• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 19, 2011
SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy SEALs Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "SOCOM: Special Forces") A militant revolutionary has unexpectedly seized control in an important South Asian country. As the Ops Com, your mission is to command an elite five-man squad charged with stopping his aggressive agenda before it's too late. In only six days, you(Also known as "SOCOM: Special Forces") A militant revolutionary has unexpectedly seized control in an important South Asian country. As the Ops Com, your mission is to command an elite five-man squad charged with stopping his aggressive agenda before it's too late. In only six days, you must lead your team through a hostile jungle and urban environments against an army of well-armed rebel insurgents that completely outnumber you. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Zipper Interactive
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, Third-Person, Modern, Modern, Arcade
  • # of players: 32 Online
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • Special Controllers: Move Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy SEALs Take Control Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. May 31, 2011
    91
    I've played less than ten games on my PS3 and reviewed only three and I'm proud to count SOCOM 4 as one of those games. Playing this game solo brought back memories of Full Spectrum Warrior with all the squad-based tactics and ordering options, and playing co-op was like reliving all my best Tom Clancy moments, and the online versus modes had all the fun of MAG with the added bonus of the incredible Bomb Squad mode. And while it may never be able to compete with Call of Duty in sheer popularity, SOCOM 4: U.S. Navy SEALs definitely wins when it comes to reality.
  2. May 9, 2011
    80
    It's a good game and the Socom franchise is built upon solid multiplayer.
  3. May 25, 2011
    75
    Taken as a whole, there's a lot of content in SOCOM 4.
  4. May 5, 2011
    70
    The single player campaign is not the strongest out there, and lacks intelligent AI and an abundance of tactical options. Coop and multiplayer has a satisfying focus on teamwork, which is refreshing in a genre where most players only aim for a high kill/death ratio. Zipper Interactive haven't forgotten their core fans, and the Pro-mode is a good way to please long time SOCOM players.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    65
    There is fun to be had here, but by being unable to connect past distinguishing features and moderns sensibilites, SOCOM: Special Forces is unable to do enough to stand out of the crowd.
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    60
    SOCOM: Special Forces is, by some distance, the best SOCOM game yet, although it still lacks polish in comparison with the likes of Call of Duty and Crysis 2.
  7. Apr 12, 2011
    30
    It's an antiquated shooter that's trying to hang with the new blood and failing at every turn. The fact that it's thoroughly broken serves only to rub salt in an already stinging wound.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 20 out of 54
  1. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I guarantee everyone on here that is crying about how they hate this game are playing it right now. You can't tell me that you don't have funI guarantee everyone on here that is crying about how they hate this game are playing it right now. You can't tell me that you don't have fun when you play it, regardless of it's problems. Stop comparing it to other socom's. No one care that you've been playing socom since the first one. Get over yourself and be honest, you probably play socom 4 everyday like the rest of us. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    I have played every single Socom game, and I feel that is a great modernization of the Socom franchise. No its not exactly like classic Socom,I have played every single Socom game, and I feel that is a great modernization of the Socom franchise. No its not exactly like classic Socom, but it DOES make the game more comfortable to a wider audience while keeping the core fans satisfied with the Classic gameplay mode. Zipper is actively listening to the community to make it an even better game. I really enjoy the game. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Best SOCOM since SOCOM 2. After SOCOM 2 zipper pretty much fell off for me. Then Slant 6 came in and I loved their work on the PSP, but whenBest SOCOM since SOCOM 2. After SOCOM 2 zipper pretty much fell off for me. Then Slant 6 came in and I loved their work on the PSP, but when it came to confrontation it was just as bad as Zipper's last project, but Zipper came back to change all that and as a diehard SOCOM fan I must say they did rather well. Sure their are issues, but playing in classic mode is a nice change of pace for things. Definitely can't play this game like or compare this game to other modern day shooters. This one actually takes time, teamwork, and patience. Overall what I expected. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2014
    6
    Being a big fan of Socom 1 - 3, I was very excited for this game. I even ordered the bundle pack that came with the PlayStation MOVE and gun.Being a big fan of Socom 1 - 3, I was very excited for this game. I even ordered the bundle pack that came with the PlayStation MOVE and gun. This game was pretty disappointing to me. The MOVE worked alright with the game, but it was too clunky and not user-friendly. The storyline was lackluster and the online play for the game was poorly done. I used to spend countless hours playing SOCOM II online for the PS2;This game totally killed the SOCOM franchise. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2018
    5
    Socom 4: U.S. Navy Seals is a 2011 third-person tactical shooter video game developed by Zipper Interactive and published by Sony.

    - Weak
    Socom 4: U.S. Navy Seals is a 2011 third-person tactical shooter video game developed by Zipper Interactive and published by Sony.

    - Weak and Boring Campaign
    - Bad Graphics
    - The set Action Pieces are Forgettable
    - Boring Scenarios
    - Clunky Gameplay

    My Score: 5/10
    Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    1
    Zipper destroyed the franchise with Socom 4.A bad made CoD clone.
    Hope Slant Six works on a Confrontation 2 so I get the real Socom feeling
    Zipper destroyed the franchise with Socom 4.A bad made CoD clone.
    Hope Slant Six works on a Confrontation 2 so I get the real Socom feeling again.

    http://forums.socom.com/t5/SOCOM-4-General-Discussion/How-to-restore-Classic-Mode-to-it-s-former-glory/td-p/1065178
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    It is hard to say which is a further departure from what the socom brand used to stand for when considering either the single player orIt is hard to say which is a further departure from what the socom brand used to stand for when considering either the single player or multiplayer of this game. The campaigns of every other socom(excluding one that was multiplayer only) was based around a customizable team that you had to tweak just right each mission. In those mission you had to use stealth and determine the best path to complete your mission or you were likely to be overwhelmed by enemies. This new campaign does everything but pull the trigger for you guiding you down linear paths against swarms of scripted enemies which are still beatable because you conveniently have super health and damage. Not to mention the loss of features such as voice commands which were present in the PS2 era games yet are missing today? What definition of progress does this fit under? But when it comes to the socom franchise most people are more interested in it's multiplayer than campaigns. That arguably manages to disappoint even more where the old one life a round scheme originally inspired by counterstrike is shuffled off to a secondary mode. Gone also are all the game modes that made the MP popular and along with the lack of any original maps in the base game the new maps seem to be either randomly thrown together or designed to be perfectly symmetrical making for an utterly un tactical experience. The community features that were developed through the franchises life are also missing being replaced by a queue system that makes it a pain to find a good room. And on top of all that the shooting mechanics were made to be so beginner friendly the only tactical element of the game is who has the most patience and does not pop out of cover first to be hit by a headshot instantly. Besides all the poor design choices the quality of the game is just as bad. The graphics are acceptable but artifacts are often visible(don't even get me started on the explosions) while the sound on the other hand it just awful, every gun sounds alike and that sound is nothing like a gunshot. Gone is the character customization introduced in the last socom and instead it regressed to character skins half of which look like they belong in the gym pumping irons and steroids instead of on the battlefield, which they are not even equipped with the right camouflage for a jungle environment that matter. The game was built on the MAG engine and it's obvious that they copied and pasted nearly everything from that game, and MAG was a bad game in the first place. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.