Wolf - Tyler, The Creator
Wolf Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release from the Odd Future rapper features guest appearances from such artists as Erykah Badu, Hodgy Beats, Frank Ocean, Pharrell, Laetitia Sadier, and Earl Sweatshirt.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. 90
    Wolf is both a departure and a refinement for Tyler, combining his best traits in such a way as to nearly eliminate his weaknesses.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    We already knew he was a talented composer and producer, but Wolf suggests he now may just be the finished article.
  3. 80
    At times, there's the sense Tyler's charisma outweighs his content, and as such it's probably up to Earl to deliver the group's first bona fide hip-hop classic.
  4. 70
    Tyler is his own worst enemy, of course. But the buoyancy of the production and the overall intrigue of hearing him struggle with his idle hands prevent the album from getting mired down in too much vanity.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    It's complex, conflicted, and bipolar. Paranoid, even. Most of all, it reveals the harmless and empathetic character behind Tyler, the Creator's complicated persona.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    70
    This album is so enjoyable on a musical level that my qualms with Tyler as a personality are essentially nullified, but I’m not sure that will ring true for most others.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This may be a little late, but the fact that I have listened to it since it released shows something. This has to be my favorite rap album ofThis may be a little late, but the fact that I have listened to it since it released shows something. This has to be my favorite rap album of all time. It saved my life, and I cannot give an album a greater title Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Tyler the Creator really stepped up his game to the next level lyrically and production. He tackles some difficult topics such as his rise toTyler the Creator really stepped up his game to the next level lyrically and production. He tackles some difficult topics such as his rise to fame, not knowing his father, heartbreak and the death of his grandmother. His maturity as an artist is clear. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    I think this albums is his best album to me personally. He has matured from Goblin a lot. He stated that, cutting bodies up and raping didn'tI think this albums is his best album to me personally. He has matured from Goblin a lot. He stated that, cutting bodies up and raping didn't interest anymore. With this album you get a personal track like "Answer" then you have your having fun go stupid song like "Domo 23" and then you have my favorite which is "Rusty" where he just goes off. His lyrics have gotten way better since Goblin. The production on this album is great!! SO FAR this is the best hip-hop album of 2013. SO FAR!!!! Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    One thing Tyler presents to us in Wolf is that he has finally matured, alot.

    No longer is he talking about rape, no longer do his beats
    One thing Tyler presents to us in Wolf is that he has finally matured, alot.

    No longer is he talking about rape, no longer do his beats feel thrown together but instead feel like hes put in everything he has got to show.

    I love this LP for its catchy instrumentals, brilliant ideas, funny but deep lyrics and its overall consistency.
    Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    I liked Wolf. It had good verses, good beats, and good tracks all together. Just the thing that kind of disappointed me was that it didn'tI liked Wolf. It had good verses, good beats, and good tracks all together. Just the thing that kind of disappointed me was that it didn't have that Dark Flare that made up Bastard and Goblin. And, the subjects of the verses start to kind of get repetitive but, overall, it was a good album. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    8
    Amazing. Probably the best album released this year so far. While some of the lyrics don't rhyme, the beats and story make up for it. IfAmazing. Probably the best album released this year so far. While some of the lyrics don't rhyme, the beats and story make up for it. If you're into Alternative hip-hop, this is definitely something you'll like. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    I'd struggle to call this music. This is pretentious whining from a sad little man with no life experience. It sounds like he recorded it inI'd struggle to call this music. This is pretentious whining from a sad little man with no life experience. It sounds like he recorded it in his basement on garageband. Stay away. Collapse

See all 39 User Reviews