Year Of The Gentleman

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2008
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CallieT.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    I personally bought this CD and thought it was the best use of my money! I haven't bought a CD in over five years and wasn't disappointed at all when I heard Ne-Yo's wonderfully flowing lyrics. I've listened to the CD everyday since I bought it.
  2. LB
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Ne-Yo........ hits on top of hits....everytime! Love it!
  3. chris
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    An incredible piece of art!
  4. ec
    Sep 17, 2008
    5
    (83+80+80+80)/4=84? Oh yeah, and Ne Yo annoys the hell out of me.
  5. ShaniqueP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    The cd is hot.
  6. UsmanK.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Closest thing possible to an MJ album. Beautiful melodies throughout and a lot of tracks use in house live instruments which you just don't see anymore with rnb singers. Great lyrics as well especially on songs 'like lie to me' and 'stop this world'. Hope ne-yo continues to make music like this
  7. Chew
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    This album is the 3rd album for Ne-yo. Each album he makes seems to get better and better. From In My Own Words, Because of You to Year of The Gentleman, Ne-yo keeps getting better with the lyrics and production. His style is a style that we all envy, and what was thought to be non-existant, only shown in artists from the past, such as Micheal Jackson. His lyrics don't talk about This album is the 3rd album for Ne-yo. Each album he makes seems to get better and better. From In My Own Words, Because of You to Year of The Gentleman, Ne-yo keeps getting better with the lyrics and production. His style is a style that we all envy, and what was thought to be non-existant, only shown in artists from the past, such as Micheal Jackson. His lyrics don't talk about sex, drugs, or hoes, or the cliched love, but atlthough love, he talks about messages that we all can relate to. Superb album. Chew Picks: All, the albums a calm ride. Expand
  8. YonkoD.
    Sep 22, 2008
    6
    It's a great album!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. On his third disc in as many years, the 28-year-old Southerner with the Michael Jackson falsetto not only wears his heart on his sleeve, he lets it bleed down his (no doubt high-thread-count) cuff.
  2. The 28-year-old singer-songwriter says his latest collection of heartfelt love songs is a tribute to the Rat Pack's pressed-suit style, but it's actually a superb concept album about what a great boyfriend he can be.
  3. His way with a melody is unstoppable, made all the more effective by his understated, no-frills approach to performing.