Yuck - Yuck
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    If someone passed this debut to you disguised on an old cassette tape marked "90s Indie Rock mixtape", you'd believe it without question. http://hackskeptic.com
  2. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    8
    Surprising debut that sticks with you well after the record has ended. I've always been a fan of late 80's and early 90's grunge music, it brought Sonic Youth and the Pixies to mind. After hearing a couple of singles, before buying the album, I really wasn't sure what I was getting into. Luckily it has paid off and is on a constant rotation in my car's CD changer.
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    There is not a flaw to be seen on this album. "Suicide Policeman" shambles along like a brokenhearted kid walking down the sidewalk, "Get Away" roars and crackles with Pavement's best, and "Rubber" thuds and groans like the monster under your bed. A perfect album for 90's nostalgia freaks.
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    boring and derivative stuff. maybe i am too old for it since i was around when pavement were the best band in indie rock... i don't get it. they just sound like a cover band of lots of 90's indie pop bands. 3/10 from me. sorry...
  5. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    I was disappointed with the tendency towards slow acoustic ballads throughout the album, it was almost like they had 2 gears, first and fifth, and just switched between the two but never really going anywhere too fast. There are some fantastic tunes but not enough to elevate the album above merely being OK
  6. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    If you were 80s / 90s freak or at least you're crazy about 80s / 90s music & culture while living today this album will deliver you full indie-package of those years.
  7. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Every track on this album offers us something beautiful. The mood of the band is welcoming and human. Lyrically it is unique and intelligent, visual and at times even funny. There is real guts running through the tracks and modest sincerity. 'The Wall', 'Sunday', 'Operation' are particularly remarkable tracks. This is a real achievement for this young band. Overall: a mature, moving, imaginative and beautiful piece of work. Listen. Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Energetic, young sounding album full of fun, but also mature enough to tone it down several notches and make something beautiful. wide range of genres covered here. A really enjoyable listen.
  9. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    The debut and self-titled album from Yuck reveals itself immediately as fuzzy, distorted noise rock. And it's beautiful. There's something else you'll notice right away as well...there is a whole lot of '90s grunge going on. But do these 20-somethings even remember the era of Nirvana and Dinosaur Jr.? Does it matter? Not really, because Yuck's music runs much deeper than simple nostalgic distorted guitar rock. In my opinion, they take this sound and add depth and beauty that wasn't always present in the bands of that era. For my full review see: http://www.altinterstate.com/2011/02/album-review-yuck-yuck.html Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2011
    1
    I found this record boring and extremely derivative. I don't get the excitement around this band! There's a couple of good catchy indie pop songs but at times they really sound like a Dinosaur Jr / Pavement cover band. We might probably have something here but they need to find their own style. Drummer looks cool though!
  11. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    I haven't been this excited about a new band in quite some time. Track after track, it's just got it all. The hooks are great, it's a very fresh release. The band should be called, "Yum."
  12. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Score 9
    Nostalgic? Yes. Derivative? Maybe, but to some extent who isn't? Yet, this is a beautifully crafted album, with very catchy tunes, Try not to listen to "operation" several times in a row.
  13. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    extremely impressive and beautiful sound. easily my favorite debut (and possibly album) of the year. yes, the influences are obvious, but there is still a remarkable sense of originality and each song has incredible focus and inspiration. GIVE THIS ONE A LISTEN, you won't be disappointed
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    30
    I hated this kind of Lemonheads-lite, floral-dressed, clompety-booted, neurotic ninny inanity the first time round, I have absolutely no idea how anyone could be arsed to expend the (admittedly small) effort it takes to produce such a pointless photocopy ... [but] not even I can find it in my bitter heart to hate the Nickelodeon-Dinosaur Jr bounce of "Georgia" or the honey-toned amble of "Suicide Policeman".
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    Strip away the noise and you'll realize that the charm of Yuck is rooted in fundamentals of great songwriting. [March 2011, p. 108]
  3. This array of whomping exotica reflects its creator's appetite for any Third World dance movement he can get his ears on, including such new ones on me as kuduro, barefoot, and -- from the mysterious depths of the District of Columbia -- Moombahton​!