User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 78
  2. Negative: 24 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2014
    7
    Though the album's charm may slowly fade as it progresses, Yours Truly Angry Mob is a sharp, stylish sophomore effort from one of the world's top Indie bands.
  2. May 14, 2012
    9
    To Rocky and not enough of that certain something that made Employment great 100 bands could have made this...BUT none this gone it really saves it's self because it's better than all other rock it just misses the Kaiser Chiefs spark
  3. GarrettJ.
    Jul 20, 2008
    3
    With the title track and Ruby the only redeeming features, this album disappointed me.
  4. TonyS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Brilliant album. Great follow up. A real grower and as good as if not better than Employment.
  5. FabioF.
    Jul 15, 2007
    9
    It´s a good album. They showed like do a great record, dancing, melodic and very funny. It´s good to have a record that everyone can sing together. Simple and objective.
  6. NickJ152
    May 19, 2007
    10
    Not so energetic as the first album, but a wider range of mellodies. A great album, i listen to it over and over.
  7. EmmanuelP.
    May 16, 2007
    7
    It's not a bad record, but it isn't great neither. It's got a few good songs, but in general is a bit unconsistens, a bit messy.
  8. CaseyRDubya
    May 10, 2007
    5
    Ruby has got to be one of the weakest tracks I've heard in a while. This band has potential but they still haven't achieved it.
  9. [Anonymous]
    May 9, 2007
    4
    Disappointing follow up. Same sound but washed out without the hooks. Oh well.
  10. AlexandraK
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Great comeback!!! Funny, catchy songs with some beautiful mellancholic tunes. I can't get enough of this album.
  11. LuciaM
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Its a good album!! i like YT,AM more than Employment..the songs are more worked , the only mistake is the lack of originality...but it's logic...they're only keeping their style!! I really love this band!!! i dont know why people rate that ..worse...
  12. MiguelC
    Apr 10, 2007
    7
    I don't know who was the producer of Employment, but I thnik Stephen Street was not the indicate to produce a kaiser chiefs album.....Employment is much better
  13. pendepomo
    Apr 9, 2007
    8
    i don't know why the critics got to hard on this one, but when the first album of kc came out i was pretty amazed about those backup chorus and melodys and all that semi-electro sound behind it, and now listening to this new album, i can hear several changes, but still they're making great music and with good taste.
  14. EddieC
    Apr 8, 2007
    1
    Unoriginal, weedy and boring. A waste of hard earned cash. The chorus on Ruby could have been written and performed by six-formers. They're not a patch on Little Man Tate.
  15. craig
    Apr 3, 2007
    2
    i liked the first album a lot. but honestly, this album is not good. barely at all. it feels rushed, derivative, boring, etc. a sophomore slump, without a doubt.
  16. vikkis
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    I love this band.their music catches you like a cat on a mouse,this one may take more time to catch,but it will.
  17. LukeT
    Apr 2, 2007
    7
    Its suppose to be fun
  18. Jahar
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    This is my new favorite band. Loved "Employment" and this one is, although similar, very good as well. Why do people get so irate at the fact that a band sounds like itself? If they are good at it, keep em coming. Sure a departure would be interesting, but let's leave experimentation to Mr. Yorke.
  19. RobertD
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    i still havent gotten tired of listening to the songs on "employment" and now they created an album thats even better than the first. so far this album is one of the top 5 indie releases in 07... right beside Modest Mouse, Shins, Arcade Fire, and The Good The Bad and The Queen.
  20. Caroline
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Excellent for a second album. After all, Employment left such great expectations, and they managed to fulfill them right. I LOVE this album.
  21. KingOfShapes
    Mar 27, 2007
    8
    It's a great album, and no mistake. Not even the Kaiser's take themselves seriously, so why do all the critics that gave this tremendous, sing-along pop album such low marks expect this album to be a major musical force? Its about pop music. Simple songs, witty lyrics, catchy hooks. Its a brilliant pop record. If you don't like it, stop sulking and trying to bring everyone It's a great album, and no mistake. Not even the Kaiser's take themselves seriously, so why do all the critics that gave this tremendous, sing-along pop album such low marks expect this album to be a major musical force? Its about pop music. Simple songs, witty lyrics, catchy hooks. Its a brilliant pop record. If you don't like it, stop sulking and trying to bring everyone else down. Put the CD on, jump around, try and enjoy yourself. That's what this album is all about. And it's fantastic. Expand
  22. verena
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    its a 10 and nothing else.
  23. KateB
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    The critics who gave this album less than 70 are either high on something or stupid. I love this band and I think that this album is even better than the first. It's ridiculous giving it less than 70, it's packed with entertainment and they are the best live band you are ever likely to go and see. I'm not buying any of the music those critics recommend.
  24. DrGambetta
    Mar 9, 2007
    5
    Kaiser Chiefs sounds like they were listened up to old Duran Duran´s records day after day... From New York Doll´s freshness of their debut to these pop songs... there are a lot of difference. I think they had chosen the wrong way, of course.
  25. mick
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    Not as instant as their first effort, but some seriously good tunes are included on this album and everything else seems to grow on me on every repeated listen
  26. KasperS
    Feb 24, 2007
    8
    It's pretty good I think, better than the last album which I liked a lot. This album is more well-considered in my opinion. The first album won a lot of attention because of the drive in their songs (but for me it was boring in the end - too much the same) but the second album shows that they potential is bigger. Favourite songs: Ruby, Angry Mob, Everything Is Average Nowadays, Heat It's pretty good I think, better than the last album which I liked a lot. This album is more well-considered in my opinion. The first album won a lot of attention because of the drive in their songs (but for me it was boring in the end - too much the same) but the second album shows that they potential is bigger. Favourite songs: Ruby, Angry Mob, Everything Is Average Nowadays, Heat Dies Down, Love's Not A Competition (But I'm Winning) and My Kind Of Guy. Nice work guys! Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 80
    An album full of jukebox hits. [Mar 2007, p.98]
  2. 80
    Their second album manages to be full of surprises, while never straying too far from what you'd expect. [Mar 2007, p.80]
  3. Although the tunes have plenty of vigour and aggression, as with Employment, Britpop veterans will feel more than a little sense of deja vu.