Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 151

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    I fell in love with this album the very first time I heard it. I usually have to listen to albums a few times before I actually appreciate it but with this one, I instantly found a connection. Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is a brilliant album. Each track sounds like a single. It's produced very well and the whole album is catchy. Thomas Mars is a brilliant lyricists and a beautiful singer. HisI fell in love with this album the very first time I heard it. I usually have to listen to albums a few times before I actually appreciate it but with this one, I instantly found a connection. Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is a brilliant album. Each track sounds like a single. It's produced very well and the whole album is catchy. Thomas Mars is a brilliant lyricists and a beautiful singer. His lyrics are poetry and very subtle on the ears. It's just a wonderful listen. All In All, Phoenix has created a masterpiece. A Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2014
    6
    Guys, calm down. WAP is not the masterpiece everyone says it is. The first two tracks, being Lisztomania and 1901 are awesome, but the rest are just standard, relatively uninteresting, and poorly executed pop songs. This is just average.
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Beautifully constructed, addictive, and just good, wholesome fun! This album is a blast from start to finish. Despite only having 9 songs, this album delivers! With many catchy songs that I guarantee will stay in your head, this is a must-hear. The simplicity of this album is one key factor to why it is such an enjoyable album. The must-hear songs on this album if you don't intend to buyBeautifully constructed, addictive, and just good, wholesome fun! This album is a blast from start to finish. Despite only having 9 songs, this album delivers! With many catchy songs that I guarantee will stay in your head, this is a must-hear. The simplicity of this album is one key factor to why it is such an enjoyable album. The must-hear songs on this album if you don't intend to buy it (which you should!) are "Lisztomania", "1901", "Love Like A Sunset", "Countdown (Sick For The Big Sun)", and "Armistice". Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is Phoenix's best album and my personal favourite.
    It's sweet and soft, with catchy hooks and great melodies. The sound is incredibly accurate, precise, crafted lovingly. There's no bad tracks here, every song deserves its place on the tracklist.
    It's an insightful, emotional and unique record.
  5. Apr 25, 2012
    6
    Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is a peppy albums with upbeat tracks like "1901" and "Armistice". However, I find that the songs lack the complexity to really remain interesting over dozens of hearings. They're great the first couple of times through, but they lose their charm later.
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Fantastic album; lives up to all the hype it received. There is not a bad track on it, and it such a dramatic evolution of Phoenix's previous work that it is hard to believe the same band made this and crappy Euro-pop albums like United.
  7. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    Phoenix has masterfully created an artistic and insightful album.
  8. MehMeh
    Jun 30, 2009
    6
    A fun album, but the audio equivalent of a beach novel. Basically sounds like _Is This It_ with a bit more polish and pop. Not worthy of the hype, but worth the $7 I got it for at Target.
  9. rozzys
    Jul 3, 2009
    9
    I can't wait to here this live and dance to it with a mass of loved-up fans. This album is one that can easily assume the role of being the soundtrack to your life because it's so addictive and energetic and foot-tapplingly damn good. Lyrics were always going to be a little cheesey- Ils sont francais! I am a fan of montreal aswell but I didn't draw many likeness's I can't wait to here this live and dance to it with a mass of loved-up fans. This album is one that can easily assume the role of being the soundtrack to your life because it's so addictive and energetic and foot-tapplingly damn good. Lyrics were always going to be a little cheesey- Ils sont francais! I am a fan of montreal aswell but I didn't draw many likeness's beween themselves and Of Montreal. Album art must get a mention here. Reflects the album itself, a colourful ensemble of musical A-bombs! Expand
  10. JakeW
    Feb 2, 2010
    5
    Am I the only person who doesn't get this album? I really want to like it, everyone else seems to, but I just find it... dull?
  11. KateH.
    Oct 12, 2009
    8
    Love it! Great style and great charm.
  12. OliverF.
    Dec 31, 2009
    6
    Sort of a summer record. You can put it on without bumming your friends out, or yourself. However, if you listen to it on your own, there is dreadful sense of every vocal line sounding the same. Let's face it, it is pretty samey.
  13. MarylinY
    May 28, 2009
    10
    A great album from the french rock band, reminds me the strokes, they are genius!!
  14. GabrielC
    May 28, 2009
    10
    They are the new strokes, what a wonderful album, Lisztomania, Fences are 1901 and Countdown are the standout tracks.
  15. CharlesDuckworth
    May 28, 2009
    7
    A fine, fun filled pop album. No great departure from their previous work, expect more of same high energy pop-rock we have come to expect from Poenix.
