Divinity II: Ego Draconis Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Divinity II: Ego Draconis is a story-based role playing game that combines a truly stunning, free roaming world just waiting to be explored, with exhilarating aerial and ground based combat. Get up close and personal in human form - exploring dungeons, grabbing loot and putting the hurt onDivinity II: Ego Draconis is a story-based role playing game that combines a truly stunning, free roaming world just waiting to be explored, with exhilarating aerial and ground based combat. Get up close and personal in human form - exploring dungeons, grabbing loot and putting the hurt on the many evil denizens of Rivellon - or take to the skies by shape-shifting into a mighty Dragon to explore the mountain peaks and deliver fiery death from above! You will build your character from the ground up, and continue customizing as you gain experience. We want you to be able to define a unique Dragon Knight and create your own legend in the world of Divinity II. [DTP Entertainment] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Divinity II is a very solid game, and all that Gothic 3 should have been.
  2. The strongest aspects of Divinity II are the excellent story, so long as you are willing to dig it out, and the incredibly open-ended character skills customization. While this game certainly has its flaws, the pros far outweigh the cons, and it is a game that cannot be sipped but must be gulped or possibly even quaffed!
  3. An excellent ARPG that takes the best elements of Divine Divinity and updates them in a imaginative game full of flavor and personality. Engaging combat system, a rich character development, interesting sidequests... all that are the bricks of a very solid game that could be even better without some major problems, like the ending.
  4. Games Master UK
    74
    The pacing is poor and it's a technical wreck. [Feb 2010, p.82]
  5. You'll have to get comfortable with the game's difficulty and spartan UI. You'll need to tame the camera and overlook the sometimes low-budget visuals, sketchy tech, long load times and a host of little bugs. It sounds like a lot of work, but Divinity 2 does have its charms and more often than not, I felt surprisingly compelled to see what was waiting around the next turn of the road.
  6. Divinity II is the kind of game that falls neatly into the category of "guilty pleasure" for me. It's an RPG that doesn't really break new ground, but plays well enough and provides a challenge.
  7. 50
    There is fun to be had in Divinity II, especially in terms of exploration and customization. Unfortunately, the game's poorly plotted story and uneven difficulty will challenge the patience of most players, even those who enjoy parts of the game.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. StevenB
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Great Game, Great Storyline. Wonderful to fly around as a dragon in such a diverse and rich world.
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is very interesting and will keep you involved. The combat is a lot of fun and I enjoy the various moves you can perform. The character is well animated even the way they flip off the top of ladders. Becoming a dragon is a nice touch that can't be ignored. Expand
  3. AlanC
    Sep 24, 2009
    10
    Totally AWESOME...surely, never played something like it! Reminds me a bit of the old days... Too bad what RPG gaming has become, but Larian Totally AWESOME...surely, never played something like it! Reminds me a bit of the old days... Too bad what RPG gaming has become, but Larian clearly shows us how it should be done, YEAH! Bit disappointed by the ending though, too sudden and truly lame choice made there. Tell you though...be sure to buy this one!!! It's a definite keep; I've waited too long for something like this! Expand
  4. ColbyA.
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    Great RPG. Great Story. Great Gameplay. Absolutely awful ending. I can't say much, because I don't want to spoil the ending, but it Great RPG. Great Story. Great Gameplay. Absolutely awful ending. I can't say much, because I don't want to spoil the ending, but it really was the worse ending I've ever seen in a game. You get two unique items RIGHT before the game ends - literally, you get the items, BAM - cutscene, credits. The ending is totally anti-climactic too, and totally disappointing. It's a cliffhanger. The ending is just so bad it docked one whole point from my rating, and it's all I can talk about. The rest of the game was solid, albeit somewhat tedious to do all the sidequests (but then, I'm a completionist), and the physics could have used some work. But it was a good game. EXCEPT FOR THIS CRAPPY ENDING. I spent 5 days playing this, and the ending just... Augh! Expand
  5. KrisD
    Jan 17, 2010
    8
    right now this game deserves a number between 7-8. You can tell it's developed by a small studio and i agree with some of the flaws. right now this game deserves a number between 7-8. You can tell it's developed by a small studio and i agree with some of the flaws. While dungeons and indoor area's generally look pretty good, the graphics outside are pretty dated. This bothered me a little at first, but the world is so detailed and fun to explore, that i quickly started to look past it. So graphics aren't great, but they do the job well enough. The music, like with all divinty games is excellent! Combat wasn't very convincing to me at first, but i grew into it. he game is challenging, fast and thanks to the wide selection of skills it's still pretty enjoyable. The world isn't very huge, but it's big enough and there's tons of stuff, items, gear, sidequests and dungeons to explore. The game does this very well. And it has some very cool stuff like dragon flying and having your own battle tower. hmm, i didnt mean to start writing a whole review actually :) In short, if you can look past the technical flaws (mind you, i find the game still pretty polished), there's really a lot of fun to be had. Otherwise i'd have given this game a 9. If you're a fan of action rpg's you really should check this out. finally, i don't want to preach, but don't leech games from small devs like this. buy it if you like the game! We don't want another iron lore, troika or ascaron on our hands. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2011
    6
    Divinity II â
  7. Jun 15, 2018
    0
    Worst rpg I've ever played. Graphic is horrid, gameplay is horrid, plot is horrid, and the ending is just a huge letdown. I wonder if theyWorst rpg I've ever played. Graphic is horrid, gameplay is horrid, plot is horrid, and the ending is just a huge letdown. I wonder if they wrote the whole plot in the bathroom while drunk, because it does feel like it. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews