Who Needs Actions When You Got Words

  • Record Label: 679
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2006
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. This is a valuable record from a troubling and potentially vital new voice.
  2. His world may be grittier, but Plan B's up there with Alex Turner as a lyricist, crafting simple and darkly witty songs about the reality of life in Britain.
  3. Plan B manages to milk his biographical plight without resorting to the childhood-trauma-as-pissing-contest tactics of most memoirists.
  4. You would call Drew the most exciting rapper Britain has produced since Dizzee Rascal, if that didn't sound like such faint praise.
  5. This is one of the most exciting debut albums for sometime.
  6. B continues to acquit himself admirably on purely technical terms, wrapping a slow, slithering tongue around the quick stabs of his guitar.
  7. Uncut
    90
    This is the most powerful, literate and just plain individual British debut album since The Streets' Original Pirate Material. [Jul 2006, p.94]
  8. Urb
    80
    Actions' unique and new-fangled deliverance of mostly acoustic and certainly threadbare beats see to it that Plan B doesn't fall into the grime or dubstep pigeonhole. [May 2007, p.97]
  9. Q Magazine
    80
    It's [his] spin on social commentary that singles Drew out. [Jul 2006, p.116]
  10. Alternative Press
    80
    Sometimes it's pretty unpleasant, but it's the rawness that makes it so genuine. [May 2007, p.162]
  11. Mojo
    70
    Its sound remains as confrontational and as provocative as its content. [Aug 2006, p.103]
  12. Vibe
    70
    His cynical and intimate coming-of-age tales are a welcome twist on British rap. [May 2007, p.116]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 7 out of 36
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    A very dark and powerful album which will give you goosebumps. His dark lyrics and flow are amazing and his guitar playing just adds to it. MyA very dark and powerful album which will give you goosebumps. His dark lyrics and flow are amazing and his guitar playing just adds to it. My favourite British artist right now. Full Review »
  2. theheat
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    What a amazin debut album from ben drew, lyrically stunning every track is pure fresh uk talent can't stop lisenen to his unique take on What a amazin debut album from ben drew, lyrically stunning every track is pure fresh uk talent can't stop lisenen to his unique take on urban life - all you haters are just jealous of this boys skillz, this cat is nothing like eminem - what because hes white and raps? eminem is kosha but when did he last cut a track strummin a guitar and soulful singing? if your a tru fan of quailty, uk hip/hop go buy this album NOW believe Full Review »
  3. elleelectric.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best album i've heard all year, Ben drew's lyrics are incredibly thought provoking, and fit so well with the This is probably the best album i've heard all year, Ben drew's lyrics are incredibly thought provoking, and fit so well with the catchy riffs. I love the way he's incorporated uk hip hop with indie, so he appeals to many musical scenes, that takes talent, and from this album, it is apparent Plan B has a lot of it. "SICK 2 DEF" left me speechless. Full Review »