  16. matthewa
    May 29, 2009
    8
    This is good but not as good as their best album to date, It's Never Been Like That. That being said, these guys have mastered the art of hook-writing and all of these are enjoyable listening. I just don' t think this merits an 83 compared to the 72 their last album got. I am assuming that when Phoenix-hating Tiny Mix Tapes and Dusted put out their reviews for this album, the This is good but not as good as their best album to date, It's Never Been Like That. That being said, these guys have mastered the art of hook-writing and all of these are enjoyable listening. I just don' t think this merits an 83 compared to the 72 their last album got. I am assuming that when Phoenix-hating Tiny Mix Tapes and Dusted put out their reviews for this album, the score won't be in the 80s anymore (unfortunately). Expand
  17. WeezyBreezy
    Jun 4, 2009
    6
    If this band comes through my hometown, or even a neighboring city, I'll go the distance to see them, because I bet it will be a killer show and a few dollars well spent for a good night of uptempo rockin' out. But this record is an extremely well-executed re-tread of old indie pop rock territory at best, combining Strokes-inspired American Rock vocals with the uptempo 4/4 If this band comes through my hometown, or even a neighboring city, I'll go the distance to see them, because I bet it will be a killer show and a few dollars well spent for a good night of uptempo rockin' out. But this record is an extremely well-executed re-tread of old indie pop rock territory at best, combining Strokes-inspired American Rock vocals with the uptempo 4/4 lifeless sheen of British indie rock. The British influence is quite clear, and in fact you'll note that reviewers from across the pond are the ones giving this record the chilliest reception, because they've learned the hard way to distrust indie-pop polish as a sign of greatness (or one hopes they have). A few good singles for the dance floor do not earn a 10 (or even an 8). The most redeeming quality of this record is the lyrics, which carry much more pleasing (actually, wonderfully intelligent) nuance than this music usually attempts, good enough, in fact, to push it into the 8s if it weren't for the fact that they're all delivered over basically the same musical vehicle, which incapacitates great lines like "Do you remember when 21 was young" by drawing attention to the fact that this band is aging and still hasn't figured out a way to put their greatest strength at the forefront. Just a little quietness or a little more swagger, a shift or disruption of the pounding 4 on the floor, a little break from the Strokes-esque removal with which all the lyrics are delivered would push this to greatness. This fairly serious misstep earns Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart a 6 in my book instead of the 7 I want to give out for those lyrics. This record will be fun for a good long while (read: 3-4 months), and then the next thing will come along. However, until that happens, I intend to happily soak this record up in all its arpeggio'd glory and get my dance on. Expand
  18. Ollie!
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    This is one of those rare albums that I like every song on, and will probably never get bored of. I can and do listen to it on repeat for most of the work day. My wife also feels the same way, so it's not just me. :) Album of the year!
  19. AliC
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    Can't stop listening to this album...highly addictive, but you'll still be listening to it obsessively 8 weeks later.
  20. Reclaimer
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    Energetic, fun and one that does not wear thin quickly. This is one you can enjoy for quite a while.
  21. GeorgieP.
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Inspiring ! Creative ! In a category of its own ! Phoenix has created a unique sound that's just so pleasing to the ear that words just don't do it justice. You need to listen to the quality of this band to truly understand. Wolfgang Amadeus is what I've been waiting for since i got sucked into "United". Don't miss out on this band, they've got some talent.
  22. BobS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    8
    Excellent, is all you can say about the songs Lisztomania and 1901. But some songs just revert to dullness, like Girlfriend. Bleugh. That song is awful. But why are they singing in English if they're french?
  23. NicholasS
    May 27, 2009
    10
    Perfect records do not come around often. Especially in this day in age. But when one does, I think we need to go out of our way to note that. This album is the best album of its genre in years. The production is perfect, not overdone. The songs are catchy, but not over-play catchy. Can't get sick of them-catchy is more like it. Will be listening to this one for years to go. The Perfect records do not come around often. Especially in this day in age. But when one does, I think we need to go out of our way to note that. This album is the best album of its genre in years. The production is perfect, not overdone. The songs are catchy, but not over-play catchy. Can't get sick of them-catchy is more like it. Will be listening to this one for years to go. The instrumental "Love Like A Sunset" (Pt 1 & 2) Breaks the album up perfectly to two parts with two climaxes. Expand
  24. AaronH
    May 28, 2009
    9
    Excellent, Great Production Value has a great vibe that keeps you grooving and beats out all the Pop crap out there.
  25. MycroftW.
    May 28, 2009
    9
    Like all your favourite pop-albums rolled into one and the result is frankly better than the sum of the parts. Bloody good!
  26. IanM
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    I had never even heard of Phoenix until I found this album, but once I listened to WAP once, I could not stop listening to it! This album is like a breath of satisfyingly fresh air. I have almost all of their albums now, but this is the best one by far! Awesome...that is about all else I can say.
  27. MS
    Aug 13, 2009
    7
    A good pop album for the summer from a solid band. Continues the Justice/ Daft punk French 'thang' but mixes it with Coldplay-style pop songs. Probably be forgotten by the time the leaves start to drop in Autumn.
  28. GriffT
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    Good mix of their old style, and the direction they're headed. Very well done.
  29. Andy
    May 27, 2009
    7
    Incredibly infectious pop-rock. You're not having any fun if you can't enjoy this album.
  30. BeeMan
    May 27, 2009
    9
    I've listened to this album at least a dozen times since it leaked a while back. It's very catchy throughout, although the first half of the album is much stronger than the second. Still one of my favorites from this year so far.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It’s an approximation of what perfection might mean, which is: precise, lean, deliberate. There’s not a wasted moment here, and not one moment overstays it’s welcome, which from a bunch of aristocrats (I get) is pretty frickin’ rich.
  2. Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix is a slender, fat-free affair, all Gallic swerve and subtle swagger. This may well be the album to broaden their fan-base wider then the fashionable glitterati.
  3. The real star of the show isn’t the often-bloodless figure of Thomas Mars, it’s the brilliantly detailed production, centred around the dovetailing drum and guitar chops, best heard via headphones for the full stroboscopic effect.