• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Aug 19, 2003
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 73
  2. Negative: 5 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    Kings Of Leon's debut is a little overrated. Their other work is a lot better than this album. But nevertheless, Youth And Young Manhood is a good album with some great tracks. B
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    Back when I thought they could kick my ass. Zero sign of anything they've done on their past two/three albums ("Charmer" on Because of the Times was close). "Trani" is the best thing they've ever written and as Bob Dylan said, it's a hell of a song. "Spiral Staircase" is/was great live.
  3. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    The Kings Of Leon's best album. So raw and beautiful at the same time. The hooks are great, and the songs fit perfectly together, and Caleb's voice gives me goosebumps when he takes it to the edge.
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Awesome debut album from KOL. Raw hillbillies left loose in a studio and the results are as you'd expect - wild, exciting rock and roll. You don't just get glimpses of potential here, you get pretty close to the finished article. They're missing the stadium rock anthems here no one is saying that's a bad thing. California Waiting and Molly's Chambers still rank up with their best work.
  5. sallyd
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    this album wipes the floor with overated crap like the white stripes. thank god for something different.nice one boys.
  6. SamW
    Jul 2, 2005
    0
    This is worst music I have heard. Vocals and instrument work show lack of talent and practice. Vocal pitch is poor, Reminds me of punk rocku froim years back, can't believe RCA is backing these guys, they muyst have really done a major sell job or snow job shall I say. Anyone who likes this doesn't know what good music really is, what a shame.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    this album is one of the best rock albums of all time - FACT! the kings raw sound on this album will never be topped hopefully they will try and make another album like this again.
  8. j30
    Feb 19, 2012
    8
    Youth & Young Manhood is a solid debut from the Southern Strokes, Kings of Leon. "California Waiting" is one my favorites off this record and any of their records.
  9. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    a terrific debut album. gritty raw and full of southern rock tunes! Standout tracks, red morning light, trani, Molly's chambers, California waiting and genius.
  10. PhilB.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Bloody brilliant
  11. danc
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Kings of Leons's first album is good, simple, dirty garage rock 'n' roll. Almost feels like it was made in the mid seventies. no other band would get away with it but they do. Excellent album.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    kick ass
  13. peter
    Oct 8, 2003
    5
    Sorry, nothing special. Far far behind The Strokes or The White Stripes.
  14. DannyD
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Hallelujah! The best debut ever. My favourite CD of all time.
  15. AdamB
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    The best band i have heard ever!! there music is different, in a good way. But i like the fact that 3 brothers and 1 cousin join together to make brilliant music :)
  16. WillL.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    Fantastic energy, rips out of the speakers, 'California Waiting' and 'Red Morning Light' are the highlights.
  17. JimtheNeighbor
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    A rockin' good album with nasty riffs, a killer rhythme section and vocals that will never be heard in any other band. not the most original, but better than nearly anything else released this year
  18. MarcD
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable. The best new band I've heard in a very long time. Hands down best album of the year. 100% authentic rock, brilliant riffs, and gritty raw vocals. Kings can save rock and roll!!
  19. FH
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Excellent album, actually far better that the strokes in my opinion, Caleb has a better vocal style
  20. RabR
    Apr 1, 2004
    9
    Rock N Roll at its finest. What a debut, roll on the second album.
  21. JamesL
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Superb and brilliantly original debut, the tag "generic" just reflects how they have and stick to their own style
  22. karlh
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    As many ''buzz bands'' do the kings of Leon create allot of love/hate divide
  23. lydiaf
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    the best debut ever, the kings rock harder than any other rock band hanging around. They p*ss all over the strokes
  24. Paulo
    May 24, 2005
    10
    some people don't like it, but i think it's actually rather good
  25. robl
    May 30, 2005
    8
    nasty, dirty, and great
  26. PaulC
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Sam W is a fool! This album is F**King fantastic. If you dont like it dont buy it or listen to it! Simple.
  27. Zach
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    I can never decide what i like more: Times or Youth. But then i hear "California Waiting" and music makes sense again. This is one of the top 5 debuts of the 2000s, no doubt about it.
  28. ColinS
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Notice the pitchfork review no longer exists. Great album.
  29. KevinM
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    man, i love this album...it rocks front to back.
  30. TrevorM
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    The best to come a long in an long while.
  31. joonspoon
    May 19, 2004
    6
    Kings of cut 'n' paste plagiarism.
  32. Chris
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Bloody flippin fantastic. Wat garage is really about.
  33. MattJ
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Reffering to popmatters, i have to say this is definately the least hollow and insubstantial record iv heard, raw bluesy rock, they know how to swagger, and when it comes down to it they can whip out a classic calmer song. Great album
  34. frankd
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    Killer.
  35. Oct 5, 2014
    6
    Youth and Young Manhood may not be the bands most outstanding LP, but it still stands up quite well on the back's of some surprisingly strong, clever and fun garage rock tunes.

    Kings of Leon's first two EPs form the backbone of their debut record (Holy Roller Novocaine gave us "Molly's Chambers," "Wasted time" and "California Waiting," while What I Saw churned out "Red Morning Light").
    Youth and Young Manhood may not be the bands most outstanding LP, but it still stands up quite well on the back's of some surprisingly strong, clever and fun garage rock tunes.

    Kings of Leon's first two EPs form the backbone of their debut record (Holy Roller Novocaine gave us "Molly's Chambers," "Wasted time" and "California Waiting," while What I Saw churned out "Red Morning Light"). Smart to an extent, as the album sometimes feels like a fleshed out compilation of these two releases.

    "Red Morning Light" (the album's first single) is a strong indication of what is to come, opening the album with bravado. The flesh carries us to "Wasted Time," (single #3) a short little rocker with a grimy edge. The only special moment barring the EP backbone comes with "Trani," a slow and reflective track with lots of soul. "California Waiting" and "Molly's Chambers" (singles #2 & 4 respectively) round out the framework of Youth & Young Manhood, and prove to be the two most memorable pieces on the record.

    Divorced from the strong backbone taken from the bands first two EP releases, Youth & Young Manhood would prove itself unmemorable and pudgy. Luckily, we are able to look back on an entertaining, quirky and memorable release from Kings of Leon - without the slight commercial tinge seen on their latter releases.

    Crazy and undeniably southern, here is a debut that is surprisingly worthwhile thanks to a powerful stable of well written garage rock hits.

    Track Picks: || Red Morning Light || Wasted Time || Trani || California Waiting || Molly's Chambers||
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. 83
    The Kings are probably sick of the "redneck Stones" tag already, but the signs are all there. [Aug 2003, p.111]
  2. 70
    Their debut throbs like the Strokes with cross-eyed parents, their songs gritty and economical, their drummer nasty in all the best places. [Aug 2003, p.126]
  3. And not unlike the uncertain characters populating their songs, the band members have yet to stake out a distinctive musical identity, borrowing a little too liberally from their Southern Rock roots without adding anything original to the mythology.