Bastion Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1466 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bastion is an action rpg form Supergiant Games.
  • Developer: Supergiant Games
  • Genre(s): Action, Role-Playing, General, Action RPG, Action RPG
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E10+
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Bastion - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    93
    Bastion is one of the most original titles I've played in quite some time. From the charming graphics to the smooth vibes of the narrator perfectly blended with a magical soundtrack, and the 10-12 hours of action-packed exploration and combat, Bastion is like kicking back with your favorite interactive storybook.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    92
    Although I truly believe that Bastion could have doubled its length in terms of gameplay, I'm glad that the story didn't risk imploding on itself. Don't let anyone tell you this is a Diablo clone–that would cheapen Bastion; it needs to be heard to be believed.
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    90
    Overall, this game is well worth the price, and then some.
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Even the "New Game Plus" mode with its full arsenal of potions and gods is not enough to quench the Bastion thirst. Oh, how I wish it had randomly-generated maps, an expansive loot system, RPG stats, and dozens of quests... But that would have been a completely different game. Bastion, first and foremost, is a beautiful story with a beginning, a climax and ending(s). "A proper story", as the old man Rucks would say.
  5. 87
    Even if Bastion is short (just a few hours, depending on how many challenges you're keen on passing with a gold medal rating) it's one of the few games in which the New Game+ (rewinding the whole adventure but keeping the endgame resources) was just as much fun as the first playthrough. The content might be identical, but you've probably missed out on a few platforms the first time around, so you'll have the opportunity of discovering them and testing out your untapped weapons as well.
  6. Sep 1, 2011
    85
    Bastion is a wonderfully diverse game that offers up a great deal of flexibility in how you approach its many challenges.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    70
    Visually stunning independent action RPG impresses you with a captivating world but will disappoint you with a dull and boring combat system. [Oct 2011]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 366
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I
    A lot of people say that playing games such as mario or zelda, bring about a great feeling you simply cannot feel with the games nowadays.
    I promise you, that bastion will deliver that exact feeling. After a while, everything thats happening around makes perfect sense, and the narration throughout the game, is such an amazing idea, i don't think it has been done before, this successfully. It would be an absolute crime for you not to buy this game!
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Brought me that same awesome feeling Kingdom Hearts did back when it came to PlayStation 2. The atmosphere in Bastion is just wonderful. IBrought me that same awesome feeling Kingdom Hearts did back when it came to PlayStation 2. The atmosphere in Bastion is just wonderful. I really liked the colorful graphic design and responsive combat along with the storyline. I've always enjoyed hack and slash games and Bastion truly delivers. Only rant I have about it is the length. You don't often see games like this and I just didn't want it to end so soon! I'm currently on my 4th playthrough on new game plus but it doesn't really bring anything to the table. Nevertheless it has become one of those games I play through at least once a year. Couldn't recommend more! Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Coming from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've neverComing from a guy who thinks Final Fantasy is just a story line for 50$ I Don't think ive ever felt more like a Hippocratic jerk. I've never wanted to find out more, or what happens next in a video game. The combat is intriguing and makes you think on your feet on a regular basis, Mix that with the variety of weapons all fit different combat styles makes you play like you want to rather then the best way. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    An adorable game with an awesome concept and amazing art style. The real selling point for me however, was the narration of the story and theAn adorable game with an awesome concept and amazing art style. The real selling point for me however, was the narration of the story and the music. The music in this game is some of the best I have ever heard in a video game, many times I found myself just standing enjoying the track. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Amazing game. Great voiceovers, fantastic artstyle, gripping gameplay and a SUPERB soundtrack (I really cant stress how amazing the OST is)Amazing game. Great voiceovers, fantastic artstyle, gripping gameplay and a SUPERB soundtrack (I really cant stress how amazing the OST is)

    I'd like to say that it was too short, but... did I really want it to go any longer? Did I want it to drag out? No. It was the perfect length. My one complaint is how easy the first playthrough is. You don't unlock most the different totems for gods (Which act as difficulty adjusters) until you finish your game and start a NG+. A perfect game nonetheless, I hope we will be seeing more from this studio in the future.
    Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    8
    This game is very stylish and cool and has a lot of fun elements to it that anyone should be able to enjoy. The only negative thing I canThis game is very stylish and cool and has a lot of fun elements to it that anyone should be able to enjoy. The only negative thing I can think of is that the "new-game plus" feature just doesn't really do it for me in terms of adding replayability. But for a game that can be had on Steam right now for less than $3, this title is well worth the money, even if you only get one play-through. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    1
    i don't know what i must to say. This game so boring. This looks like WB wind the rating. Good music,good art. But gamplay so stupid. Where isi don't know what i must to say. This game so boring. This looks like WB wind the rating. Good music,good art. But gamplay so stupid. Where is the story? This is so stupid game. Expand

See all 366 User Reviews