Y Not - Ringo Starr
Y Not Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest solo album for the Beatles drummer features Paul McCartney on the track "Walk With You," as well as guest vocals from Joss Stone, Ben Harper, and Richard Marx.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. At this point, Starr’s limitations as a vocalist and a songwriter are well known. But if you’ve been on the Starr trip thus far, Y Not shouldn’t jostle you off.
  2. The heart of the 10-song collection comes from his continued exploration of how to hold onto noble ideals in the face of ever-rising cynicism and violence.
  3. The big guns are firing again on his newest release, Y Not, and to good effect.
  4. His 16th studio album, Y Not--recorded with a cast of all-stars including Paul McCartney and Joss Stone--is full of straightforward, sweetly melodic tunes, most of them about Starr's abiding optimism.
  5. There is charm to Starr’s tried and true: exciting it is not but it’s as comforting as an old friend who doesn’t change, he just stays the same.
  6. Ringo solo album... Come back! It’s not that bad!
  7. Flush with broad sentiment and a messy spread of good feelings, Y Not finds the funniest Beatle on the outside of the joke.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 28, 2013
    I have always been a fan of Ringo's music (except for perhaps the late 70's) and I think this album is the best he has had in a long time. After the split with Mark Hudson, people were expecting something new from Ringo, and that's exactly what he did. His duet with McCartney was superb and I can't wait to see what he does next. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews