User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 2 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesM
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    I'm amazed that the this only recieved a 77! its an indie rock classic, this album changed my musical taste from lame emo/hardcore music to indie rock... the 9.3 users score speaks for itself
  2. Dennis
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    The last minute and a half of "Les Os" might just be the best little bit of music ever composed. Absolutely brilliant album.
  3. gref
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Apparently stagnation in current musical production and composition, is completely reflected in the stale, unsophisticated musical sense of the entertainment review industry. A truly innovative and impressive album, with all the joy and unpretentious excitement of youth. Also Les Os, I Was Born, Tuff Ghost, The Clap, Jellybones and Let's Get Known fucking rock.
  4. sarahr
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Absolutely incredible - Drawer B sucks - Innoculate the Innocuous is one of the best songs of this decade.....this album is ESSENTIAL
  5. Unicorns
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Amazing. "Drawer B" sucks.
  6. janedoe
    May 29, 2005
    10
    fun fun
  7. HunterB
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    I'll start by saying that this is the most original, unique, genuinely real album that I've heard in ages. I won't complicate things by going on and on about the record's greatness, but I will say one thing: buy it. Now.
  8. tinah
    Mar 14, 2004
    8
    Definitely worth listening to. The Unicorns are fun and whimsical. They take conventional indie rock tricks and transform them into their own. Catchy, cute, impressive! And best of all... They're coming to Ottawa Canada! Most bands miss the capital but we get to see them!! Yay!!!!
  9. CurranF
    Mar 9, 2004
    8
    Rockin'
  10. JohnA
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    My first 10 ever. Brilliant album. Can't stop listening...
  11. wo
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Loved this album... Hope to hear more good stuff from them in the future.
  12. RobA
    Mar 1, 2005
    8
    When I first got this album I listened to it constantly. Now, about a year later, I still enjoy it, but it certainly has lost some of its sparkle. This isn't an album that will change the world or your life, but it is certainly fun.
  13. MikeH
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    Somewhere in the asshole of my eye theres' a muscle that relaxes when I cry....Fucking brilliant imagery and so much fun. Reminds me of the days when I would lay on my bedroom floor staring at the ceiling day dreaming of impossible feats and drooling.
  14. jesse
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Super refreshing disc is one of the most amazing records in the last 5 years.
  15. JT
    Dec 23, 2004
    8
    I agree, Drawer B sucks. This album has a lot of good tricks and twists. They portray elements of other bands (I could mistake a couple tracks as Microphones or the Coral or even Franz Ferdinand), but have their own distinct feel. All and all if you take the album as it seems to have been intended its pretty fun despite the apparent death theme. (!?) Good album.
  16. djm
    Dec 14, 2006
    9
    Only people that love this album will bother to rate it, thus the perhaps undeserved high score. As one of them, however, I have to say that the lo-fi and absurd catchy hooks are just great. "I was born a unicorn", "ready to die", "inoculate the innocuous", "jellybones", "tuff gho st" are the most standout tracks.
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This album is beyond amazing. It's songs are great by themselves and have some awesome hooks. Every song is through-composed, which speaks for The Unicorns' compositional skills. As great as all the songs are by themselves, however, it only gets better. Upon listening to this album about 20 times, I realized that it's also carries a loose theme and tells the story of The Unicorns'This album is beyond amazing. It's songs are great by themselves and have some awesome hooks. Every song is through-composed, which speaks for The Unicorns' compositional skills. As great as all the songs are by themselves, however, it only gets better. Upon listening to this album about 20 times, I realized that it's also carries a loose theme and tells the story of The Unicorns' acceptance of death. The early songs on the album speak of how great it is to be alive and the feats of the living, but after "I Was Born A Unicorn" it takes on a tone that praises death and an acceptance and almost embracing of the inevitable. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. To be sure, there is an ironic smirk clinging to much of Who Will Cut Our Hair..., but there is also the subtle beatings of unpretentious sympathy and maverick potential.
  2. The Unicorns’ schtick isn’t very difficult to see through; they’re grown adults writing children’s songs for grown adults.
  3. It’s improbably refreshing to hear musicians that were clearly weaned on Frank Zappa, Supertramp and ELO messing things up and having a laugh.