Year Of The Black Rainbow - Coheed and Cambria
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 110
  2. Negative: 36 out of 110

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    Really disappointing - total lack of their typical anthemic songs (save, perhaps, Here we are Juggernaut). Over-produced, the whole album feels dark and dreary. In my opinion, their worst album to date.
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    5
    As technical as it is, 'Year of the Black Rainbow' can't break away and become what it was meant to be. As cliche as it sounds, this was supposed to be Coheed and Cambria's love-letter to their fans and in essence; their magnum opus. Highly talked about before its release, the hype not only got me researching and anticipating; I also pre-ordered it to boot. The album is as technical asAs technical as it is, 'Year of the Black Rainbow' can't break away and become what it was meant to be. As cliche as it sounds, this was supposed to be Coheed and Cambria's love-letter to their fans and in essence; their magnum opus. Highly talked about before its release, the hype not only got me researching and anticipating; I also pre-ordered it to boot. The album is as technical as it gets, with songs like 'Guns of Summer' making any fan of prog have weak knees. The guitar work is great, and the drumming is sufficient; but the bass seems flat more often than not. The technicality that is on display draws from what the album truly is, a flawed piece of work that is equally uneventful as it is impressive. Now, not to say that the entire album is bad. Songs like 'Here We Are Juggernaut' and 'World of Lines' are possibly some of the best prog songs to come out this decade. But, most of the album slips into limbo, and follows the track of being repetitive. Time and time again, an album hits that blinds with technicality; while slipping through with an unimaginative experience that will likely turn fans away. 'Year of the Black Rainbow' tries too hard, and falls short of greatness. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    4
    This was everything BUT Coheed. A little too over-engineered and mediocre in many parts, this album sadly stands alone in their amazing discography...
  4. May 8, 2011
    8
    A very strong album throughout. It's interesting how they decided to write a prequel to their previous four albums and the production and instrumentals certainly sound different enough to make it feel as such.
    Wouldn't say it's their best album but still recommended.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    Besides a few (and i mean few) songs that are likeable, The entire album is pretty trashy. It looks horrible when compared to other albums by Coheed and Cambria. Really disapointing.
  6. Apr 2, 2014
    1
    Aside from Here We Are Juggernaut, which is easily one of their best songs, this entire album is trash. It's so disappointing as well because Coheed and Cambria has always put out quality work. I agree with Neverender, Year of the Black Rainbow stands alone from all of their other work in the worst way possible.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    A solid hit and change of style from No World, The Black Rainbow boasts some catchy tunes along with a bunch of tracks very impressive in musicianship.
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    3
    The best word to describe this album would be disappointing. Evolution is usually a natural thing for a band, if every album sounded the same it would be very monotonous, but this album is a failed attempt of Coheed leaving behind all their groove and pop elements and going full prog-rock. What we're left with is a bleak and dreary album with only a couple of songs that are even worthThe best word to describe this album would be disappointing. Evolution is usually a natural thing for a band, if every album sounded the same it would be very monotonous, but this album is a failed attempt of Coheed leaving behind all their groove and pop elements and going full prog-rock. What we're left with is a bleak and dreary album with only a couple of songs that are even worth listening to. I do believe that the producers of this album are equally to blame, Coheed and Cambria are not the Industrial/Prog-Rock hybrid band portrayed on this album and never should be. I only hope as a huge fan myself Claudio and the band learn from this and go back to their emotionally driven and funky Post-Hardcore roots that made them such a great band to begin with. Expand
  9. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Arguably the weakest of Coheed and Cambria's albums (I'm not much a fan of SSTB, call me a heretic. The joy for me begins with IKSSE:3), Year of The Black Rainbow is not at all without merit. "The Broken", "Here We Are Juggernaut", "Far", "This Shattered Symphony", "World of Lines", and "Pearl of the Stars" are all fairly enjoyable excursions in the Pre-Amory Wars mythos. Musically it'sArguably the weakest of Coheed and Cambria's albums (I'm not much a fan of SSTB, call me a heretic. The joy for me begins with IKSSE:3), Year of The Black Rainbow is not at all without merit. "The Broken", "Here We Are Juggernaut", "Far", "This Shattered Symphony", "World of Lines", and "Pearl of the Stars" are all fairly enjoyable excursions in the Pre-Amory Wars mythos. Musically it's all fairly pedantic prog-rock intertwined with vague and slightly touching love songs, nothing astounding instrumentally. Fair enough. Taken into context with the story, though, and fleshed out with the accompanying book, this album still very much works for me. Many reviewers describe a rather "dark and dreary" overtone, and I'll agree. However, it's only because the story is so. Rife with tragedy and grief, the tale sets the stage for SSTB and the Amory Wars in general. As an album alone, it's only fairly good. I'm writing this review in context, as the album plays a crucial role in the rest of Coheed and Cambria's epic tale. Reader, keep an open mind. Follow along with the book. As a whole, you'll find something special here.

    Then move on to the Afterman Saga, and be completely blown away.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Rainbow is definitely Sanchez's show: His dreamy vocals give all the fantasy crap real human warmth. [May/Jun 2010, p.966]
  2. As a band, C&C either inspire rabid adoration or complete dismissal; that won't change with Year of the Black Rainbow. That said, any fan of heavy progressive rock music may find this music to be of compelling interest, whether one buys into the conceptual nature of the Amory Wars or not.
  3. It's full of fascinating, stirring moments, but overall, Year of the Black Rainbow suffers just a little too much from its own grand, sprawling ambition.