the title track, What About Now. As usual there are some tracks that you might want to skip, Army of One, The Fighter and Thick As Thieves are songs that I barely stand to the end. I don't like them.

    The album is available in two formats, the "normal" edition offers a solid selection of twelve songs and a "deluxe edition" that ironicaly has more problems than the other. This version has up to 16 tracks depending in your region, but the bonus tracks are somewhat dull, too soft and make it hard to listen the album to the very end. It is notable, however, the inclusion of Every Road Leads Home to You, from the recently released Aftermath of the Lowdown, the third solo album by Richie Sambora. Cool.

    Speaking of Sambora, his guitar skills are missed a lot of the time, which is a shame, sometimes you'd wish a powerful six string solo and what you get is some sort of different riff. However, there are more good solos here than in 2009's The Circle.

    Jon Bon Jovi promised a rock album, and I feel kind of cheated. Don't get me wrong, I'm not expecting another Slippery When Wet, this album is way better writen and the songs are more thougtful, but this album is way more into the pop side, you'd wish some rockin' guitars on the style of 2002's Bounce for a change, maybe a more raw sound, because What About Now at times feels over produced.

    To wrap it up, it is a good album, with catchy songs, some social comentary here and there, good writing over all, and an upbeat positive vibe over the 12/16 songs, but there's the strange feeling that the guys had a lot more to offer. Maybe is the producer, who isn't precisely a rock n' roll producer by any means, who knows.

    There is no reason not to buy What About Now if you want it, it deserves the chance, but Bon Jovi's evolution is less meaningful this time, they've played it too safe this time and are in debt fir their next album.
    Collapse
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    1
    They were more enjoyable when they copied Loverboy. Jon Bon Jovi had more fire than Loverboy in the 80's when they targeted that demographicThey were more enjoyable when they copied Loverboy. Jon Bon Jovi had more fire than Loverboy in the 80's when they targeted that demographic of fans with sound and style. They hired Loverboy's producer, Bruce Fairbairn to make it happen. Listen to the similarities between Loverboy's “Turn Me Loose” and BJ's “Let It Rock.” By Keep The Faith they nailed it down. They were better than any other band playing/writing that style of music. But then every release since has them searching for a new identity. They finally nailed it with What About Now, they are the kings of boring rock. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews