Z

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Oct 4, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 236

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeD.
    Oct 18, 2005
    6
    I love the reverb. It has always given MMJ's sound a far away, etheral feel. Haunting was the word I typically use to describe the band. This looks like another positive gain for the corporate music scene which has taken the artistic vision of so many of the best indy bands in the world this past year. I'm talking about Sigur Ros and Death Cab specifically, but also (yes they I love the reverb. It has always given MMJ's sound a far away, etheral feel. Haunting was the word I typically use to describe the band. This looks like another positive gain for the corporate music scene which has taken the artistic vision of so many of the best indy bands in the world this past year. I'm talking about Sigur Ros and Death Cab specifically, but also (yes they have always been quasi coporate) coldplay, Iron and Wine, someone metioned Devhandra. They were at least interesting, now they sound like, well, U2. Not a good thing for creativity or, more importantly, soul. My point is this: yes MMJ had a good cross over album, and yes it is listenable, but what we lose are the ragged edges. There is beauty in imperfection. Corporate sound is clean, too clean so it can be mass marketed, mass consumed. This will be MMJ's best selling album, but it will never break my heart like At Dawn or even Tennessee Fire. Expand
  2. lawrenced
    Nov 5, 2005
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised upon first listen but after several spins Z feels pretty bloated and smacks a little too heavily of Radiohead or an overproduced Flaming Lips. Even the artwork screams Kid A. Let's just hope this leads somewhere good and not just to another arena rock cliche.
  3. kentrips
    Feb 16, 2006
    6
    This is NOT Kid A or OK Computer. This is Pablo Honey at the bottom of a pond, all surface like the bubble that transports a final frantic yawn. Distant as though a dream of a dream; finally inanimate, sealed and self-present.
  4. unico
    Aug 13, 2008
    6
    This seems to me pretty much overrated. it doesn't take a lot of plays til it starts to bore you somehow.
  5. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2006
    5
    Opens really well with some catchy, leftfield, Flaming Lips/Merucry Rev-type tunes. But takes a serious nosedive somewhere around the middle. 'Off the Record' is such a MOR piece of crap that its hard to believe its from the same band as the excellent 'Anytime','Law Low' and 'Dondante' that close this album of two halves.
  6. zavoh
    Oct 6, 2005
    5
    simply awful. Another record that proves that they had one great, and by that i mean the truly brilliant, wonderful, spectacular "At Dawn." After that it's been heading downhill at a remarkable pace. The only question left, is just how bad will they become, cause this pretty bad.
  7. marbles
    Dec 8, 2005
    5
    there are a couple good tracks here, but what really ruins the album for me is the classic rock guitar solos. That needs to go. its not original or even well done. its tacky and boring
  8. DavidS
    Oct 9, 2005
    5
    Bought this on the strength of the amazing reviews its been receiving. "Wordless Chorus" sounded nice. After that the echo chamber vocals begin to grate...
  9. Jules
    Nov 1, 2005
    5
    Tedious leaden retread of seventies space rock - still - I prefer my space rock a little scarier and grandiose - many obviously enjoy this more gentle and humble fare. To me, the Guardian gets it right: pedestrian.
  10. whitneyd
    Dec 27, 2005
    5
    the first 3 songs are awsome. they have an icy cool sound that reminds me of some radiohead. but very original. but then the album suddenly takes a nose dive into pretty dull boaring 90's rock that reminds me of Bush. which is not a good thing.
  11. SteveO
    Oct 24, 2005
    5
    Everyone- Please never compare this to Ok Computer again. Thanks, Your pal, People of taste
  12. camdenl
    Dec 23, 2005
    5
    wow so overrated
  13. DavidM
    Mar 9, 2006
    4
    I bought this album based on this website and the reviews conained here. I am disappointed. It is not a stellar peice of work. Someone mentioned that the sound of the album is like from the bottom of a pool, and I agree. The mixing is way to heavy on reverb and echo, and the musicianship on the songs is lackluster at best. The riffs are ripped from other places, the hooks are muddy and I bought this album based on this website and the reviews conained here. I am disappointed. It is not a stellar peice of work. Someone mentioned that the sound of the album is like from the bottom of a pool, and I agree. The mixing is way to heavy on reverb and echo, and the musicianship on the songs is lackluster at best. The riffs are ripped from other places, the hooks are muddy and the singing is, well, not very good. James doesn't have good voice control, although he has a good range. I wanted this to be good, especially since I paid for it, instead of downloading it from Limewire. But, after the fourth listen, I don't think it will be in my computer or CD player any more. Disappointing. Expand
  14. Simon
    Nov 1, 2005
    4
    The first 20 seconds had my attention, after that i stopped caring. It isnt terrible, but it is in no way memorable.
  15. romanm
    Dec 27, 2005
    4
    How is this such a leap forward from 'It Still Moves'? That album is infinitely better. #2 on 2005 Metacritic must mean that the crits all got together, listened to this misfire, and overrated it because of the formula. MMJ plays sensitive Americana rooted in the past (however the playing is nowhere near as good or inventive as Allman, Neil Young, etc), with a b.s. nod toward How is this such a leap forward from 'It Still Moves'? That album is infinitely better. #2 on 2005 Metacritic must mean that the crits all got together, listened to this misfire, and overrated it because of the formula. MMJ plays sensitive Americana rooted in the past (however the playing is nowhere near as good or inventive as Allman, Neil Young, etc), with a b.s. nod toward progress (do you really think the electronics are 'groundbreaking' here?), they are one of the most well known underground acts in the country (they are on a major label, in beer commercials and bad Cameron Crowe movies, but have no chance of radio, MTV, or even the O.C.), and they have the right politics (opening for John Kerry last year). This makes crusty, old, 50-something tastemakers wet their pants in the boardrooms of Rolling Stone, Spin and Billboard. Don't believe the hype. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A modern day classic.
  2. What you can expect is what makes My Morning Jacket tried and true: bigger-than-life lyrics, classic rock swagger, and the need to move forward.
  3. Mojo
    100
    With Z, My Morning Jacket have left their comfort zone, assumed the mantle of firebrands, and delivered a truly momentous work. [Oct 2005, p.96]