+

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Jun 18, 2012
    83
    Gentle standouts like "The A Team" and "Small Bump" cast a quieter spell. [22 Jun 2012, p.64]
  2. Q Magazine
    Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Fresh-faced wunderkind aces his debut. [Oct 2011, p.118]
  3. 80
    He's a bona fide hitmaker with a colossal YouTube following, working in the argot and style of his own generation
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    Sheeran's strength is his melodic ability, a way with a really strong, radio-friendly tune, as on The City or Grade 8. You can't help wishing he'd put said ability to slightly more edgy use.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    His debut's failure to capitalize on his unique selling point means it's likely to leave everyone else nonplussed.
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    + will give Sheeran's rabid fanbase a lot to love, but it'll also make him an easy target for critics hungry for new directions in pop, as it fails to really gel the man's loves of folk and rap.
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    Ed Sheeran is an impressive talent, but his juvenile lyrics and lightweight sensibility make him a tough sell to any one old enough to drink.
  8. 40
    There's little here that's moves on from the kind of trip-hop balladeers that abounded in the late '90s or indeed the singer-songwriters that Sheeran admires such as Damien Rice or James Morrison.
  9. Sep 23, 2011
    40
    Half-rapped banalities about watching Shrek 12 times and being "crap at computer games" will certainly win hearts, but perhaps only those of a certain age.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Ed Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This albumEd Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This album proves how talented his is, if I could only listen to one album for the rest of my life it would be this one, it is an excellent album, if you say or think otherwise, you need your hearing check. His voice is amazing, he is so very talented. If you haven't gotten this album yet, I have no idea what you are waiting for. This album is sheer perfection. It is absolutely flawless. I have no idea why there are bad reviews on this album, those people clearly have horrible taste in anything and everything. This album is amazing, I promise you. Full Review »
  2. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    If you can excuse the often cheesy lyrics and subject matter, Sheeran has provided a memorable and surprisingly emotional album filled to theIf you can excuse the often cheesy lyrics and subject matter, Sheeran has provided a memorable and surprisingly emotional album filled to the brim with tearjerker moments and goosebumps-worthy vocals. Full Review »
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Perfect album. Every song has something special, loveable in it. I love his voice, I love his lyrics, I love his music! One of the best albumsPerfect album. Every song has something special, loveable in it. I love his voice, I love his lyrics, I love his music! One of the best albums ever made! I don't understand, how you cannot like this CD. Full Review »