Yes, I'm A Witch

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 7 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrannonM
    Apr 6, 2007
    0
    She broke up the Beatles. She's a slut.
  2. ToddW
    Feb 14, 2007
    1
    The word "Yes" apparently has special meaning to Yoko Ono. After all, it was the word her late husband first spied in that magnifying glass after climbing that storied ladder in that London art museum many years ago, causing him to refocus his love to this avant garde artist. Unfortunately, it doesn't answer the question as to whether this a good album. It isn't. It sucks. As The word "Yes" apparently has special meaning to Yoko Ono. After all, it was the word her late husband first spied in that magnifying glass after climbing that storied ladder in that London art museum many years ago, causing him to refocus his love to this avant garde artist. Unfortunately, it doesn't answer the question as to whether this a good album. It isn't. It sucks. As for Yoko being a witch, most Beatlemaniacs would concur with that assessment. Me, I don't have a problem with her attempting to be something she most assuredly is not, and that is talented. I do have a problem with those who fawn over her, more out of respect for her late husband and the ordeal she's gone through dealing with his murder, I'll wager. If it wasn't for John Lennon, well, think Kevin Federline without Brittany Spears. If cat-scratch vocals and simple melodies are your cup of tea, then by all means, check her out. I'll revisit the Plastic Ono Band if I want to hear anything with her name attached to it. At least there she knew her musical place - silent by her husband's side. Or high in the Dakotas, tending to his estate. Expand
  3. DavidF
    Feb 14, 2007
    8
    It's a tribute disc that actually works (particularly the Apples In Stereo and Shitake Monkey reworkings) , but I wouldn't trade any of the original versions for one of these new tracks.
  4. JohnP
    Feb 15, 2007
    0
    This is a joke, right? The woman who's greatest achievement was getting John Lennon hooked on smack now merits an album of covers? And all by last year's hot bands. Snort.
  5. BrianK
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    I love this CD. The other reviews here are confusing. They criticize her life instead of the actual CD. Did they really listen to it? Or do they just hate Yoko and refuse to even give it a try?
  6. Mr.Shake
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    The Avant Garde that Ono made in the 60ties, & 70ties is still relevant & modern in the 200's. Congatulations, Yoko!
  7. JodieL
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    This album is an early contender for album of the year, all of the songs here are crackers, most especially tracks with DJ Spooky, The Flaming Lips and The Sleepy Jackson. Ono well done on this great compilation. For those that don't understand this album, you DON'T understand music, Yoko was 20 years in front of the pack. Good call Jesse her Plastic Ono Band version and Fly are This album is an early contender for album of the year, all of the songs here are crackers, most especially tracks with DJ Spooky, The Flaming Lips and The Sleepy Jackson. Ono well done on this great compilation. For those that don't understand this album, you DON'T understand music, Yoko was 20 years in front of the pack. Good call Jesse her Plastic Ono Band version and Fly are awesome, no grrll power rock without her. Expand
  8. LINDONK
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    great job Ms. Lennon!!!!!!!!!!
  9. jessenono
    Feb 16, 2007
    8
    todd, andy... you obviously have never listened to yoko's work. go track down plastic ono band (her's, not john's) and fly. even if you don't like her vocals, the places she took music on those albums was new and different at the time. she may not have traditional talent, but she doesn't suffer for ideas, which is the more important thing anyway.
  10. DavidR
    Feb 24, 2007
    0
    Like Nico, Ono was just in the right place at the right time and now we can't get rid of her. Forty years later and she is still shrieking and shrilling into a microphone over tape loops and artists that actually have talent like Antony are starting to realize if you can't end her, join her.
  11. llonglifee..
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    rock viva
  12. DafyddW
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    This is great! Best Ono album since Rising. The track with Cat Power is lovely. Everyman Everywoman is stonking! Not a duff track as far as I can hear. Class.
  13. MattW
    Apr 14, 2007
    0
    by comparison, the exhumation of wind from my buttocks is more pleasant that this album
  14. AndyD
    Feb 14, 2007
    0
    She is at it again, mewling about how great she is, I'm all about self-indulgance, but her license is about out, no talented hack
  15. MattD.
    Feb 22, 2007
    2
    Ugh - my ears can't take more of her voice.
  16. RichEP
    Feb 27, 2007
    8
    I used to hate Yoko because I was too young to understand her and her voice was like fingernails ala chalkbord but I was astonished at how delicate and sincere her voice has become,I love the asteralwerks ambiance touch!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Highly recommended.
  2. Billboard
    60
    In each case, a brand-new track has been crafted, but some work better than others. [10 Feb 2007]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    An excellent refresher course on Yoko Ono's endlessly underappreciated musical career. [9 Feb 2007, p.74]