Wild Hunt

Wild Hunt Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After his well-received debut album released by Swedish label Gravitation, Kristian Matsson returns with his follow-up on the US-based label Dead Oceans.

Top Track

A Lion's Heart
There's a palace a fallin' There's a smoke in the sky There's a boy running downhill to the lowlands tonight And he's catching the train to where... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. He trumps his incredible debut in every way without resorting to drastic tactics in order to avoid some sophomore slump, instead subtly perfecting his approach to great effect.
  2. Ultimately, The Wild Hunt is anything but a disappointment; instead it's a smooth progression that departed exactly where he left off: it's still affecting with countless moments of brilliance, it still showcases a musician that is everything we could want in a songwriter and on a more contextual look, it's still a man making simply honest music with nothing in the way but his heart and soul.
  3. 82
    While his latest may not be as triumphant as his debut LP, Shallow Grave, The Wild Hunt is a worthy effort indeed.
  4. Uncut
    80
    's the urgent but effortless certainty that Matsson was born to sing these songs. [May 2010, p.108]
  5. Careful listening reveals a newfound looseness and emotional range here.
  6. Alternative Press
    70
    While Matssib certainly isn't breaking any new ground on his follow-up to 2008's "Shallow Grave," the songs reign supreme and his emotive tenor mixes perfectly with his worn-down acoustic guitar, all captured in perfect lo-fidelity. [May 2010, p.108]
  7. These old balladeer's tales are fleshed out with metaphors and all the tricks of a great writer. The burble of guitar lines complement it all artfully. That doesn't mean the criticisms go away--there is a lack of invention within any genre, and too often the lustre dulls.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I can't stop listening to this album, nor can I stop listening to "Shallow Grave". Both are fantastic records. Each track is sung with brutalI can't stop listening to this album, nor can I stop listening to "Shallow Grave". Both are fantastic records. Each track is sung with brutal honesty and passion. I can't get enough of The Tallest Man On Earth. I highly recommend this album. A Expand
  2. TarkyF
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Wow. A massive leap over the debut. It's been a couple years since an album turned me into an evangelist; making me helpless to do Wow. A massive leap over the debut. It's been a couple years since an album turned me into an evangelist; making me helpless to do anything but endlessly replay it and force it on all my friends, but this one only took a couple spins to reach that status. Check out "King of Spain" and "Kids on the Run" and I'll be surprised if you don't feel the same. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Mattson is a wordsmith. Plain and simple. There is not a line on this album that doesn't have a deeper meaning. His gravelly, Bob Dylan-esqueMattson is a wordsmith. Plain and simple. There is not a line on this album that doesn't have a deeper meaning. His gravelly, Bob Dylan-esque voice puts a form of energy not found in most of today's folk. When Bob Dylan finally decides to retire the guitar, Mattson wil be ready to steal the spotlight. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2011
    9
    I am almost convinced that this guy cannot write a bad tune. His haggard, weather beaten voice might be off putting to some, but it adds anI am almost convinced that this guy cannot write a bad tune. His haggard, weather beaten voice might be off putting to some, but it adds an interesting dimension to his music, and you grow to love it. If you like folk music this album is ideal. Collapse
  5. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    His raw voice may turn a few away, but it is this same raw energy that makes his music so appealing. There are a few mechanical issues hereHis raw voice may turn a few away, but it is this same raw energy that makes his music so appealing. There are a few mechanical issues here and there, but it is an amazing piece of work. Expand

Related Articles

  1. April's Best New Music

    April's Best New Music Image
    Published: April 29, 2010
    Looking for new music? Our list of the month