User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 4 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ConradC
    Jan 17, 2003
    8
    not so bad, incredible mix and production, but too many ballads; Four letter words introduction is an incredible remembrance to Ac/dc songs, but thank god, with the tradiconal leppardettes armony vocals; i feel they miss the Mutt´s touch in the songs. Its better than euphoria.
  2. chero
    Sep 9, 2002
    10
    Def Leppard is the best.. this is the best album yet, and im sure its not the last!! LEPP ON!! Chero in Ga
  3. CharlesG.
    Sep 10, 2002
    9
    It's a good rock-pop album. A powerful mid-tempo collection very catchy... I love Torn to Shreds, You're so beatiful, Scar and Cry.
  4. JimP.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    The reviewers are way off. This album is even better than Hysteria. Slow starter, but so was Pyromania.
  5. BrentP.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    This album is solid, with great songs, and is the most musically mature album, Def Leppard has done. Is it their signature hard rock? No. But is IS Rock, with some songs that will surprise you.
  6. RobinB.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    I love the new album, i really enjoy it. I have two, one for the car and one for house. That should say it all.
  7. ShawnS.
    Sep 9, 2002
    9
    Very Good Album. It took me a few times to listen through it before I was completley sold on what Def Leppard was selling me. I think this is their best album since Adrenalize and should have more hit singles on it than any of their previous albums. I can listen through the entire album without skipping any songs. Very well produced and well thought out. It is defintley a different Very Good Album. It took me a few times to listen through it before I was completley sold on what Def Leppard was selling me. I think this is their best album since Adrenalize and should have more hit singles on it than any of their previous albums. I can listen through the entire album without skipping any songs. Very well produced and well thought out. It is defintley a different direction than I have been used to, but I am completely in love with this album. Collapse
  8. RhondaS.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    Def Leppard has once again released an album full of excellent music -- something they've consistently done for the past 22 years. There is no filler on a Def Leppard release and X is no exception. From the ballads to the the rockers, there is something for everyone on X.
  9. DarrenC.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    This is a bloody terrific album from a band thats been my favourite since I first heard "Rock of ages" back in the 80's. Rock on Def....Your Australian mate Darren
  10. LaurieI
    Sep 15, 2003
    10
    I loved the CD. I think some of these critics suck. That album is great. there a couple of song that are not as great as others but i could listen to them all day long. in fact they are all i play. i just click with them. They have been my favorite band since they came out and most of the lyrics touch my heart/soul. They were awesome in concert an aug 1 2003 on joe's 44th birthday. i I loved the CD. I think some of these critics suck. That album is great. there a couple of song that are not as great as others but i could listen to them all day long. in fact they are all i play. i just click with them. They have been my favorite band since they came out and most of the lyrics touch my heart/soul. They were awesome in concert an aug 1 2003 on joe's 44th birthday. i didn't want it to end and i wished they played more dates near me, i would be there for each and everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  11. JodyJ.
    Sep 9, 2002
    10
    Their best album since Hysteria! Rock on guys.
  12. PatriciaP.
    Sep 12, 2002
    9
    This album is very enjoyable. Every song flows well when listening to the whole CD. Definately grows on you!!
  13. RyanM
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    A late-career classic which only gets better over time.
  14. DamienS
    Sep 1, 2006
    7
    This is definitely DL's worst release since 1980's "On through the Night" and it might not even be as good as that one, but the truth is that even at their worst, they find a way to make some truly wonderful music, as in the beautiful "Long Long Way to Go" and the irresistably catchy "Everyday." However, this album is still chock full of filler and includes two rather pathetic This is definitely DL's worst release since 1980's "On through the Night" and it might not even be as good as that one, but the truth is that even at their worst, they find a way to make some truly wonderful music, as in the beautiful "Long Long Way to Go" and the irresistably catchy "Everyday." However, this album is still chock full of filler and includes two rather pathetic stabs at modern pop music in "Girl like You" and "Unbelievable," making it a major step back from the return to form of "Euphoria." Expand
  15. SamI
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    Effortlessly cathy stuff. May not be the best from Lep, but still better than most of the junk the industry is spewing out these days.
  16. TimothyC
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    I have been listening to Def Leppard X almost everyday since it came out July 2002 and it keeps getting better and better. There are a lot of false definitions of rock music and I'm glad Def Leppard goes against the fakes, pretenders, and phonies.
  17. GuyH
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    Well crafted pop indeed. The more I listen to this album the more I like it. If you over analyze this album then your opinion will differ.But the beauty of pop is that it doesn't require an analysis only an open mind that wants to have some fun. This album delivers with a new twist while still staying rooted in what makes Def Leppard a band you can't forget.
  18. TimJ
    Aug 12, 2003
    8
    A couple groaners lyricly, but overall, I'm very happy with the sound. Why this thing doesn't have about 5 hit single is beyond me...
  19. TonjaU
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    I love the entire mix.. plodders? ..no way! The ballads are as good as ever. The tempo in these songs are set just fine. Upbeat.. and a faster tempo for their next album would be a plus. Overall this album is a perfect 10!
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Certainly there are some weak tracks... but Long Long Way To Go and Unbelievable are expertly crafted pop-rock tunes. [Aug 2002, p.122]
  2. There just isn't enough memorable music here.
  3. 40
    X is hindered by a glut of ballads and plodders. [#9, p.144]