+ - Ed Sheeran
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 96
  2. Negative: 9 out of 96

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    An excellent debut album from Britain's breakthrough artist of 2011. I knew of Ed Sheeran before he got his break but as a fully fledged artist he has delivered a fantastic first album. Lead single "A-Team" is one of, if not the best song thus far this year it's a bittersweet, deep meaningful song and even now I still love the sound of it. "You Need Me, I Don't Need You" is more upbeat and delivers an edgier sound. + generally is an outstanding album as there is not a bad song on it "Drunk", "U.N.I", "Small Bump" and "Kiss Me" all spring to mind but the standout song and one of the best of the year is "Lego House" a beautiful song which is lyrically genius and continues to be on replay within the household it's a terrific tune and has a real fun video starring Rupert Grint (aka Ron Weasley to Harry Potter fans). A must have album for sure and one thing that's certain as this is just the beginning a bright future for Ed Sheeran. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Perfect album. Every song has something special, loveable in it. I love his voice, I love his lyrics, I love his music! One of the best albums ever made! I don't understand, how you cannot like this CD.
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Ed Sheeran is a musical genius. His lyrics are perfection. The music he makes is original and unmistakable, he is like no other. This album proves how talented his is, if I could only listen to one album for the rest of my life it would be this one, it is an excellent album, if you say or think otherwise, you need your hearing check. His voice is amazing, he is so very talented. If you haven't gotten this album yet, I have no idea what you are waiting for. This album is sheer perfection. It is absolutely flawless. I have no idea why there are bad reviews on this album, those people clearly have horrible taste in anything and everything. This album is amazing, I promise you. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect for relaxing. It sounds a bit like a Jason Mraz but more folk. I loved it, there isn't only a song that i don't like. It's ok that he doesn't have the best vocal of the year, but he knows how to use it and have such a great talent. "Wake Me Up" is THE song of the album for me, for being so simple and seems to be completely improvised. "The A Team" "Lego House" "You Need Me I Don't Need You" are the perfect singles for this album because it shows exactly what you gonna hear. Congratulations Ed, perfect album Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Great album!nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Ed Sheeran is my favorite artist. He sings so beautifully and has true talent. I love this album so much. All the songs on this album are really good. I can't wait for his next album, I hope its as great as this one.
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Sheeran is talented as hell, that's for sure. His songwriting is like the male version of Taylor Swift in the sense that it's just so smooth and personal. The story is simple and very easy to relate to. "The A Team" opens up the album perfectly while "Give Me Love" is the perfect closing number. The only thing that keeps me from giving a 10 is the production of two tracks: "U.N.I." and "The City". If these two were meats, I'd say they're undercooked and slightly bland; especially when served together with the other tracks. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    Ed Sheeran's "+" is the perfect album to listen to when you're enjoying relaxing day. It's definitely one of my favorite albums out there and I can't wait to see what Ed does with his next album.
  9. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Amazing Album, Amazing Songs and an Amazing Artist. Legohouse was obviously the highlight of this record I hope to see more of this artist in the future
  10. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    The album is just so perfect. His voice is so unique and makes u want to hear it 24/7. And I love the fact that he goes for a more acustic sound yet he manage to do upbeat songs like "You Need Me, I Don't Need You". Ed sure is such a talented musician and I canĀ“t wait to hear more about him.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 83
    Gentle standouts like "The A Team" and "Small Bump" cast a quieter spell. [22 Jun 2012, p.64]
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Fresh-faced wunderkind aces his debut. [Oct 2011, p.118]
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    50
    + will give Sheeran's rabid fanbase a lot to love, but it'll also make him an easy target for critics hungry for new directions in pop, as it fails to really gel the man's loves of folk and rap.